Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

Project Liberty Marion County Data Center

Marion, Marion County, SCDeveloper: Project Liberty LLCCensus GEOID 45067

Stage
Proposed
Buildings
4 buildings
zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Water

Marion County Council approved an inducement and fee in lieu of tax agreement on January 22, 2026 for Project Liberty, a planned data center campus in Marion County, South Carolina. It is approved, since February 4, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 19 other published records in South Carolina
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
4 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
Who leads it
Project Liberty LLC as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Project Liberty LLC as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 4 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026 marionsc.org (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Marion County and Marion about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Marion County The project was approved by Marion County Council in January with tax breaks datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

  1. · Status: approved (content date)

    Marion County Council approved a $2.4 billion data center project called Project Liberty on January 22, 2026, with approval made without public knowledge under a nondisclosure agreement.

    [1] capitalbnews.org

Every event in order

The site

The pin is the site. The shaded outline is the parcel, from the county's own parcel record.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
US Highway 76 Industrial Corridor, Marion, SC 29571, Marion, Marion County, South Carolina [source] (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, on the parcel
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Project Liberty Marion County Data Center
LAT 34.17820 / LON -79.40060 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Project Liberty Marion County Data Center?

The record has one measure of its size: 4 buildings (zoning application, verified October 27, 2026, marionsc.org (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building Project Liberty Marion County Data Center?

Project Liberty LLC is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Project Liberty Marion County Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

What has Marion or Marion County decided about it?

Marion County: The project was approved by Marion County Council in January with tax breaks (reported June 18, 2026, datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab)). 1 event is on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. A Rural S.C. County Quietly Approved a $2B Data Center During the Winter Storm - capitalbnews.org (opens in a new tab), capitalbnews.org, February 4, 2026, query feed

1 source on file.

Regional grid context

This site is in the SERC Virginia and Carolina South (SRVC-S) regional power market. 2024 to 2025 wholesale price effect: 7.5 percent (+$3.01 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. 2028 projected wholesale price effect: 14.7 percent (+$4.94 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.

Sources and data

Sources on this page

Every number on this page comes from a named source. Click any source to open the document in a new tab.

What researchers have found

These studies measure different things. Some model wholesale market prices. Some measure what households actually paid. Some model what would happen under a policy change. The record shows each one as the authors stated it and does not rank them.

Cite this page

Every record on this page carries its sources and the date it was last verified. When you cite it in a story, a study or a public filing, link to this page and give the date you accessed it.

Get this data

Every row on this page is available to download with its source, its basis and the date it was last verified.

Use this data in your work

Free to use and republish with attribution for reporting, research, teaching and public filings under CC BY-NC 4.0. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Project Liberty Marion County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/project-liberty-marion-county-data-center-sc, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Project Liberty Marion County Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/project-liberty-marion-county-data-center-sc. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
34.1782, -79.4006
How the location is known
Location from the county parcel record.
Location source
https://www.marionsc.org/
Coordinate source
Marion County Council Project Liberty inducement ordinance
Published
September 28, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows

Researcher view · Project Liberty Marion County Data Center · 1 source, 1 entry, 1 decision nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON