QTS Santa Clara
QTS Data Centers lists a data center at Santa Clara, California among the sites it operates. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- QTS Data Centers
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | QTS Data Centers | as stated by the source | October 4, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Santa Clara County and Santa Clara about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| San Jose | Santa Clara City is pushing for a plan to require large customers such as data centers to reduce power use when power is scarce | mk.co.kr | |
| Santa Clara County | Santa Clara County Sustainability Committee discussed moratorium suspending permits for new data centers for a certain period, strengthening disclosure of resource use, and gap analysis | mk.co.kr | |
| Gilroy | The moratorium could potentially be extended for up to two years. | mercurynews.com | |
| Gilroy | Gilroy City Council approved a temporary moratorium on new data center applications effective immediately for at least 45 days. | mercurynews.com | |
| Morgan Hill | Morgan Hill City Council adopted a temporary moratorium on data centers and battery storage facilities while staff develops possibly permanent guidelines | gilroydispatch.com | |
| Gilroy | The moratorium would not affect the Amazon data center already approved and under construction on Camino Arroyo | gilroydispatch.com |
5 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gilroy | Approved interim urgency ordinances remain in place for 45 days unless renewed by the council, then can be renewed for an additional 10 months and 15 days, and again for another 12 months if needed | gilroydispatch.com | |
| Gilroy | The moratorium would allow the city to review and update design and development standards that would apply to data centers and other industrial developments | gilroydispatch.com | |
| Gilroy | Gilroy City Council will consider adopting a temporary moratorium on new data centers at its Sept. 14 meeting | gilroydispatch.com | |
| San Jose | San Jose residents push for data center moratorium | sanjosespotlight.com | |
| San Jose | San Jose is considering data center development amid resident environmental concerns | kqed.org |
What happened
-
· Status: running (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
QTS Data Centers lists QTS Santa Clara at Santa Clara, California on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]
The site
The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA hazardous waste record.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 29 other published records in California
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- 2805 Mission College BLVD, Santa Clara, CA 95054, Santa Clara, Santa Clara County, California [source]
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Amazon Data Services, INC, SFO11, 18 mi
- QTS Sacramento, 91 mi
- Edgeconnex Sacramento Holdings LLC, 91 mi
- Digital Realty El Segundo, 313 mi
- Equinix LA7, 320 mi
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building QTS Santa Clara?
-
QTS Data Centers is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does QTS Santa Clara say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does QTS Santa Clara stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, read on September 14, 2026: QTS Data Centers lists QTS Santa Clara at Santa Clara, California on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]
What has Santa Clara or Santa Clara County decided about it?
-
San Jose: Santa Clara City is pushing for a plan to require large customers such as data centers to reduce power use when power is scarce (reported September 17, 2026, source); and Santa Clara County: Santa Clara County Sustainability Committee discussed moratorium suspending permits for new data centers for a certain period, strengthening disclosure of resource use, and gap analysis (reported September 17, 2026, source). 11 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Primary documents
- EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Quality Technology Services, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- QTS Data Centers: All locations, QTS Data Centers, September 14, 2026
2 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "QTS Santa Clara", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/qts-santa-clara-ca, last verified October 4, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "QTS Santa Clara", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/qts-santa-clara-ca. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- qts-santa-clara-ca
- Status value
- operational
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ca/santa-clara-county/santa-clara
- Coordinates
- 37.39273, -121.97834
- Location precision
- permit_point
- Location source
- https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110055658578
- Coordinate source
- https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110055658578
- Location source number
- [1]
- Location last verified
- October 4, 2026
- EPA registry id
- 110055658578
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-14
- Last verified
- 2026-10-04