Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend)
South Bend, St. Joseph County, INDeveloper: Global Access PointCensus GEOID 18141
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Global Access Point operates a carrier hotel and colocation data center campus at Union Station, 506 West South Street, in South Bend, St. Joseph County, Indiana. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 28 other published records in Indiana
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Power it would draw
- 8 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- [1] globalaccesspoint.com
- Who leads it
- Global Access Point as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend), capacity: 8 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 8 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Global Access Point (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 8 MW | the developer's figure | [1] globalaccesspoint.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Global Access Point | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 2 buildings | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | [1] globalaccesspoint.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of St. Joseph County and South Bend about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Joseph County | St. Joseph County Council is discussing developing a ban on data centers coming to the county. | wsbt.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| South Bend | South Bend's public works director Eric Horvath and city engineer Kara Boyles signed NDAs with Amazon in 2023 | lpm.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| South Bend | The proposed bill is set for first reading on September 28, 2026 | lpm.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| South Bend | South Bend Common Council members Oliver Davis Jr. and Sherry Bolden Simpson filed a bill banning NDAs about data centers | lpm.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| South Bend | South Bend Mayor James Mueller issued an executive order banning city staff from signing non disclosure agreements about data centers on September 16, 2026 | lpm.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| St. Joseph County | Republican council members proposed a temporary moratorium on new data center projects in St. Joseph County | wsbt.com (opens in a new tab) |
1 earlier decision on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Joseph County | St. Joseph County leaders debated a two year data center moratorium | wvpe.org (opens in a new tab) |
December 10, 2025 South Bend, IN St. Joseph County Council New Carlisle Data Center Rezoning Hearing
Ahead of the December 10, 2025 St. Joseph County Council rezoning decision near New Carlisle, community and faith groups testified against converting additional prime agricultural land for a third large scale data center campus.
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
"we've made our fair share commitment to two with two data centers. A pause. We want a vote. No, we want a no vote tonight, which is large enough and bipartisan that they will not probably try to set up in this county. >> One concern the group has is water usage. They claim the county would set a limit, but they are unsure about that limit. The other concern the group worries about is electricity rates that"
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
"to their proximity of the project. >> As he also mentioned, the electric rates will skyrocket. Our rates have already gone up 17 and a.5% over the past 12 months in Indiana and they're going to go up even more. >> St. Joseph County Commissioner Raphael Morton told WSBT22 that AE has told the county and city officials that residential electric bills and water use will not increase. >> We've had experts come in to talk about"
- St. Joseph County Council Member Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
"that the water usage will not affect the residents in our county. Thanks for watching. Here's another story you may like and subscribe to the WSBT22 YouTube channel."
Using this data in a report? Support the record.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
-
Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Verified facility status from Indiana IDEM permits, IURC dockets, municipal zoning filings, or operator campus specifications.
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 506 West South Street, South Bend, IN 46601, South Bend, St. Joseph County, Indiana [1] globalaccesspoint.com (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Aunalytics South Bend Data Center (AUSB), 0.6 mi
- Amazon Web Services Project Rainier (New Carlisle), 10 mi
- Microsoft La Porte Data Center Campus, 23 mi
- Google Michigan City data center, 32 mi
- Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise), 53 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 8 MW (the developer's figure, globalaccesspoint.com (opens in a new tab)) and 2 buildings (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, globalaccesspoint.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend)?
-
Global Access Point is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend) say it needs?
-
Power: 8 MW (the developer's figure, globalaccesspoint.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend) stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has South Bend or St. Joseph County decided about it?
-
St. Joseph County: St. Joseph County Council is discussing developing a ban on data centers coming to the county (reported September 22, 2026, wsbt.com (opens in a new tab)); and South Bend (rated case by case): South Bend's public works director Eric Horvath and city engineer Kara Boyles signed NDAs with Amazon in 2023 (reported September 20, 2026, lpm.org (opens in a new tab)). 7 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend) Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), Global Access Point, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Global Access Point Union Station (South Bend)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/global-access-point-gap-union-station-south-bend-in. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 41.669526, -86.255805
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.globalaccesspoint.com/
- Coordinate source
- Global Access Point Union Station specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 8 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Case by case
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection