Data Center Record.

Data centers in South Dakota

South Dakota has 3 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 1 running and 2 proposed. Most are in McPherson County (1) and Minnehaha County (1), and records are in 3 of 66 counties. The largest proposal is Rapid City Data Center in Pennington County, 10 acres (third party estimate); it is reported.

South Dakota decides case by case. From the state's own rule: South Dakota passed a law requiring data center operators to cover their own electrical usage and infrastructure expenses, September 2, 2026.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Rapid City Data Center Rapid City, Pennington CountyProposed
Leola Data Center Leola, McPherson CountyProposedIn 2023, South Dakota PUC approved Montana Dakota Utilities request to establish new rate available to data center type facilities housing high density computer processing technology yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet reported September 2, 2026
TierPoint Sioux Falls Sioux Falls, Minnehaha CountyRunningTierPoint

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 3 South Dakota projects.

Every South Dakota record 3 records · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
Rapid City Data CenterRapid City, PenningtonProposedcentroid32026-09-25
TierPoint Sioux FallsSioux Falls, MinnehahaRunningTierPointcentroid22026-09-17
Leola Data CenterLeola, McPhersonProposedcentroid42026-09-17

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every South Dakota county (66)

3 of 66 counties have a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRulesStatements
McPherson County46089110
Minnehaha County46099120
Pennington County46103111
Brown County46013010
Lincoln County46083010

A county without a record is listed, not linked.

61 counties with no records yet
  • Aurora County
  • Beadle County
  • Bennett County
  • Bon Homme County
  • Brookings County
  • Brule County
  • Buffalo County
  • Butte County
  • Campbell County
  • Charles Mix County
  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Codington County
  • Corson County
  • Custer County
  • Davison County
  • Day County
  • Deuel County
  • Dewey County
  • Douglas County
  • Edmunds County
  • Fall River County
  • Faulk County
  • Grant County
  • Gregory County
  • Haakon County
  • Hamlin County
  • Hand County
  • Hanson County
  • Harding County
  • Hughes County
  • Hutchinson County
  • Hyde County
  • Jackson County
  • Jerauld County
  • Jones County
  • Kingsbury County
  • Lake County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lyman County
  • Marshall County
  • McCook County
  • Meade County
  • Mellette County
  • Miner County
  • Moody County
  • Oglala Lakota County
  • Perkins County
  • Potter County
  • Roberts County
  • Sanborn County
  • Spink County
  • Stanley County
  • Sully County
  • Todd County
  • Tripp County
  • Turner County
  • Union County
  • Walworth County
  • Yankton County
  • Ziebach County

The rules in South Dakota 7 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
South Dakotastatecase by caseSouth Dakota passed a law requiring data center operators to cover their own electrical usage and infrastructure expenses. aarp.org (opens in a new tab) news outlet Sep 2, 202611 acts on this row
Every act on the South Dakota row
  1. moratorium rejected

    South Dakota introduced SB 232 for moratorium on data center construction until June 2027; bill failed.

    mashable.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  2. event

    State legislators debated data center tax incentives and property tax relief, with concerns about utility rate increases and foreign ownership.

    northeastradiosd.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  3. event

    South Dakota passed a Data Center Bill of Rights banning certain tax exemptions and protecting water resources.

    northeastradiosd.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  4. event

    South Dakota Legislature passed protections requiring data centers 10 MW or higher to pay for electricity rate increases they cause

    sdpb.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  5. approval

    South Dakota Public Utilities Commission approved Montana Dakota Utilities as electric provider for Leola Data Center

    sdpb.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  6. event

    South Dakota passed a law requiring data center operators to cover their own electrical usage and infrastructure expenses

    aarp.org (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  7. rate rule

    South Dakota Legislature approved a Republican sponsored law requiring data centers to pay costs of their electricity and water

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  8. hearing

    Lincoln County Commission and Sioux Falls City Council agreed to meet again on the last Tuesday in October 2026

    siouxfallslive.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  9. event

    South Dakota passed a bill of rights last legislative session to address data centre electricity costs, water usage and local authority.

    dakotanewsnow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  10. moratorium

    Lincoln County Commission voted 3-2 against a data center moratorium on August 25, 2026

    siouxfallslive.com (opens in a new tab) news outlet

  11. event

    South Dakota Senate Bill 135, the data center bill of rights, passed in the last legislative session.

    sdpb.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

112026-09-23
Aberdeencitynot ratedAberdeen City Council held first of three meetings on Monday to discuss proposed data center ordinance. yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet Aug 171 act on this row
Every act on the Aberdeen row
  1. hearing

    Aberdeen City Council held first of three meetings on Monday to discuss proposed data center ordinance

    yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

Last verified August 18, 2026.

12026-08-18
Lincoln Countycountynot ratedCommissioners voted 3 to 2 against the moratorium amendment with Landeen, Schmidt, and Otten voting against. argusleader.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 262 acts on this row
Every act on the Lincoln County row
  1. moratorium

    Commissioners voted 3 to 2 against the moratorium amendment with Landeen, Schmidt, and Otten voting against

    argusleader.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium

    Lincoln County Commission voted to reject a moratorium proposal on August 25, 2026

    argusleader.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified August 26, 2026.

