Data centers in Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania
Westmoreland County has 1 data center on the record; it is running. No county rule about data centers is on the record for Westmoreland County itself; 1 body inside it has a scorecard row. The latest decision on the record: Upper Burrell Township established a 180 day moratorium on data center development in May 2026 (Upper Burrell Township).
How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.
The data center in Westmoreland County
Every Westmoreland County record 1 record · blank cell: not disclosed · sort by any column
| Facility and county | Stage | Operator | Power (MW) | Latest entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TECfusions Keystone Connect AI Data Center New Kensington, Westmoreland County | Running DEP review complete | TECfusions | 3,000 | TECfusions' Building J is live and providing computing power to a tenant, with township permits for work inside the building and a land development plan for its electrical and mechanical upgrades approved on August 5, 2026. keystonenewsroom.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet reported September 8, 2026 |
A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record.
| Record | Place | Stage | Operator | MW | Basis | Located | Tier | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TECfusions Keystone Connect AI Data Center | New Kensington, Westmoreland | Running | TECfusions | 3,000 | the developer's figure | site | 2 | 2026-10-23 |
Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.
The cities in Westmoreland County on the record (2)
| City | Census GEOID | Projects | Rules |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Kensington | 4253736 | 0 | |
| Upper Burrell Township | 4212978768 | 1 |
A city without a record is listed, not linked.
What Westmoreland County has decided 1 body, 1 decision on the record
What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement one tap away, newest first, with its source.
| Body | Level | Rating | In force until | Latest act | Acts | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upper Burrell Township | city | not rated | Upper Burrell Township established a 180 day moratorium on data center development in May 2026. keystonenewsroom.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet May 20261 act on this rowEvery act on the Upper Burrell Township row
| 1 | 2026-09-08 |
A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.
What happened
-
Went liveTECfusions Keystone Connect AI Data Center
keystonenewsroom.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet -
Now reportedTECfusions Keystone Connect AI Data Center
Upper Burrell Township approved a land development plan for TECfusions Building J on August 5, 2026
keystonenewsroom.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet -
Went liveTECfusions Keystone Connect AI Data Center
globenewswire.com (opens in a new tab) primary source -
MoratoriumUpper Burrell Township
Upper Burrell Township established a 180 day moratorium on data center development in May 2026
keystonenewsroom.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Nearby places with records
Distances run between the centers the Census Bureau gives each place. Every Pennsylvania county.
Disclosed figures
3 GW power
Power, water, jobs and tax
| Figure | Disclosed total | Disclosed | Without a figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 3 GW | 1 | 0 | 1 the developer's figure |
| Water, stated per day | 0 | 1 | ||
| Water, stated per year | 0 | 1 | ||
| Permanent jobs | 0 | 1 | ||
| Tax each year | 0 | 1 |
A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.
Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.
By what the facilities are for
| Use | Records | Power | Water | Jobs | Tax each year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No stated use | 1 | 3 GW |
A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.
A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.
What the facilities are for
No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Westmoreland County is for.
How the facilities are cooled
No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Westmoreland County is cooled.
About this data
Report a correction · Send a tip about Westmoreland County · The rows here are part of the Pennsylvania export.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Data center records in Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/pa/westmoreland-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Level
- county
- Census GEOID
- 42129
- Census geography
- County, Westmoreland County
- Rating
- Not rated