Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1)
Kansas City, Jackson County, MODeveloper: Iron Mountain Data CentersCensus GEOID 29095
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Iron Mountain Data Centers operates the KCM1 underground colocation facility at 6301 Winchester Avenue in Kansas City, Jackson County, Missouri. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 24 other published records in Missouri
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Power it would draw
- 9 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- [1] ironmountain.com
- Who leads it
- Iron Mountain Data Centers as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1), capacity: 9 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 9 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Iron Mountain Data Centers (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 9 MW | the developer's figure | [1] ironmountain.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Iron Mountain Data Centers | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 1 building | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | [1] ironmountain.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Jackson County and Kansas City about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Independence | In Independence Missouri, voters recalled a City Council member who supported tax breaks for a proposed data center | latimes.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | Independence, MO residents held a recall vote related to a data center decision | dailykos.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | Missouri voters recalled councilman over Nebius data center tax break | yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | An Independence councilman was recalled by voters in his district after his vote for data center tax incentives | kshb.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | John Perkins, Independence councilman, was recalled after voting to approve a multibillion dollar data center | kmbc.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | Independence councilman faces recall over data center vote | kctv5.com (opens in a new tab) |
4 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Independence | An Independence council member faced a recall election after voting for a data center | kshb.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | Bly Road residents filed a 52 page lawsuit to stop the Independence AI data center project | kshb.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | Two of five city councilmembers who voted to give an AI data center 90% tax abatement were ousted in elections on April 8, 2026. | kcur.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Independence | City council voted to give Nebius more than $6 billion in tax breaks in March 2026. | kcur.org (opens in a new tab) |
March 2, 2026 Independence, MO Independence City Council Nebius AI Factory Tax Abatement and Zoning Hearing
At a packed March 2, 2026 meeting, the Independence City Council debated Chapter 100 industrial revenue bonds and zoning for European cloud operator Nebius Group's multi billion dollar AI Factory campus as residents raised concerns over municipal power utility rates and water consumption.
- Rory Rowland, Mayor, City of Independence Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
"BRIAN. BRYA I’VE COVERED A LOT OF THESE MEETINGS OVER THE YEARS, BUT THIS ONE WAS PACKED WAY MORE ATTENDANCE THAN ANY OF THE CITY COUNCIL MEETING I’VE EVER SEEN. THEY HAVE THE MAIN ROOM FULL. THEY’VE GOT AN OVERFLOW FULL. THE WHOLE PARKING LOT HAD WAS TERRIBLY FULL. PEOPLE HAD TO WALK REALLY FAR AWAY. THEY HAD 60 DIFFERENT PEOPLE SIGN UP TO SPEAK. THEY EACH GET UP TO FIVE MINUTES. SO THIS IS GOING TO BE A LONG NIGHT. TAKE A LOOK INSIDE FROM VIDEO WE SHOT EARLIER."
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment transcribed from the official recording
"NEVUS IS THE COMPANY. THEY’RE ASKING THE CITY TO TAKE LEGAL TITLE OF THIS DATA CENTER IF APPROVED, SO THAT THE DEVELOPMENT IS TAX EXEMPT. IT’S A 20 YEAR DEAL. THE COMPANY IS ASKING FOR A 90% TAX ABATEMENT FOR THOSE 20 YEARS. THAT WILL COVER. THE COMPANY WAS WANTING THAT TAX BREAK ON BOTH THE BUILDING AND THE SERVERS INSIDE THOSE SERVERS. THEY WILL REPLACE EVERY FIVE YEARS, THEY SAY. NOW, IN LIEU OF TAXES, NEBIA WILL PLAN TO PAY HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS OF DOLLARS TO THE CITY AND THE SCHOOL DISTRICT."
- Independence City Council Member Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
"IT WILL COVER ABOUT 2,000,000FT OF WAREHOUSES. NOW, THE DATA CENTER WILL USE LOTS OF POWER, AND THAT WAS ONE POINT OF CONTENTION, EQUIVALENT TO ABOUT 500,000 NEW HOMES. ONCE COMPLETED, THE CENTER WILL EMPLOY ABOUT 130 FULL TIME JOBS. NOW, THOSE IN FAVOR SEE THIS AS A HUGE CONSTRUCTION PROJECT. GREAT FOR THE AREA. THOSE AGAINST HAVE CONCERNS ABOUT NOISE, UTILITY COSTS AND THOSE TAX CREDITS. THESE ARE JUST HYPOTHETICALS."
Using this data in a report? Support the record.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
-
Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Verified facility status from Missouri state agency permits, utility dockets, municipal planning filings, or operator campus specifications.
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 6301 Winchester Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64133, Kansas City, Jackson County, Missouri [1] ironmountain.com (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Revitalization Unlimited Downtown Kansas City Data Center, 7.4 mi
- DataBank Kansas City Data Center (MCI1), 7.6 mi
- Netrality Kansas City 1102 Grand Carrier Hotel, 7.6 mi
- Cube NA Data Center Kansas City (101 Holmes), 8.0 mi
- NOCIX North Kansas City Data Center (1530 Swift), 9.6 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 9 MW (the developer's figure, ironmountain.com (opens in a new tab)) and 1 building (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, ironmountain.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1)?
-
Iron Mountain Data Centers is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1) say it needs?
-
Power: 9 MW (the developer's figure, ironmountain.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1) stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Kansas City or Jackson County decided about it?
-
Independence (rated case by case): In Independence Missouri, voters recalled a City Council member who supported tax breaks for a proposed data center (reported September 14, 2026, latimes.com (opens in a new tab)); and Independence: Independence, MO residents held a recall vote related to a data center decision (reported September 3, 2026, dailykos.com (opens in a new tab)). 10 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1) Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), Iron Mountain Data Centers, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Iron Mountain Kansas City Data Center (KCM1)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/iron-mountain-data-centers-iron-mountain-data-center-kansas-city-kcm1-kansas-city-mo. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 39.010862, -94.501281
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.ironmountain.com/data-centers/locations/kansas-city-data-center
- Coordinate source
- Iron Mountain KCM1 underground specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 9 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Case by case
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection