Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Piedmont Area Data Center

A proposed data center in the Piedmont area has a zoning decision pending, with residents petitioning against it and the developer securing an alternate site option. It is reported, as reported August 24, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 6 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
337 acres
third party estimate [3]
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land 337 acres third party estimate [3] news9.com September 25, 2026
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Cloverleaf will comply with Piedmont noise standards and use closed loop cooling system [3]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Project Open Sky planned as multi building data center campus with power generation uses [3]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Cloverleaf has secured rights to purchase more than 300 acres in Kingfisher County adjacent to original site [2]

  4. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Cloverleaf hopes to build data center on about 1000 acres near Piedmont [2]

The full Piedmont Area Data Center timeline, in order

4 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is thecooldown.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Oklahoma, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Citizen led petitions pushing back against data centers in the area
Piedmont citizens · August 24, 2026 · paraphrased · News 9 local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Oklahoma, by speaker

The site

Where in Canadian County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Oklahoma
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Piedmont, Canadian County, Oklahoma
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Piedmont Area Data Center?

The record has one measure of its size: 337 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building Piedmont Area Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does Piedmont Area Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Piedmont Area Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 24, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 18, 2026: Cloverleaf will comply with Piedmont noise standards and use closed loop cooling system [3].

What has Piedmont or Canadian County decided about it?

No decision by Piedmont or Canadian County about data centers is on the record. The Canadian County page and the Oklahoma scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Powered land company Cloverleaf proposing 633-acre data center in Canadian County, Oklahoma, www.datacenterdynamics.com, May 14, 2026, trade press
  2. Piedmont City Council to vote Monday night on proposed data center - News 9, News 9, August 24, 2026, local outlet
  3. Piedmont council considers annexation, rezoning for proposed Cloverleaf data center - News 9, News 9, September 18, 2026, local outlet
  4. Family living next to proposed Piedmont-area data center fears impact as zoning decision remains pending - news9.com, news9.com, August 24, 2026, local outlet
  5. Piedmont residents petition data center as developer secures alternate site option - KOKH, KOKH, August 20, 2026, local outlet
  6. A data center campus would mean millions for an Oklahoma town. One family faces the human cost - KOCO, KOCO, August 23, 2026, local outlet

6 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Piedmont Area Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/piedmont-area-data-center-ok, last verified September 25, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Piedmont Area Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/piedmont-area-data-center-ok. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
piedmont-area-data-center-ok
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/ok/canadian-county/piedmont
Coordinates
35.53028, -97.9575
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (El Reno), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
third_party_estimate
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-25