Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51)
Totowa, Passaic County, NJDeveloper: Digital RealtyCensus GEOID 34031
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Digital Realty operates a 2 building enterprise data center campus at 255 Madison Road in Totowa, Passaic County, New Jersey, providing 16 MW of critical IT load. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 37 other published records in New Jersey
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Buildings
- 2 buildings operator page, verified October 27, 2026
- Power it would draw
- 16 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- Who leads it
- Digital Realty as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51), capacity: 16 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 16 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Digital Realty (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 16 MW | the developer's figure | digitalrealty.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Digital Realty | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 2 buildings | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | digitalrealty.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
-
(content date)
Digital Realty acquired a 34 acre, 271,000 square foot former Hoffman LaRoche warehouse property in Totowa, New Jersey for $16.8 million to develop a data center with 15.75 MW of initial capacity and room for expansion.
The full Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51) timeline, in order
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 255 Madison Road, Totowa, NJ 07512, Totowa, Passaic County, New Jersey [source] (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- CyrusOne Totowa Data Center (NYM2), 0.2 mi
- Digital Realty Clifton Data Center Campus (EWR20 and EWR21), 6.9 mi
- 365 Data Centers Carlstadt (NJ3), 10 mi
- Cologix NNJ3 Parsippany Data Center, 11 mi
- H5 Data Centers Secaucus (NJ01), 11 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 16 MW (the developer's figure, digitalrealty.com (opens in a new tab)) and 2 buildings (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, digitalrealty.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51)?
-
Digital Realty is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51) say it needs?
-
Power: 16 MW (the developer's figure, digitalrealty.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51) stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, May 31, 2024: Digital Realty acquired a 34 acre, 271,000 square foot former Hoffman LaRoche warehouse property in Totowa, New Jersey for $16.8 million to develop a data center with 15.75 MW of initial capacity and room for expansion. [1]
What has Totowa or Passaic County decided about it?
-
No decision by Totowa or Passaic County about data centers is on the record. The Passaic County page and the New Jersey scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- Digital Realty Will Build Data Center in Northern NJ - DataCenterKnowledge (opens in a new tab), DataCenterKnowledge, May 31, 2024, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Digital Realty Totowa Data Center Campus (EWR50 and EWR51)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/digital-realty-totowa-nj. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 40.9035, -74.2262
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.digitalrealty.com/data-centers/americas/new-york
- Coordinate source
- Passaic County MOD-IV / Digital Realty Totowa specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 16 MW, the developer's figure
- Published
- October 2, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Rating of the county's rows