Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise)
Wheatfield, Jasper County, INDeveloper: Amazon Web ServicesCensus GEOID 18073
- Stage
- Proposed
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Jasper County officials approved Project Rise, a nine building Amazon Web Services data center campus in Wheatfield, Jasper County, Indiana. It is approved; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 28 other published records in Indiana
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Buildings
- 9 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
- Power it would draw
- 500 MW the developer's figure About 5 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- Who leads it
- Amazon Web Services as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise), capacity: 500 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 500 ÷ 10,245 = 0.05 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Amazon Web Services (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 500 MW | the developer's figure | jaspercountyin.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Amazon Web Services | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 9 buildings | zoning application, verified October 27, 2026 | jaspercountyin.gov (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
-
· Status: proposed (content date)
Amazon plans a nine building data center campus in Wheatfield, Jasper County, Indiana.
jaspercountyin.gov (opens in a new tab) query feed
The full Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise) timeline, in order
The site
The pin is the site. The shaded outline is the parcel, from the county's own parcel record.
- Where
- North State Road 49 and West 1100 North, Wheatfield, IN 46392, Wheatfield, Jasper County, Indiana [source] (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, on the parcel
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Munster data center, 22 mi
- Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus, 25 mi
- Microsoft La Porte Data Center Campus, 34 mi
- Google Michigan City data center, 37 mi
- Digital Crossroads Of America Data Center and Central Plant, 42 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 500 MW (the developer's figure, jaspercountyin.gov (opens in a new tab)) and 9 buildings (zoning application, verified October 27, 2026, jaspercountyin.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise)?
-
Amazon Web Services is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise) say it needs?
-
Power: 500 MW (the developer's figure, jaspercountyin.gov (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise) stand today?
-
It is approved; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, June 3, 2026: Amazon plans a nine building data center campus in Wheatfield, Jasper County, Indiana.
What has Wheatfield or Jasper County decided about it?
-
No decision by Wheatfield or Jasper County about data centers is on the record. The Jasper County page and the Indiana scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- Officials approve Jasper County Amazon data center - Northwest Indiana Business Magazine (opens in a new tab), Northwest Indiana Business Magazine, June 18, 2026, query feed
- Amazon's Project Rise data center clears final hurdle - Newsbug.info (opens in a new tab), Newsbug.info, June 23, 2026, query feed
- The Indiana community caught between coal and the data center boom - Canary Media (opens in a new tab), Canary Media, May 14, 2026, query feed
- Amazon plans nine-building data center campus in Wheatfield, Indiana - Data Center Dynamics (opens in a new tab), Data Center Dynamics, June 3, 2026, query feed
4 sources on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-wheatfield-data-center-campus-in. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 41.1911, -87.0531
- How the location is known
- Location from the county parcel record.
- Location source
- https://www.jaspercountyin.gov/
- Coordinate source
- Jasper County Project Rise approval record
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 500 MW, the developer's figure
- Published
- September 29, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Rating of the county's rows