Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI's data center project in Saline Township has reached 1 million work hours and is reported to be going up quickly, with the developer also purchasing a neighboring golf course. It is reported, as reported August 20, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 9 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Oracle
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Oracle as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Washtenaw County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Ypsilanti Ypsilanti City Council reviewed proposed data center regulations on Sept. 15 covering noise, water, energy use and oversight; small data center limited to 20,000 square feet, 5 megawatts power, 20,000 gallons cooling water per day; open loop cooling prohibited. thesuntimesnews.com
Ypsilanti Ypsilanti City Council preliminarily passed a 60 day emergency data center moratorium, pending final vote. inthesetimes.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Saline Township initially voted against rezoning farmland for The Barn; developers sued and township settled. [5]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The Barn is set to be completed in 2027. [5]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The Barn, OpenAI and Oracle's $7 billion hyperscale data center, will be built in Saline Township. [5]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Related Digital is building a $16 billion data center known as The Barn for Oracle and OpenAI in Saline Township [4]

  5. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Related Digital purchased Rustic Glen Golf Club, an 18 hole public course in Saline Township [4]

The full Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center timeline, in order

17 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the status of a projects row

    The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  11. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  12. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  13. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  14. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  15. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  16. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  17. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Joi Harris, DTE Energy president and CEO, said the plan would be $3.5 billion less expensive than the company's previous IRP from 2022
Joi Harris, DTE Energy president and CEO · September 24, 2026 · paraphrased · Michigan Public local outlet
Gretchen Whitmer has championed the data center and likened Michigan's AI investments to propping up a new version of Michigan's auto industry
Gretchen Whitmer, Michigan Governor · September 16, 2026 · paraphrased · Political Currents by Ross Barkan local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Michigan, by speaker

13 more statements on this page

Bryan Smigielski

Sierra Club of Michigan said Oracle, building a mega data center in Saline Township, is rated BBB minus, just above junk bonds

September 24, 2026, Michigan Public · Michigan Public local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Bryan Smigielski, Sierra Club of Michigan, said the planned power plants will likely serve electricity requirements of data centers and called for transparent modeling of future energy needs with and without data centers

September 24, 2026, Michigan Public · Michigan Public local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Bryan Smigielski

Sierra Club of Michigan asked Michigan Public Service Commission to require DTE to model future energy needs with no data centers and compare to future energy needs including data centers

September 24, 2026, Michigan Public · Michigan Public local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Natalie Ravitz, Related Companies spokesperson

Related Companies says Friedrichs received zero commission from the Related Digital data center project and is no longer working on Michigan projects as of March 2026.

September 23, 2026, The Oakland Press · The Oakland Press local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Michigan gubernatorial candidate

Jocelyn Benson's husband, Ryan Friedrichs, earned $370,000 in 2025 as an employee of Related Companies, which is developing the Saline Township data center.

September 23, 2026, The Oakland Press · The Oakland Press local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Michigan Congressman and Republican

John James, a congressman and Republican, supports a moratorium on the construction of new data centers in Michigan

September 16, 2026, Political Currents by Ross Barkan · Political Currents by Ross Barkan local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Michigan Secretary of State and Democratic nominee for governor

Jocelyn Benson, the Democratic nominee for governor and the most likely politician to replace her next year, now supports a moratorium on the construction of new data centers in Michigan

September 16, 2026, Political Currents by Ross Barkan · Political Currents by Ross Barkan local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Oakland University engineering professor

Chris Kobus noted that Michigan has perfect conditions for data centers including power infrastructure, cooling infrastructure with water availability, and internet backbone

August 31, 2026, CBS News · CBS News national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Oakland University engineering professor

Chris Kobus, engineering professor at Oakland University, said there has been an explosion of activism against data centers in Michigan this calendar year

August 31, 2026, CBS News · CBS News national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Saline Township resident

Timothy from Saline Township stated strong opposition to AI in all its forms and called data centers a waste of resources

August 31, 2026, CBS News · CBS News national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

York Township resident

Mike MacDonald from York Township expressed concern about the massive use of rural land and unknown water and electricity draw from data centers

August 31, 2026, CBS News · CBS News national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Bridge Michigan reporting

Only one official, Elaine Ferris, will face a vote in November to remove her from office over data center votes.

August 21, 2026, bridgemi.com · bridgemi.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Related Digital committed to keeping Rustic Glen Golf Club open to public play

August 20, 2026, CBS News · CBS News national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Washtenaw County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 10 other published records in Michigan
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Washtenaw County, Michigan
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center?

Oracle is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 20, 2026. The newest entry, reported August 21, 2026: Saline Township initially voted against rezoning farmland for The Barn; developers sued and township settled. [5]

What has Washtenaw County decided about it?

Ypsilanti: Ypsilanti City Council reviewed proposed data center regulations on Sept. 15 covering noise, water, energy use and oversight; small data center limited to 20,000 square feet, 5 megawatts power, 20,000 gallons cooling water per day; open loop cooling prohibited. (September 15, 2026, source); and Ypsilanti: Ypsilanti City Council preliminarily passed a 60 day emergency data center moratorium, pending final vote. (reported September 14, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. OpenAI data center project south of Ann Arbor hits 1 million work hours - MLive.com, MLive.com, August 31, 2026, local outlet
  2. Oracle and OpenAI's Saline Township data center going up quickly - The Detroit News, The Detroit News, August 31, 2026, local outlet
  3. This golf course’s new owners are building $16 billion data center next door - GOLF.com, GOLF.com, August 23, 2026, local outlet
  4. Developer of controversial Saline Township data center buys neighboring golf course - CBS News, CBS News, August 20, 2026, local outlet
  5. Residents and officials feeling powerless in Michigan data center fights - bridgemi.com, bridgemi.com, August 21, 2026, local outlet
  6. Record $16B Data Center Project Advances in Michigan - enr.com, enr.com, June 2, 2026, local outlet
  7. Oracle and OpenAI's Saline Township data center going up quickly - The Detroit News, The Detroit News, August 31, 2026, local outlet
  8. ‘We don’t even know who signed the contracts’: AG Nessel challenges Michigan’s secret data center deal - thelivingstonpost.com, thelivingstonpost.com, August 15, 2026, local outlet
  9. This golf course’s new owners are building $16 billion data center next door - GOLF.com, GOLF.com, August 23, 2026, local outlet

9 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/oracle-and-openai-saline-township-data-center-washtenaw-mi, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Oracle and OpenAI Saline Township Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/oracle-and-openai-saline-township-data-center-washtenaw-mi. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
oracle-and-openai-saline-township-data-center-washtenaw-mi
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/mi/washtenaw-county
Coordinates
42.28139, -83.74833
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Ann Arbor), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17