22026-08-26
McPherson Countycountynot ratedMcPherson County Planning and Zoning Commission voted to postpone a decision following an executive session at a special meeting. dakotanewsnow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 111 act on this row
Every act on the McPherson County row
  1. event

    McPherson County Planning and Zoning Commission voted to postpone a decision following an executive session at a special meeting

    dakotanewsnow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

12026-09-23
Minnehaha Countycountynot ratedMinnehaha County presented an initial data center ordinance draft to the Planning Commission on Monday, August 25, 2026. dakotanewsnow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Aug 251 act on this row
Every act on the Minnehaha County row
  1. ordinance

    Minnehaha County presented an initial data center ordinance draft to the Planning Commission on Monday, August 25, 2026

    dakotanewsnow.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

12026-09-23
Rapid Citycitynot ratedRapid City held a town hall survey on data center policy with over 220 residents participating, with most responses opposing data centers or supporting strict controls. sdpb.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet Oct 142 acts on this row
Every act on the Rapid City row
  1. statement

    Rapid City held a town hall survey on data center policy with over 220 residents participating, with most responses opposing data centers or supporting strict controls.

    sdpb.org (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. ordinance

    Rapid City Planning Commission voted unanimously on September 10 to delay a vote on proposed data center ordinance amendments to the November 4 meeting

    rapidcityjournal.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified October 14, 2026.

22026-10-14
Sioux Fallscitynot ratedSioux Falls City Council voted unanimously to pass the resolution with the amendment for the October 27 public hearing. argusleader.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Aug 261 act on this row
Every act on the Sioux Falls row
  1. event

    Sioux Falls City Council voted unanimously to pass the resolution with the amendment for the October 27 public hearing

    argusleader.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified August 26, 2026.

12026-08-26

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

South Dakota laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in South Dakota

2 signed into law, 10 bills tracked

10 bills tracked in the South Dakota legislature, 2 of them signed into law, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the South Dakota laws page has what each law requires.

No official summary on file for any of these 7 measures; each row links to the legislature's page for the text.

Signed into law 2

10 bills tracked, 2 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
HB1038 2026 Regular Session Signed 2026-03-30 Allow the Public Utilities Commission to assess actual costs to data centers that are customers of public utilities.
SB135 2026 Regular Session Signed 2026-03-30 Protect residents from increased utility costs and utility shortages caused by data centers and clarify authority to regulate data centers.
H.B. 1246 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-20 Prohibit nondisclosure of certain agreements related to data centers.
S.B. 232 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-18 Impose a one-year moratorium on the construction or expansion of hyperscale data centers.
S.B. 235 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-18 Protect residents from increased utility costs and utility shortages caused by data centers, to clarify authority to regulate data centers, and to modify provisions pertaining to the purchasing of goods and services by a data center.
H.B. 1301 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-05 Limit costs and risks associated with electricity use by data centers and impose a moratorium.
S.B. 234 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-05 Modify provisions pertaining to the purchasing of goods and services related to data center operations.
S.B. 127 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-01-27 Limit nuisances caused by data centers.
H.B. 1005 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-01-13 Provide a sales and use tax exemption for goods and services related to data center operations.
S.B. 177 2025 Regular Session In committee 2025-02-13 Provide a sales and use tax refund for goods and services related to data center operations.

10 bills tracked in South Dakota; 2026 Regular Session, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found no bill not already tracked; the 10 tracked bills stand. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. South Dakota's members: 1 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Johnson (SD)RYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. South Dakota's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Rounds (R-SD)RYea
Thune (R-SD)RYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What happened

  1. Moratorium rejectedSouth Dakota

    South Dakota introduced SB 232 for moratorium on data center construction until June 2027; bill failed.

The full South Dakota timeline, year by year

What was said

Jessica Olson, city planning manager, stated that Rapid City is developing municipal policy to limit, prohibit, or regulate data centers of ten megawatts or greater.
Jessica Olson, Rapid City Planning Manager · October 15, 2026 · paraphrased · South Dakota Public Broadcasting (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Rob Skjonsberg, Rounds campaign advisor, defended South Dakota's existing regulations governing data center development and local control
Rob Skjonsberg, Rounds campaign advisor · September 4, 2026 · paraphrased · kotaradio.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every South Dakota statement, by speaker (37)

34 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 37 statements in all

Jeff Shelton, a Democrat running for the District 32 Senate seat, said Senate Bill 135 needs more comprehensive definitions and fine tuning to clarify what constitutes a data center and ensure it addresses harmful resource consumption.

Democratic candidate for South Dakota Senate District 32 South Dakota Public Broadcasting (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: South Dakota Public Broadcasting (opens in a new tab).

Marty Jackley, Republican House candidate, said he would support hyperscale data center projects if they provide a net benefit to the grid, respect local control and private property rights, and do not raise electricity rates

AOL.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: AOL.com (opens in a new tab).

