Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs
Amazon/AWS planned a data center campus adjacent to the Calvert Cliffs nuclear plant in Calvert County, Maryland, but withdrew from the project amid community and political opposition. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Amazon / AWS
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Amazon / AWS | as stated by the source | September 17, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Calvert County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calvert County | Calvert County commissioners voted to extend a data center moratorium from six months to two years. | somdnews.com | |
| Calvert County | Three of five Calvert County commissioners lost seats in June 2026 primary for opposing data center moratorium | southernmarylandchronicle.com | |
| Calvert County | Calvert County voted unanimously 5-0 in August 2026 to pause new data center applications for six months | southernmarylandchronicle.com | |
| Calvert County | Board settles on three of four options: two year moratorium extension, removal of data centers from permitted uses in industrial zones, and rezoning heavy industrial land with Comprehensive Plan amendment | southernmarylandchronicle.com | |
| Calvert County | Calvert County board directs staff to advertise for vote to extend data center moratorium two years at December 15 meeting when newly elected board is sworn in | southernmarylandchronicle.com | |
| Calvert County | Amazon withdrew data center project near Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant in Lusby on August 4, 2026, calling it a business decision | southernmarylandchronicle.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
24 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the summary of a record items row
the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is datacenterknowledge.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Maryland, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row, from the wrapper https://news.google.com/rss/articles/CBMi0gFBVV95cUxQYUV1V3BoRVhBYzFIb0EwcVJMSDM1R3oyUDZKWTRnZDdHMHJuN2Z1aFUwYkxMQkp3VjRQdzRUcjBza09OYTFTV3JOR0dCMWJkTjlYVzhvVDV5Z2t3dlNrN1NwRlpPR09YV0VFUzlaSXl4WW41eEZGVFVKaVY4Sm9JelN6c3pweWdicHhlR2VzLXBhSmkyV2xtMGhvX21zTGt4MWZWUV85N09yTXp0eTZWdFlvWjNxMUxuMmM5Ql9sU0xxbW0zY2M3Tl82bXFvdUx0Vnc. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 3 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thebanner.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Maryland, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thebanner.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Maryland, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Calvert County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 9 other published records in Maryland
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Calvert County, Maryland
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs?
-
Amazon / AWS is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Calvert County decided about it?
-
Calvert County: Calvert County commissioners voted to extend a data center moratorium from six months to two years. (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Calvert County: Three of five Calvert County commissioners lost seats in June 2026 primary for opposing data center moratorium (reported September 23, 2026, source). 6 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- AWS Data Center Withdrawal Signals Growing Political, Community Challenges - Data Center Knowledge, Data Center Knowledge, August 11, 2026, trade press
- AWS pulls out of planned data center campus next to Maryland nuclear plant - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, August 5, 2026, trade press
- AWS Data Center Withdrawal Signals Growing Political, Community Challenges - Data Center Knowledge, Data Center Knowledge, August 11, 2026, trade press
- Amazon abandons plans for data center campus at Calvert Cliffs - Maryland Matters, Maryland Matters, August 4, 2026, local outlet
- How one Maryland county defeated an Amazon data center - The Baltimore Banner, The Baltimore Banner, August 11, 2026, local outlet
- Calvert County approves 6-month data center moratorium after Amazon pullout - WJLA, WJLA, August 18, 2026, local outlet
- Amazon abandons plans for data center campus at Md.’s Calvert Cliffs nuclear plant - WTOP News, WTOP News, August 4, 2026, local outlet
- Calvert Commissioners Pass 6-Month Data Center Moratorium - - The Southern Maryland Chronicle, - The Southern Maryland Chronicle, August 19, 2026, local outlet
- Calvert County commissioners pass 6-month data center moratorium - FOX 5 DC, FOX 5 DC, August 18, 2026, local outlet
- Six-month moratorium on data centers approved in Calvert - somdnews.com, somdnews.com, August 18, 2026, local outlet
- Calvert County commissioners pass 6 month data center moratorium - FOX 5 DC, FOX 5 DC, August 18, 2026, local outlet
- How one Maryland county defeated an Amazon data center - The Baltimore Banner, The Baltimore Banner, August 11, 2026, local outlet
12 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-aws-data-center-campus-at-calvert-cliffs-md, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-aws-data-center-campus-at-calvert-cliffs-md. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- amazon-aws-data-center-campus-at-calvert-cliffs-md
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/md/calvert-county
- Coordinates
- 38.54861, -76.58861
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Prince Frederick), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17