Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus

Frederick, Frederick County, MDDeveloper: Rowan Digital InfrastructureCensus GEOID 24021

Stage
Proposed
Power
300 MW
the developer's figure
Buildings
4 buildings
zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water

Rowan Digital Infrastructure received Frederick County Planning Commission site plan approval for a 4 building, 300 MW hyperscale data center campus on the former Eastalco industrial property in Frederick County, Maryland. It is approved; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

1 hearing on the record, 2025

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 18 other published records in Maryland
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
4 buildings zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026
Power it would draw
300 MW the developer's figure About 3 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
Who leads it
Rowan Digital Infrastructure as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
  1. Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus, capacity: 300 MW.
  2. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  3. 300 ÷ 10,245 = 0.03 (MW over MW).

Sources:

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 300 MW the developer's figure frederickcountymd.gov (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Rowan Digital Infrastructure as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 4 buildings zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026 frederickcountymd.gov (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Frederick County and Frederick about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Frederick County restrictive Frederick County paused new data center applications until July 1, 2027 wmar2news.com (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Frederick County has a temporary pause on new data center applications through December 31, 2026 wfmd.com (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Catellus would provide 433 acres as a nature reserve wfmd.com (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Catellus would cut potable water use by 80 percent wfmd.com (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Catellus would reduce planned data center development by nearly 20 percent wfmd.com (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Frederick County Planning Commission scheduled public hearings for two conditional use permit applications for data center campuses, including one for a 71.85 acre facility. facebook.com (opens in a new tab)
5 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Frederick County restrictive Frederick County Planning Commission unanimously recommended denial of a conditional use permit for Winchester Gateway, a nearly 72 acre data center campus in the Kernstown area. facebook.com (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Frederick County Council voted to expand the data center zoning area surrounding Quantum Frederick to about 2,600 acres marylandmatters.org (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Frederick County Executive Jessica Fitzwater signed an order pausing new data center permitting until the end of the year marylandmatters.org (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive Residents fear Frederick County will become the new data center alley cnsmaryland.org (opens in a new tab)
Frederick County restrictive The Frederick County Council approved a 2,600 acre data center development zone in late 2025, which overlaps the existing 1,600 acre data center campus to limit the industry to one location. wypr.org (opens in a new tab)
December 23, 2025 Frederick, MD Frederick County Council Critical Digital Infrastructure Overlay Vote Frederick County Council 3clips

On December 23, 2025, the Frederick County Council voted to approve a Critical Digital Infrastructure zoning framework paving the way for expanded hyperscale data center development around the Quantum Loophole campus despite resident protests over transmission corridors and farmland loss.

  1. Brad Young, Council President, Frederick County Council Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
    "County Council just approved a measure that could potentially bring in a lot more data centers to the rural part of this Maryland county. But the discussion before the vote was not without some really tense moments for because I didn't agree with the parameters. We are where we are now, with sparks flying at times as members of the Council debated a proposal that paves the way for more data centers to be built in Frederick County, which is around 50 miles northwest of"
  2. Resident public comment Resident Public Comment transcribed from the official recording
    "of experience. There are currently 17 data centers in the county, according to one official. But by 5 to 2 vote, the council approved zoning a little more than 2600 acres for data center development, which is double the size of the current campus. I think we need to limit ourselves because, you know, water is something you take for granted until you don't have it. Electricity is something you depend on and think is just normal until you have a rolling brownout. This"
  3. Frederick County Council Member Elected Official transcribed from the official recording
    "support it. This back and forth among council members, echoing what we saw from members of the community last week, supporters pointing to the need for these facilities for their super computing powers, enabling every day tasks like storage for cell phones and computers, as well as the potential for economic benefits. Critics raising concern with pollution, noise and electricity costs. We need business taxes. We need revenue"
Said and filed

Said and filed

Statements and filings, side by side

Column A · Dated Statement
Frederick County Council & Administration County Governing Body
Venue: Frederick County Farmland & Industrial Footprint Assurances
"Assured residents that hyperscale data center development would remain confined to the existing Eastalco aluminum smelter industrial footprint without encroaching on surrounding Frederick County farmland."
Column B · Subsequent Recorded Position
Frederick County Council Adoption of Critical Digital Infrastructure Zoning Overlay
Frederick County CDI Zoning Ordinance (Adopted Dec 23, 2025)
Agency or Venue: Frederick County Council
"On December 23, 2025, the Frederick County Council voted to adopt the Critical Digital Infrastructure overlay ordinance creating a mechanism to expand data center zoning onto additional acreage over resident objections."
ABC 7 WJLA Washington

What happened

  1. (content date)

    Rowan secured $975 million in financing for a data center campus in Maryland.

    [1] datacenterdynamics.com

The full Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus timeline, in order

The site

The pin is the site's address.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
5201 Buckeystown Pike, Frederick, MD 21704, Frederick, Frederick County, Maryland [source] (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, at the address
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus
LAT 39.32120 / LON -77.46450 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 300 MW (the developer's figure, frederickcountymd.gov (opens in a new tab)) and 4 buildings (zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026, frederickcountymd.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus?

Rowan Digital Infrastructure is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus say it needs?

Power: 300 MW (the developer's figure, frederickcountymd.gov (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus stand today?

It is approved; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, January 19, 2025: Rowan secured $975 million in financing for a data center campus in Maryland. [1]

What has Frederick or Frederick County decided about it?

Frederick County (rated restrictive): Frederick County paused new data center applications until July 1, 2027 (reported September 23, 2026, wmar2news.com (opens in a new tab)); and Frederick County: Frederick County has a temporary pause on new data center applications through December 31, 2026 (reported September 3, 2026, wfmd.com (opens in a new tab)). 11 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Rowan secures $975 million financing for Maryland data center campus - Data Center Dynamics (opens in a new tab), Data Center Dynamics, January 19, 2025, query feed

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/rowan-maryland-data-center-campus-md, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/rowan-maryland-data-center-campus-md. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
39.3212, -77.4645
How the location is known
Location from the site's street address.
Location source
https://www.frederickcountymd.gov/
Coordinate source
Frederick County Planning Commission Site Plan Approval (Eastalco Parcel)
How capacity was disclosed
the developer's figure
Capacity, if disclosed
300 MW, the developer's figure
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
September 28, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · Rowan Digital Infrastructure Frederick Buckyestown Data Center Campus · 1 source, 1 entry, 11 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON