Data Center Record.

Data centers in Morton County, North Dakota

Morton County has 1 data center on the record; it is proposed. Morton County has a scorecard row with no rating yet. The latest decision on the record: Mandan residents gathered over 700 signatures on a petition to limit data centers to 25 megawatts or less of power use (Mandan), September 23, 2026.

Updated · Every line below links to its source · How the record works

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

The data center in Morton County

Each row is one site with its stage, its latest dated entry and what its sources disclose. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed.

  1. Reported Built from one source

    Proposed data center near Mandan

    Mandan, Morton County

    No dated entry on the record yet.

    Land
    Not disclosed
    Power
    Not disclosed
    Water
    Not disclosed
    Tenant
    Not disclosed

Where

1 data center in Morton County: proposed. A dashed edge means the exact site is not in the public record; every pin here marks a town or the county.

The outline is Morton County's boundary from the U.S. Census Bureau. Tap a pin for that data center's facts and a link to its page.

The cities in Morton County on the record (1)

1 of 1 city has a record. A city without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record.

CityProjectsRules
Mandan11

What Morton County has decided

2 bodies, 3 decisions on the record

What the county and the cities in it have done about data centers: each body on its own row with its rating, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never good or bad, and every vote, ordinance, moratorium or agreement behind its toggle, newest first, with its source.

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own.

  1. Morton Countycounty

    Ordinance passed 5-1, with Tokach voting against due to tonal noise issue, reported September 19, 2026.

    bismarcktribune.com local outlet

    no published rating
    2 acts on this row
    1. ordinance

      Ordinance passed 5-1, with Tokach voting against due to tonal noise issue

      bismarcktribune.com local outlet

    2. ordinance

      Morton County Commission approved data center ordinance on September 10, 2026

      bismarcktribune.com local outlet

    Last verified September 19, 2026.

  2. Mandancity

    Mandan residents gathered over 700 signatures on a petition to limit data centers to 25 megawatts or less of power use, reported September 23, 2026.

    news.prairiepublic.org local outlet

    no published rating
    1 act on this row
    1. event

      Mandan residents gathered over 700 signatures on a petition to limit data centers to 25 megawatts or less of power use

      news.prairiepublic.org local outlet

    Last verified September 23, 2026.

The rules across North Dakota.

What was said

Susan Beehler, organizer, said the group is concerned about a hyper scale data center planned near Mandan Middle School and Mandan High School
Susan Beehler, data center opposition organizer · September 23, 2026 · paraphrased · Prairie Public local outlet

Every North Dakota statement, by speaker

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 1 record

Power, water, jobs and tax, summed only where a data center disclosed the figure; what each facility is for; how each is cooled. Nothing here is estimated.

Power, water, jobs and tax

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedNot disclosedBasis
PowerNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per dayNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Water, stated per yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Permanent jobsNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record
Tax each yearNot disclosed01Not disclosed by any of the 1 record

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

By what the facilities are for

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
Not disclosed1Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed: power, water, jobs, tax each year

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

What the facilities are for

No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Morton County is for.

How the facilities are cooled

No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Morton County is cooled.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data centers in Morton County, North Dakota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/nd/morton-county, updated September 23, 2026.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Morton County, North Dakota", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/nd/morton-county. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change

The rows here are part of the North Dakota export.

For researchers
Place id
us/nd/morton-county
Level
county
Census GEOID
Not disclosed
Rating value
Not disclosed
Scale word
Not disclosed