Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Downtown Kansas City Data Center

A downtown Kansas City, Missouri data center proposal sparked concern from neighborhood residents in July 2026. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 13 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Jackson County and Kansas City about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Independence In Independence Missouri, voters recalled a City Council member who supported tax breaks for a proposed data center latimes.com
Independence Independence, MO residents held a recall vote related to a data center decision dailykos.com
Independence Missouri voters recalled councilman over Nebius data center tax break yahoo.com
Independence An Independence councilman was recalled by voters in his district after his vote for data center tax incentives kshb.com
Independence John Perkins, Independence councilman, was recalled after voting to approve a multibillion dollar data center kmbc.com
Independence Independence councilman faces recall over data center vote kctv5.com
2 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Independence An Independence council member faced a recall election after voting for a data center kshb.com
Independence Bly Road residents filed a 52 page lawsuit to stop the Independence AI data center project kshb.com

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

11 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  9. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  10. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  11. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

The site

Where in Jackson County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 17 other published records in Missouri
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Kansas City, Jackson County, Missouri
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Downtown Kansas City Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does Downtown Kansas City Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Downtown Kansas City Data Center stand today?

It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Kansas City or Jackson County decided about it?

Independence: In Independence Missouri, voters recalled a City Council member who supported tax breaks for a proposed data center (reported September 14, 2026, source); and Independence: Independence, MO residents held a recall vote related to a data center decision (reported September 3, 2026, source). 8 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. KCMO City Plan Commission votes to deny application for proposed downtown data center - KSHB 41 Kansas City, KSHB 41 Kansas City, August 5, 2026, query feed
  2. A 20-story data center tower could be built in downtown Kansas City. See where - Kansas City Star, Kansas City Star, June 22, 2026, query feed
  3. The downtown Kansas City data center tower project is even worse than you think | Hudnall - Kansas City Star, Kansas City Star, July 22, 2026, query feed
  4. Historic building in downtown Kansas City may be replaced by 20-story data center - FOX4KC.com, FOX4KC.com, July 21, 2026, query feed
  5. Kansas City leaders rightly rejected data center plan that nobody wanted | Hudnall - Kansas City Star, Kansas City Star, August 7, 2026, query feed
  6. SOM designs "vertical data center" for Downtown Kansas City - Dezeen, Dezeen, August 5, 2026, local outlet
  7. The ‘developer’ of a Kansas data center swore under oath he wasn’t involved. My town is bamboozled. - Kansas Reflector, Kansas Reflector, July 19, 2026, local outlet
  8. Kansas City officials denied a plan for downtown data center. Some residents vow to keep fighting - kcur.org, kcur.org, August 10, 2026, local outlet
  9. Proposed Kansas data center near psychiatric hospital raises safety concerns - KSHB 41 Kansas City, KSHB 41 Kansas City, September 7, 2026, local outlet
  10. Kansas City could get a 20-story data center in the heart of downtown. Here's what we know - KCUR, KCUR, July 22, 2026, local outlet
  11. Downtown Kansas City, Missouri, data center proposal sparks concern from neighbors - KSHB 41 Kansas City, KSHB 41 Kansas City, July 21, 2026, local outlet
  12. Kansas City residents question whether a 20-story data center is a developer's Trojan Horse - kcur.org, kcur.org, July 29, 2026, local outlet
1 more source
  1. Highrise data center proposal stirs opposition in Kansas City - The Architect’s Newspaper, The Architect’s Newspaper, August 17, 2026, local outlet

13 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Downtown Kansas City Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/downtown-kansas-city-data-center-mo, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Downtown Kansas City Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/downtown-kansas-city-data-center-mo. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
downtown-kansas-city-data-center-mo
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/mo/jackson-county/kansas-city
Coordinates
39.0925, -94.41389
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Independence), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17