Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township)

Indianapolis, Marion County, INDeveloper: Sabey Data CentersCensus GEOID 18097

Stage
Proposed
Power
250 MW
the developer's figure
Buildings
6 buildings
zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water

Sabey Data Centers received municipal approval in March 2026 for a six building data center campus at Kentucky Avenue and Camby Road in Decatur Township, Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana. It is approved, since July 24, 2026.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

1 hearing on the record, 2025

Last verified · 2 sources, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 28 other published records in Indiana
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
6 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Power it would draw
250 MW the developer's figure About 2 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
Who leads it
Sabey Data Centers as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
  1. Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township), capacity: 250 MW.
  2. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  3. 250 ÷ 10,245 = 0.02 (MW over MW).

Sources:

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 250 MW the developer's figure sabeydatacenters.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Sabey Data Centers as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 6 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026 sabeydatacenters.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Marion County and Indianapolis about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Indianapolis closed MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center insideindianabusiness.com (opens in a new tab)
Indianapolis closed Indianapolis approved construction of three data centers before agreeing to a moratorium through 2027 inputfortwayne.com (opens in a new tab)
September 22, 2025 Indianapolis, IN Indianapolis City County Council Franklin Township Google Data Center Rezoning Hearing Indianapolis City County Council 3clips

Minutes before the Indianapolis City County Council was scheduled to vote on September 22, 2025, Google withdrew its rezoning petition for a 468 acre data center campus in Franklin Township after a majority of councilors signaled they would vote to reject the project following months of resident opposition.

  1. Michael Paul Hart, Councilor, Indianapolis City County Council Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
    "vote that was needed to secure this big project. Our Alex Almanzo was at tonight's meeting and got reaction from both sides. Just minutes before counselors were set to vote on the project, Google threw in the towel. What was supposed to be a billion dollars investment in Franklin Township disappeared in an instant. And I'd like to announce our intention to withdraw this proposal. Hundreds of residents cheering after Google dropped the proposal that would"
  2. Resident public comment Resident Public Comment transcribed from the official recording
    "have brought a nearly 470 acre data center to town. We're all so happy that this was the right choice tonight. The project, shrouded in secrecy for a majority of its lifetime, received sharp criticism from residents and both sides of the council. I think that's the reason why Google. Their petition today because I've seen how many people came out in 6 years that I've been on this council. I haven't seen both of these overflow rooms and that room full."
  3. Indianapolis City County Council Member Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
    "a majority of the council but also flipped opinions. Franklin Township Schools was originally against the project, but after meeting with Google, the school's superintendent said it would bring. Tax relief stemming from funding shortfalls from Senate Bill 1. Though the school didn't share the exact figures that Google provided. Councilor Ron Gibson supported the project. He stands by what would have been a yes vote. A billion dollars is a lot to pass up and uh in terms"
Said and filed

Said and filed

Statements and filings, side by side

Column A · Dated Statement
Google LLC Development Counsel & Metropolitan Development Commission Project Applicant & Planning Commission
Venue: Marion County Metropolitan Development Commission Hearing on Petition 2025 CZN 840
"Recommended approval of rezoning 468 acres of agricultural land in Franklin Township for a hyperscale Google data center campus and advanced the petition to the full Indianapolis City County Council."
Column B · Subsequent Recorded Position
Withdrawal of Rezoning Petition 2025 CZN 840 Minutes Before Indianapolis City County Council Vote
Marion County Rezoning Petition 2025 CZN 840 (Withdrawn Sept 22, 2025)
Agency or Venue: Indianapolis City County Council
"Minutes before the September 22, 2025 Indianapolis City County Council roll call vote, Google formally withdrew rezoning petition 2025 CZN 840 after Councilor Michael Paul Hart and a bipartisan council majority announced they had the votes to reject the campus."
WTHR 13 Indianapolis

What happened

  1. · Status: approved (content date)

    Sabey Data Center Properties received a favorable vote in March 2026 for a six building, $4 billion data center at Kentucky Avenue and Camby Road in Decatur Township, Indianapolis.

    [1] indystar.com

The full Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township) timeline, in order

The site

The pin is the site. The shaded outline is the parcel, from the county's own parcel record.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
Kentucky Avenue and Camby Road, Indianapolis, IN 46231, Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana [source] (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, on the parcel
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township)
LAT 39.66450 / LON -86.30420 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township)?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 250 MW (the developer's figure, sabeydatacenters.com (opens in a new tab)) and 6 buildings (zoning application, verified October 27, 2026, sabeydatacenters.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township)?

Sabey Data Centers is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township) say it needs?

Power: 250 MW (the developer's figure, sabeydatacenters.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township) stand today?

It is approved, since July 24, 2026. The newest entry, July 24, 2026: Sabey Data Center Properties received a favorable vote in March 2026 for a six building, $4 billion data center at Kentucky Avenue and Camby Road in Decatur Township, Indianapolis. [1]

What has Indianapolis or Marion County decided about it?

Indianapolis (rated closed): MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center (reported September 16, 2026, insideindianabusiness.com (opens in a new tab)); and Indianapolis: Indianapolis approved construction of three data centers before agreeing to a moratorium through 2027 (reported August 29, 2026, inputfortwayne.com (opens in a new tab)). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Indiana data center tracker: Where projects stand in Indiana - IndyStar (opens in a new tab), IndyStar, July 24, 2026, query feed
  2. Data centers: Doing the right thing for the wrong reasons - indianacapitalchronicle.com (opens in a new tab), indianacapitalchronicle.com, April 27, 2026, query feed

2 sources on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/sabey-data-center-properties-indianapolis-in, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/sabey-data-center-properties-indianapolis-in. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
39.6645, -86.3042
How the location is known
Location from the county parcel record.
Location source
https://sabeydatacenters.com/
Coordinate source
Indianapolis Decatur Township rezoning approval
How capacity was disclosed
the developer's figure
Capacity, if disclosed
250 MW, the developer's figure
Rating of the county's rows
Closed
Published
September 28, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis Campus (Decatur Township) · 2 sources, 1 entry, 2 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON