Rapid City Data Center
A data center project in Rapid City is moving forward with concerns raised about heat and resource impacts. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- 10 acres
- third party estimate [3]
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 10 acres | third party estimate | [3] rapidcityjournal.com | September 25, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Pennington County and Rapid City about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rapid City | Micro data centers are defined as having a peak power demand of up to 10 megawatts and no more than 3,000 gallons of water per day | rapidcityjournal.com | |
| Rapid City | Large scale data centers are defined as using more than 10 megawatts but up to a maximum of 30 megawatts at peak demand and using a maximum of 10,000 gallons of water a day | rapidcityjournal.com | |
| Rapid City | The proposed ordinance would define hyperscale data centers as centers using 30 or more megawatts of power at peak demand or more than 10,000 gallons of water a day | rapidcityjournal.com | |
| Rapid City | Rapid City Planning Commission voted unanimously on September 10 to delay a vote on proposed data center ordinance amendments to the November 4 meeting | rapidcityjournal.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
1 correction to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Eric Wolff, business development manager for Black Hills Energy, said Sequitor Edge data center may be at risk of not coming to fruition due to the city's regulatory efforts
Every statement about data centers in South Dakota, by speaker
The site
Where in Pennington County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 2 other published records in South Dakota
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Rapid City, Pennington County, South Dakota
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Rapid City Data Center?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 10 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building Rapid City Data Center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
How much power and water does Rapid City Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Rapid City Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Rapid City or Pennington County decided about it?
-
Rapid City: Micro data centers are defined as having a peak power demand of up to 10 megawatts and no more than 3,000 gallons of water per day (reported September 17, 2026, source); and Rapid City: Large scale data centers are defined as using more than 10 megawatts but up to a maximum of 30 megawatts at peak demand and using a maximum of 10,000 gallons of water a day (reported September 17, 2026, source). 4 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Sequitor Edge targets 2MW facility in Rapid City, South Dakota, www.datacenterdynamics.com, February 12, 2026, trade press
- Heat raises resource concerns as Rapid City data center moves forward - KOTA Territory News, KOTA Territory News, July 2, 2026, local outlet
- Possible amendments to Rapid City’s data center ordinance could prompt planned data center to pull out, Rapid City Journal, September 17, 2026, local outlet
3 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Rapid City Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/rapid-city-data-center-sd, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Rapid City Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/rapid-city-data-center-sd. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- rapid-city-data-center-sd
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/sd/pennington-county/rapid-city
- Coordinates
- 44.08106, -103.22867
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Rapid City), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- third_party_estimate
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25