University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory Hyperscale Data Center
A 220,000 square foot hyperscale data center backed by the University of Michigan and Los Alamos National Laboratory was proposed in an Ypsilanti Township location, drawing opposition from the township which passed a ban on new electrical infrastructure. It is reported, as reported August 31, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory | as stated by the source | October 7, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
University of Michigan selected a 144 acre site in Ypsilanti Township for a research computing center with Los Alamos National Laboratory [2]
13 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is bridgemi.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thecooldown.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is freep.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row, from the wrapper https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMi2AFBVV95cUxNS3RsVHlDRGtKc2Y1VTdLMnp0TENOczVyR1FFZ0RFSzkyZWxnSTJzYkVWdUhoWDFZRlRlYXhHWDZZZmxNak4ta2oxb0ZfRlR3Y2E1ZVF3cEdDdkRZT0VDNDhtaFlyVlRVTnlycnFPNEtuNl8tOFdra05LalBwaVQzV0VPS2lkM19lMHdqU3hUVXFvaUZPRFpxd3NOTkpCaGp3YjlGRmRCQWpaWDA1QTZGT1drdWFmbzZsRkZlOUt3cTNtRGtsNTRWdjNrTVdFTTY3M204SDI2NTY. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is bridgemi.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thecooldown.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thecooldown.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thecooldown.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thecooldown.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is freep.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Michigan, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row, from the wrapper https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMi2AFBVV95cUxNS3RsVHlDRGtKc2Y1VTdLMnp0TENOczVyR1FFZ0RFSzkyZWxnSTJzYkVWdUhoWDFZRlRlYXhHWDZZZmxNak4ta2oxb0ZfRlR3Y2E1ZVF3cEdDdkRZT0VDNDhtaFlyVlRVTnlycnFPNEtuNl8tOFdra05LalBwaVQzV0VPS2lkM19lMHdqU3hUVXFvaUZPRFpxd3NOTkpCaGp3YjlGRmRCQWpaWDA1QTZGT1drdWFmbzZsRkZlOUt3cTNtRGtsNTRWdjNrTVdFTTY3M204SDI2NTY. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Ypsilanti Township is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Ypsilanti Township, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 11 other published records in Michigan
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Ypsilanti Township, Michigan
- How exactly it is located
- Town level, the center of the city
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory Hyperscale Data Center?
-
University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory Hyperscale Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory Hyperscale Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported August 31, 2026. The newest entry, reported August 31, 2026: University of Michigan selected a 144 acre site in Ypsilanti Township for a research computing center with Los Alamos National Laboratory [2].
What has Ypsilanti Township or its county decided about it?
-
No decision by Ypsilanti Township or its county about data centers is on the record. The Michigan scorecard lists every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- ‘We don’t matter to them’: Ypsilanti Township pushed back on University of Michigan, Los Alamos data center - ClickOnDetroit | WDIV Local 4, ClickOnDetroit | WDIV Local 4, August 12, 2026, local outlet
- Michigan Data Centers: The Weekly Download - Michigan Advance, Michigan Advance, August 31, 2026, local outlet
- Ypsilanti Township eyes moratorium on power transmission to slow U-M data center - Bridge Michigan, Bridge Michigan, August 17, 2026, local outlet
- Michigan township combats nuclear weapons data center by passing ban on new electrical infrastructure — 220,000-square-foot hyperscale project is backed by University of Michigan and the Los Alamos National Laboratory - Tom's Hardware, Tom's Hardware, August 20, 2026, local outlet
- 'We will fight to our very last breath': Michigan township uses 6 month power moratorium to stall U M, Los Alamos data center - The Cool Down, The Cool Down, September 3, 2026, local outlet
- Township pushes back against data center proposal - ClickOnDetroit | WDIV Local 4, ClickOnDetroit | WDIV Local 4, August 13, 2026, local outlet
- U M selects site for joint data center with Los Alamos Laboratory - Detroit Free Press - Breaking news, sports, business, entertainment, Detroit Free Press - Breaking news, sports, business, entertainment, August 12, 2026, local outlet
7 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory Hyperscale Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/university-of-michigan-los-alamos-national-laboratory-hyperscale-data-center-mi, last verified October 7, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory Hyperscale Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/university-of-michigan-los-alamos-national-laboratory-hyperscale-data-center-mi. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- university-of-michigan-los-alamos-national-laboratory-hyperscale-data-center-mi
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/mi
- Coordinates
- 42.2136782, -83.5991838
- Location precision
- city
- Location source
- Place center (Ypsilanti Township), placed at city level: Census internal point of Ypsilanti charter township (TIGERweb county subdivisions, read 2026-10-07)
- Coordinate source
- census centroid
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- October 7, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-10-07