Data Center Record.

Data centers in Montgomery County, Maryland

Montgomery County has 1 data center on the record; it is proposed. Montgomery County has stopped new data centers, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: Judge ruled that Preserve Montgomery County can continue to pursue claims that the county did not adequately inform the community about data centers, reported September 20, 2026.

1 site the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified is on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The data center in Montgomery County

Every Montgomery County record 1 record, and 1 site not yet verified listed apart · blank cell: not disclosed · sort by any column

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Atmosphere Dickerson data center Montgomery County Proposed Atmosphere Data Centers Atmosphere Data Centers withdrew its appeal of zoning interpretation related to the moratorium wtop.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet August 30, 2026

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record.

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
Prosperity Drive Data Center, LLC Silver Spring, Montgomery Not yet verified Prosperity Drive Data Center, LLC EPA registry 2 2026-10-20
Atmosphere Dickerson data center Montgomery Proposed Atmosphere Data Centers centroid 3 2026-09-08

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

1 site not yet verified, apart from the count
  1. Prosperity Drive Data Center, LLC Silver Spring, Montgomery County Not yet verified
The cities in Montgomery County on the record (1)

No city in Montgomery County has a record yet. A city gets its own page with the first published record.

CityCensus GEOIDProjects
Silver Spring24724500

A city without a record is listed, not linked.

What Montgomery County has decided 1 body, 5 decisions on the record

What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement one tap away, newest first, with its source.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
Montgomery Countycountyclosed until March 23, 20282028-03-23Montgomery County, Maryland approved 18 month pause on data center reviews in July 2026. commercialobserver.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet Sep 23, 20265 acts on this row
Every act on the Montgomery County row
  1. litigation

    Judge ruled that Preserve Montgomery County can continue to pursue claims that the county did not adequately inform the community about data centers

    komu.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium extended

    Montgomery County Council extended its data center pause from six months to 18 months

    marylandmatters.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. event

    The vote passed unanimously

    nbcwashington.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 8 sources
  4. moratorium

    Montgomery County Council voted unanimously on July 28, 2026 for an 18 month moratorium on new data centers of 25 megawatts or more, the threshold as reported by Bisnow

    nbcwashington.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

    Also reported by 8 sources
  5. moratorium adopted

    Montgomery County, Maryland approved 18 month pause on data center reviews in July 2026

    commercialobserver.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

52026-09-23

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

The rules across Maryland

Nearby places with records

25 miles away Frederick County: 5 data centers on the record.
34 miles away Baltimore city: 2 data centers on the record.
56 miles away Calvert County: 1 data center on the record. A pause is on the record.

Distances run between the centers the Census Bureau gives each place. Every Maryland county.

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 1 record

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power01
Water, stated per day01
Water, stated per year01
Permanent jobs01
Tax each year01

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use1

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Montgomery County is for. 1 site not yet verified is named apart and is not in that number.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Montgomery County is cooled. 1 site not yet verified is named apart and is not in that number.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Montgomery County, Maryland", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/md/montgomery-county, updated September 23, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Montgomery County, Maryland", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/md/montgomery-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Level
county
Census GEOID
24031
Census geography
County, Montgomery County
Rating
Closed

Researcher view · Montgomery County, Maryland · 1 record, 1 rule row · Census GEOID 24031 · basis and source tier on every row · verified September 23, 2026

Download CSV JSON