Vermaland data center
The Pinal County board rejected the massive Vermaland data center project. It is cancelled, as reported September 8, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Pinal County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pinal County | Pinal County rejected a controversial data center project near Eloy. | linkedin.com | |
| Pinal County | La Osa data center project opponents and supporters met at Pinal County Board of Supervisors meeting on August 26, 2026 | azcentral.com | |
| Pinal County | Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 against rezoning land for Vermaland data center project south of Eloy | azfamily.com |
What happened
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 against the Vermaland data center project. [6]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Vermaland proposed to use less water by implementing a closed loop cooling system. [6]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
In response to opposition, Vermaland scaled the project back to 11 buildings and one gas fired power plant. [6]
-
· Status: stalled or cancelled (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Vermaland proposed building 59 buildings and two gas fired power plants on 3,300 acres south of Eloy. [6]
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Developer reduced proposal from 59 buildings to 11 with two gas fired power plants planned [4]
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
A data center is proposed near Eloy and Picacho Peak in Pinal County, Arizona [5]
The full Vermaland data center timeline, in order
5 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Neighbors raised concerns about water, air quality, noise, wildlife and property values
The site
Where in Pinal County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Stalled or cancelled, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 27 other published records in Arizona
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Pinal County, Arizona
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Vermaland data center?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
How much power and water does Vermaland data center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Vermaland data center stand today?
-
It is cancelled, as reported September 8, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 8, 2026: Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 against the Vermaland data center project. [6]
What has Pinal County decided about it?
-
Pinal County: Pinal County rejected a controversial data center project near Eloy. (reported August 27, 2026, source); and Pinal County: La Osa data center project opponents and supporters met at Pinal County Board of Supervisors meeting on August 26, 2026 (August 26, 2026, source). 3 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- RioGrande revived, temporarily: Another proposed data center bites the dust , Jonathan P. Thompson (LandDesk.org) - coyotegulch.blog, coyotegulch.blog, September 17, 2026, query feed
- Pinal County will vote on La Osa, which could become one of Arizona's largest data center projects - KJZZ, KJZZ, August 25, 2026, local outlet
- Pinal County residents fight proposed data center - AZ Family, AZ Family, August 25, 2026, local outlet
- Pinal County blocks data center near Eloy: What happens now? - AZ Family, AZ Family, August 26, 2026, local outlet
- Why Pinal County residents are fighting proposed data center - AZ Family, AZ Family, August 25, 2026, local outlet
- Pinal County rejects data center despite developer’s concessions - AZ Family, AZ Family, September 8, 2026, local outlet
- Largest proposed data center in Arizona to be scaled back 80% after opposition - KJZZ, KJZZ, May 28, 2026, local outlet
- Pinal board rejects sprawling data center - PinalCentral.com, PinalCentral.com, August 26, 2026, local outlet
- Pinal County rejects massive Vermaland data center project - The Business Journals, The Business Journals, August 26, 2026, local outlet
- Pinal County board rejects massive data center project - AZ Family, AZ Family, August 26, 2026, local outlet
10 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Vermaland data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/vermaland-data-center-pinal-az, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Vermaland data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/vermaland-data-center-pinal-az. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- vermaland-data-center-pinal-az
- Status value
- cancelled
- Stage
- Stalled or cancelled
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/az/pinal-county
- Coordinates
- 33.03861, -111.38694
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Florence), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-04
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17