Data Center Record.

Data centers in Calvert County, Maryland

Calvert County has 1 data center on the record; it is proposed. Calvert County has a scorecard row with no rating yet, and a pause on new data centers is on the record. The latest decision on the record: Calvert County commissioners voted to extend a data center moratorium from six months to two years, September 23, 2026.

Updated · Every line below links to its source · How the record works

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The data center in Calvert County

Each row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.

  1. Reported Built from one source

    Amazon / AWS Data Center Campus at Calvert Cliffs

    Calvert County · Amazon / AWS

    No dated entry on the record yet.

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed

Where

1 data center in Calvert County: proposed. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record; every pin here marks a town or the county.

The outline is Calvert County's boundary from the U.S. Census Bureau. Tap a pin for that data center's facts and a link to its page.

What Calvert County has decided

1 body, 6 decisions on the record

What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A month with no day: the source names the month and not the day.

  1. Calvert Countycounty

    Calvert County commissioners voted to extend a data center moratorium from six months to two years, reported September 23, 2026.

    somdnews.com local outlet

    no published rating
    6 acts on this row
    1. moratorium extended

      Calvert County commissioners voted to extend a data center moratorium from six months to two years.

      somdnews.com local outlet

    2. moratorium

      Board settles on three of four options: two year moratorium extension, removal of data centers from permitted uses in industrial zones, and rezoning heavy industrial land with Comprehensive Plan amendment

      southernmarylandchronicle.com local outlet

    3. moratorium

      Calvert County board directs staff to advertise for vote to extend data center moratorium two years at December 15 meeting when newly elected board is sworn in

      southernmarylandchronicle.com local outlet

    4. event

      Amazon withdrew data center project near Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant in Lusby on August 4, 2026, calling it a business decision

      southernmarylandchronicle.com local outlet

    5. moratorium

      Calvert County voted unanimously 5-0 in August 2026 to pause new data center applications for six months

      southernmarylandchronicle.com local outlet

    6. moratorium

      Three of five Calvert County commissioners lost seats in June 2026 primary for opposing data center moratorium

      southernmarylandchronicle.com local outlet

    Last verified September 23, 2026.

The rules across Maryland.

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 1 record

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedNot disclosedBasis
PowerNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per dayNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Permanent jobsNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Tax each yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
Not disclosed1Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed: power, water, jobs, tax each year

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Calvert County is for.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Calvert County is cooled.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data centers in Calvert County, Maryland", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/md/calvert-county, updated September 23, 2026.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Calvert County, Maryland", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/md/calvert-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change

The rows here are part of the Maryland export.

For researchers
Place id
us/md/calvert-county
Level
county
Census GEOID
Not disclosed
Rating value
Not disclosed
Scale word
Not disclosed