Nikki Gronli, Democratic House candidate, said she would support a moratorium on hyperscale data centers to assess water and energy impacts before proceeding

AOL.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: AOL.com (opens in a new tab).

Mark Cuban warned that communities need to protect themselves from data center projects with transparency requirements, punitive compliance measures, and facility closure bonds.

entrepreneur Northeast Radio SD (opens in a new tab) news outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Northeast Radio SD (opens in a new tab).

Vicki Fisher, Community Development Director for Rapid City, says communities have experienced issues with data centers including water usage, sewer impact, electric usage, noise and vibration

Community Development Director, Rapid City KOTA Territory News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KOTA Territory News (opens in a new tab).

Kloucek said a moratorium would give people time to do homework and watch what's happening in other states, and expressed concern about putting consumers of electricity, natural gas, and water at risk

Democratic candidate for South Dakota Public Utilities Commission South Dakota Public Broadcasting (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: South Dakota Public Broadcasting (opens in a new tab).

The pledge commits signers to draft data center regulations before the first day of the 2027 legislative session in January.

Amanda Potter and Jeff Shelton Argus Leader (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Argus Leader (opens in a new tab).

Amanda Potter, Democratic candidate for HD-9, and Jeff Shelton, Democratic candidate for SD-32, started the Data Center Accountability Pledge.

Gabriel Brito, Sioux Falls Argus Leader Argus Leader (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Argus Leader (opens in a new tab).

Sonja Mentzer, Democratic candidate for District 11 house seat, said millions of dollars from data centres flowed into races in the June primary.

District 11 House candidate Dakota News Now (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Dakota News Now (opens in a new tab).

The pledge includes a refusal to take money from individuals or organizations interested in data center development.

Amanda Potter and Jeff Shelton Argus Leader (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Argus Leader (opens in a new tab).

John Marquardt, Yankton County Commissioners' Chair, said commissioners can take their time to get a good ordinance plan, noting that he does not think anybody wants to see a big 500 MW data center, but a 10 to 20 MW data center would be a $100 million project

Dakota News Now (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: Dakota News Now (opens in a new tab).

Hansen co sponsored a Data Center Bill of Rights law that ensures utility rates do not go up due to construction, that water use is transparent, and that local authorities have a say in whether a data center is built.

gubernatorial candidate KOTA Territory News (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Context & source notes

Provenance: Paraphrased; said in the source itself.

Primary source: KOTA Territory News (opens in a new tab).

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in South Dakota: Governor (2), U.S. Senate (2), U.S. House, at large (2); 3 of 6 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Already running in South Dakota

1 site is serving load, 1 of them in Minnehaha County.

See the 1 running site
  1. TierPoint Sioux Falls Sioux Falls, Minnehaha County Running

Questions about South Dakota data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in South Dakota?

3 projects are on the record in South Dakota: 2 reported and 1 running. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in South Dakota are they?

Records are in 3 counties: McPherson County (1), Minnehaha County (1) and Pennington County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in South Dakota?

Not disclosed. None of the 3 records on file for South Dakota states a power figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in South Dakota say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 3 records on file for South Dakota states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in South Dakota?

1 developer is named on the record: TierPoint. 2 records name no developer; each name above opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in South Dakota have rules about data centers?

6 county and city rows are on the record, none of them rated yet: Aberdeen has no rating yet: Aberdeen City Council held first of three meetings on Monday to discuss proposed data center ordinance (reported August 18, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)), Lincoln County has no rating yet: Commissioners voted 3 to 2 against the moratorium amendment with Landeen, Schmidt, and Otten voting against (reported August 26, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)) and McPherson County has no rating yet: McPherson County Planning and Zoning Commission voted to postpone a decision following an executive session at a special meeting (reported August 11, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own row is rated case by case, with 11 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in South Dakota, by county?

2 records are not yet running. McPherson County: Leola Data Center (reported); and Pennington County: Rapid City Data Center (reported). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of South Dakota itself decided?

2 state laws are on the record: HB1038 (signed, March 30, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)) and SB135 (signed, March 30, 2026, source (opens in a new tab)). The state's own scorecard row carries 11 dated acts, the newest reported September 16, 2026; the laws page has what each law requires in the words of its text. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 3 records

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power03
Water, stated per day03
Water, stated per year03
Permanent jobs03
Tax each year03

A blank cell means no record in South Dakota disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power03
Water, stated per day03
Water, stated per year03
Permanent jobs03
Tax each year03

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 3 tracked facilities in South Dakota are for.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use3

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 3 tracked facilities in South Dakota are cooled.

Sources read for South Dakota

8 sources

8 sources are read for South Dakota:

Newspapers
Rapid City Journal
Public broadcaster
South Dakota Public Broadcasting
Utility commission dockets
South Dakota Public Utilities Commission
Economic development
South Dakota Governors Office of Economic Development
Search feeds
4 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in South Dakota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/sd, updated October 20, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in South Dakota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/sd. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
SD
Rating of the state's own row
Case by case
Count by status
reported 2, running 1
Located records
0 located, 3 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · South Dakota · 3 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 7 rule rows, 10 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 20, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON