Meta expects to recruit thousands of people for the program
Data centers in Marion County, Indiana
Marion County has 2 data centers on the record: 1 running and 1 proposed. No county rule about data centers is on the record for Marion County itself; 1 body inside it has a scorecard row, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center (Indianapolis), September 16, 2026.
How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.
The 2 data centers in Marion County
Newest activity firstEach row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.
DataBank Indianapolis data center
Indianapolis, Marion County · DataBank
No dated entry on the record yet.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Tenant
- Not disclosed
Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)
Indianapolis, Marion County · Meta
Latest, reported June 9, 2026: Meta broke ground on a 10 billion dollar data center in Lebanon in February wfyi.org local outlet
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Tenant
- Not disclosed
Where
Drag with one finger to move the map, pinch to zoom. Tap a pin for the data center, a county for its rules
2 data centers in Marion County: 1 running, 1 proposed. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record; every pin here marks a town or the county.
The cities in Marion County on the record (1)
| City | Projects | Rules |
|---|---|---|
| Indianapolis | 2 | 1 |
What Marion County has decided
1 body, 2 decisions on the recordWhat the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.
Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own.
- Indianapoliscity
MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center, reported September 16, 2026.
2 acts on this row
- event
MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center
- moratorium adopted
Indianapolis approved construction of three data centers before agreeing to a moratorium through 2027
- event
What happened
-
· Indianapolis
Scorecard event: MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center insideindianabusiness.com local outlet
-
· Indianapolis
Moratorium adopted: Indianapolis approved construction of three data centers before agreeing to a moratorium through 2027 inputfortwayne.com local outlet
-
· Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)
Now reported: Meta broke ground on a 10 billion dollar data center in Lebanon in February wfyi.org local outlet
What was said
The four to five week program will cover costs and requires no experience
Every Indiana statement, by speaker
5 more statements on this page
Meta will launch the academy with pilot programs in Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio and Texas
Graduates are guaranteed a job at one of Meta's data center construction sites
Meta invested 115 million dollars to create America's Workforce Academy
Meta
Louisiana will host the first cohort
Disclosed figures
nothing disclosed by 2 records
Power, water, jobs and tax
| Figure | Disclosed total | Disclosed | Not disclosed | Basis | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | Not disclosed | 0 | 2 | Not disclosed by any of the 2 records | |
| Water, stated per day | Not disclosed | 0 | 2 | Not disclosed by any of the 2 records | |
| Water, stated per year | Not disclosed | 0 | 2 | Not disclosed by any of the 2 records | |
| Permanent jobs | Not disclosed | 0 | 2 | Not disclosed by any of the 2 records | |
| Tax each year | Not disclosed | 0 | 2 | Not disclosed by any of the 2 records |
Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.
By what the facilities are for
| Use | Records | Power | Water | Jobs | Tax each year | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not disclosed | 2 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed: power, water, jobs, tax each year |
A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.
What the facilities are for
No source on file states what any of the 2 tracked facilities in Marion County are for.
How the facilities are cooled
No source on file states how any of the 2 tracked facilities in Marion County are cooled.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Data centers in Marion County, Indiana", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/in/marion-county, updated September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Data center records in Marion County, Indiana", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/in/marion-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
The rows here are part of the Indiana export.
For researchers
- Place id
- us/in/marion-county
- Level
- county
- Census GEOID
- Not disclosed
- Rating value
- Not disclosed
- Scale word
- Not disclosed