Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus
Hobart, Lake County, INDeveloper: Amazon Web ServicesCensus GEOID 18089
- Stage
- Proposed
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Amazon Web Services received municipal approval and committed to funding water and sewer infrastructure for a data center campus in Hobart, Lake County, Indiana. It is approved; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 28 other published records in Indiana
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Buildings
- 6 buildings zoning application, verified October 27, 2026
- Power it would draw
- 300 MW the developer's figure About 3 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- Who leads it
- Amazon Web Services as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus, capacity: 300 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 300 ÷ 10,245 = 0.03 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Amazon Web Services (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 300 MW | the developer's figure | cityofhobart.org (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Amazon Web Services | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 6 buildings | zoning application, verified October 27, 2026 | cityofhobart.org (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Lake County and Hobart about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gary | Mayor Eddie Melton issued an executive order pausing new data center development in Gary for one year after residents opposed the prospect of data centers | indianacitizen.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Gary | The moratorium will give the city time to evaluate how data centers could impact its electric grid, water resources, infrastructure, environment, economic development and residents' long term quality of life. | nwitimes.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Gary | Gary Mayor Eddie Melton issued an executive order establishing a one year moratorium on new data centers. | nwitimes.com (opens in a new tab) |
What happened
-
· Status: proposed (content date)
Amazon committed to funding water and sewer infrastructure for its operations in Hobart.
The full Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus timeline, in order
The site
The pin is the site. The shaded outline is the parcel, from the county's own parcel record.
- Where
- East 61st Avenue and Colorado Street, Hobart, IN 46342, Hobart, Lake County, Indiana [source] (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, on the parcel
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Munster data center, 6.6 mi
- Digital Crossroads Of America Data Center and Central Plant, 18 mi
- Amazon Web Services Wheatfield Data Center Campus (Project Rise), 25 mi
- Google Michigan City data center, 26 mi
- Microsoft La Porte Data Center Campus, 32 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 300 MW (the developer's figure, cityofhobart.org (opens in a new tab)) and 6 buildings (zoning application, verified October 27, 2026, cityofhobart.org (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus?
-
Amazon Web Services is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus say it needs?
-
Power: 300 MW (the developer's figure, cityofhobart.org (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus stand today?
-
It is approved; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, August 11, 2026: Amazon committed to funding water and sewer infrastructure for its operations in Hobart. [1]
What has Hobart or Lake County decided about it?
-
Gary (rated restrictive): Mayor Eddie Melton issued an executive order pausing new data center development in Gary for one year after residents opposed the prospect of data centers (reported September 18, 2026, indianacitizen.org (opens in a new tab)); and Gary: The moratorium will give the city time to evaluate how data centers could impact its electric grid, water resources, infrastructure, environment, economic development and residents' long term quality of life (reported September 16, 2026, nwitimes.com (opens in a new tab)). 3 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Community benefits, not moratoriums, should guide Indiana’s debate on data centers - Indiana Capital Chronicle (opens in a new tab), Indiana Capital Chronicle, August 11, 2026, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Amazon Web Services Hobart Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-hobart-data-center-in. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 41.5034, -87.2912
- How the location is known
- Location from the county parcel record.
- Location source
- https://www.cityofhobart.org/
- Coordinate source
- City of Hobart zoning and infrastructure approval record
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 300 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Restrictive
- Published
- September 28, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection