Proposed data center near Mandan
An unidentified developer has proposed a data center near Mandan, drawing public concern over proximity to schools. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Morton County and Mandan about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mandan | Mandan residents gathered over 700 signatures on a petition to limit data centers to 25 megawatts or less of power use | news.prairiepublic.org | |
| Morton County | Ordinance passed 5-1, with Tokach voting against due to tonal noise issue | bismarcktribune.com | |
| Morton County | Ordinance includes modification to reclamation bond requirements, allowing companies to request extension or waiver of requirements to demolish structures and return land to original use when data center operations cease | bismarcktribune.com | |
| Morton County | Morton County Commission approved data center ordinance on September 10, 2026 | bismarcktribune.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
12 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is inforum.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" North Dakota, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Susan Beehler, organizer, said the group is concerned about a hyper scale data center planned near Mandan Middle School and Mandan High School
Every statement about data centers in North Dakota, by speaker
The site
Where in Morton County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 1 other published record in North Dakota
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Mandan, Morton County, North Dakota
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Proposed data center near Mandan?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
How much power and water does Proposed data center near Mandan say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Proposed data center near Mandan stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Mandan or Morton County decided about it?
-
Mandan: Mandan residents gathered over 700 signatures on a petition to limit data centers to 25 megawatts or less of power use (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Morton County: Ordinance passed 5-1, with Tokach voting against due to tonal noise issue (reported September 19, 2026, source). 4 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Proposed data center near Mandan draws concern over school proximity - KFYR TV, KFYR TV, August 21, 2026, local outlet
- An inside look at the Harwood data center as it nears completion - InForum, InForum, September 12, 2026, local outlet
- Stark Power hosts first public event on proposed Mandan data center project - KFYR-TV, KFYR-TV, August 20, 2026, local outlet
- Residents voice concerns over Mandan data center during town hall - North Dakota Monitor, North Dakota Monitor, August 21, 2026, local outlet
4 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Proposed data center near Mandan", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/proposed-data-center-near-mandan-nd, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Proposed data center near Mandan", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/proposed-data-center-near-mandan-nd. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- proposed-data-center-near-mandan-nd
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/nd/morton-county/mandan
- Coordinates
- 46.82889, -100.89111
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Mandan), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17