Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center
Baltimore, Baltimore city, MDDeveloper: Lumen TechnologiesCensus GEOID 24510
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Lumen Technologies operates a downtown Baltimore colocation and network interconnection hub at 300 West Lexington Street in Baltimore, Maryland, with 6 MW of capacity. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 18 other published records in Maryland
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Power it would draw
- 6 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- [1] lumen.com
- Who leads it
- Lumen Technologies as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center, capacity: 6 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 6 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Lumen Technologies (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 6 MW | the developer's figure | [1] lumen.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Lumen Technologies | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 1 building | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | [1] lumen.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Baltimore city and Baltimore about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baltimore City | City Council discussed data center pros and cons during a Public Health and Environment Committee hearing. | baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Baltimore City | Baltimore has staunched the creation of data centers within city limits. | baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Baltimore City | Baltimore City one year moratorium on large data centers took effect in July, applies to facilities capable of using 10 megawatts or more | wmar2news.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Baltimore City | Baltimore has a one year moratorium on data centers expiring next year | wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Baltimore City | Planning Commission said Health Department does not have staff, funding or data rights to conduct required assessment review | wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Baltimore City | Developers must complete a health equity self assessment studying pollution, drinking water, noise and traffic within 1.5 miles of proposed site | wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab) |
2 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baltimore City | Council Bill 26-0174 would allow data centers using less than 10 megawatts in specific industrial zones around Canton and Curtis Bay | wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Baltimore City | Baltimore city bill proposed to pause data center construction | wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab) |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
-
Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Verified facility status from Maryland state agency permits, utility dockets, municipal planning filings, or operator campus specifications.
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 300 West Lexington Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Baltimore, Baltimore city, Maryland [1] lumen.com (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Zayo and Candler Building Baltimore Carrier Hotel (111 Market Place), 0.8 mi
- TierPoint Baltimore Russell Street Data Center, 1.3 mi
- TierPoint Baltimore BWI Data Center, 7.1 mi
- Cogent Communications Elkridge Data Center, 9.3 mi
- AiNET Glen Burnie CyberNAP Data Center (MD-790R), 10 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 6 MW (the developer's figure, lumen.com (opens in a new tab)) and 1 building (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, lumen.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center?
-
Lumen Technologies is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: 6 MW (the developer's figure, lumen.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Baltimore or Baltimore city decided about it?
-
Baltimore City (rated case by case): City Council discussed data center pros and cons during a Public Health and Environment Committee hearing (reported September 24, 2026, baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab)); and Baltimore City: Baltimore has staunched the creation of data centers within city limits (reported September 24, 2026, baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab)). 8 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), Lumen Technologies, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Lumen Technologies Baltimore Carrier Hotel Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/lumen-technologies-inc-lumen-baltimore-baltimore-md. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 39.2912, -76.6205
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.lumen.com/
- Coordinate source
- Maryland SDAT / Lumen Baltimore specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 6 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Case by case
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection