Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2)

San Diego, San Diego County, CADeveloper: LightEdgeCensus GEOID 06073

Stage
Running
Power
10 MW
the developer's figure
Buildings
2 buildings
operator page, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water

LightEdge (formerly NFINIT) operates a 2 building San Diego colocation campus (SAN1 on Lightwave Avenue and SAN2 on Scranton Road) in San Diego County, California, with 10 MW of critical load. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

1 hearing on the record, 2026

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 68 other published records in California
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
2 buildings operator page, verified October 27, 2026
[1] lightedge.com
Power it would draw
10 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
[1] lightedge.com
Who leads it
LightEdge as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
  1. LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2), capacity: 10 MW.
  2. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  3. 10 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).

Sources:

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 10 MW the developer's figure [1] lightedge.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it LightEdge as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 2 buildings operator page, verified October 27, 2026 [1] lightedge.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of San Diego County and San Diego about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Poway Poway City Council gave initial approval to an ordinance banning artificial intelligence data centers. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)
San Diego County case by case In San Diego Country Estates, San Diego County (CA), San Diego County Board of Commissioners and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session. youtube.com (opens in a new tab)
June 15, 2026 San Diego Country Estates, CA AI Data Centers Could Power 100K Homes: San Diego County Studies Impact San Diego County Board of Commissioners 2clips

In San Diego Country Estates, San Diego County (CA), San Diego County Board of Commissioners and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session.

  1. San Diego County Board of Commissioners Officials and Speakers Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
    "EXPLAINS HOW M L TEAR THESE DATA CENTERS CAN TAKE UP AS MUCH POWER AS A SMALL TO MEDIUM SIZED CITY OR gt; gt; CLOSE TO 100,000 HOMES AND LOCAL LEADERS WANT TO MAKE SURE SAN DIEGO #39;S READY BEFORE THEY MOVE IN. SO THERE ARE NOW MORE THAN 4,000 DATA CENTERS NATIONWIDE WITH CALIFORNIA AMONG THE STATES WITH THE MOST. AND EXPERTS WARN THE RAPID GROWTH COULD DRIVE UP ELECTRICITY BILLS IF COSTS ARE PASSED ON TO CUSTOMERS. THIS MORNING, SAN DIEGO COUNTY"
  2. Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
    "SUPERVISORS WILL DISCUSS HOW THESE LARGE AI DATA CENTERS COULD IMPACT LOCAL INFRASTRUCTURE AND EVEN WATER USE. EXPERTS SAY AI IS ALREADY RUNNING INSIDE EXISTING CENTERS IN THE REGION. BUT THE CONCERN IS WHO WILL ULTIMATELY FOOT THE UTILITY BILL FOR LUNCH. gt; gt; SO WE HAVE TO THINK ABOUT HOW IT #39;S GOING TO AFFECT THE FOLKS THAT ARE LIVING HERE AND ALSO HOW IT #39;S GOING TO AFFECT THE BUSINESSES THAT ARE OPERATING IN THE REGION CONSUMERS AREN #39;T THE ONLY ONES THAT PICK OR UTILITIES BUSINESSES PAY FOR THEM AS WELL. SO IF THE PRICES GO UP"

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

  • Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    Verified facility status from California state agency permits, utility dockets, municipal planning filings, or operator campus specifications.

    [1] lightedge.com

The site

The pin is the site's address.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
9305 Lightwave Avenue and 9725 Scranton Road, San Diego, CA 92123, San Diego, San Diego County, California [1] lightedge.com (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, at the address
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2)
LAT 32.83120 / LON -117.13150 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2)?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 10 MW (the developer's figure, lightedge.com (opens in a new tab)) and 2 buildings (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, lightedge.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2)?

LightEdge is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2) say it needs?

Power: 10 MW (the developer's figure, lightedge.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2) stand today?

It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has San Diego or San Diego County decided about it?

Poway: Poway City Council gave initial approval to an ordinance banning artificial intelligence data centers (September 16, 2026, yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)); and San Diego County (rated case by case): In San Diego Country Estates, San Diego County (CA), San Diego County Board of Commissioners and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session, youtube.com (opens in a new tab). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2) Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), LightEdge, query feed

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/lightedge-nfinit-lightedge-san-diego-1-san1-san-diego-ca, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/lightedge-nfinit-lightedge-san-diego-1-san1-san-diego-ca. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Running
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
32.8312, -117.1315
How the location is known
Location from the site's street address.
Location source
https://www.lightedge.com/data-center-locations/san-diego-data-center/
Coordinate source
San Diego County Assessor / LightEdge SAN1 and SAN2 specifications
How capacity was disclosed
the developer's figure
Capacity, if disclosed
10 MW, the developer's figure
Rating of the county's rows
Case by case
Published
October 21, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · LightEdge San Diego Campus (SAN1 and SAN2) · 1 source, 1 entry, 2 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON