Data Center Record.

Running Built from one source

Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center

Owings Mills, Baltimore County, MDDeveloper: ExpedientCensus GEOID 24005

Stage
Running
Operational since 2014 (12 years)
Power
6 MW
the developer's figure
Buildings
1 building
operator page, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water

Expedient operates its Baltimore metro enterprise cloud and colocation data center at 11155 Red Run Boulevard in Owings Mills, Baltimore County, Maryland, with 6 MW of critical IT load. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 18 other published records in Maryland
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Commissioned
Operational since 2014 (12 years)
Buildings
1 building operator page, verified October 27, 2026
[1] expedient.com
Power it would draw
6 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
[1] expedient.com
Who leads it
Expedient as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
  1. Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center, capacity: 6 MW.
  2. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  3. 6 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).

Sources:

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 6 MW the developer's figure [1] expedient.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Expedient as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 1 building operator page, verified October 27, 2026 [1] expedient.com (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Baltimore County and Owings Mills about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council unanimously passed a data center moratorium that expires in December 2027. wypr.org (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council voted to extend data center moratorium through December 2027. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council extended moratorium on new data center development through December 31, 2027, passed unanimously September 22 wmar2news.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Planning Board unanimously approved report recommending strict limits on data centers dundalkeagle.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council voted unanimously to extend moratorium on building new data centers through end of 2027 dundalkeagle.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County extended its pause on data center development through end of 2027. baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab)
14 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council voted to extend its moratorium on data centers through 2027 cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council voted unanimously to extend the data center moratorium through at least the end of 2027 wypr.org (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council voted unanimously Tuesday evening to extend the moratorium on building new data centers in the county until December 2027 wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council scheduled a vote for Tuesday to decide whether to extend the data center development moratorium to December 2027, with current moratorium ending January 1. wmar2news.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council will vote on September 23, 2026 to extend its data center moratorium, originally implemented in February 2026, through the end of 2027 to allow time for developing regulations addressing environmental and infrastructure concerns. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Planning Board approved a data center report on September 17, 2026 that recommended stricter oversight. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Planning Board approved a data center report on September 17, 2026 containing 20 amendments. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Planning board is expected to vote on the report on September 17 and send it to the County Council. wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed In February 2026, the Baltimore County Council tasked the planning board to come up with a comprehensive report on data centers and their impacts. wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Planning Board held public hearing on data center study report on September 3, 2026. wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed The Baltimore County Planning Board has yet to finalize the report that was supposed to help determine how data centers should be regulated baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council is seeking to extend its existing moratorium on data centers for another year baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed Baltimore County Council is seeking to extend the county's existing moratorium on data center development for another year to allow time for public input and finalization of Planning Board regulations baltimoresun.com (opens in a new tab)
Baltimore County closed In February, the Council voted to impose a moratorium on data centers while the planning board conducted a report on their impacts wbaltv.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

Every event in order

  • Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    Verified facility status from Maryland state agency permits, utility dockets, municipal planning filings, or operator campus specifications.

    [1] expedient.com

The site

The pin is the site's address.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
11155 Red Run Boulevard, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Owings Mills, Baltimore County, Maryland [1] expedient.com (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, at the address
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center
LAT 39.42450 / LON -76.80120 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 6 MW (the developer's figure, expedient.com (opens in a new tab)) and 1 building (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, expedient.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center?

Expedient is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center say it needs?

Power: 6 MW (the developer's figure, expedient.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center stand today?

It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Owings Mills or Baltimore County decided about it?

Baltimore County (rated closed): Baltimore County Council unanimously passed a data center moratorium that expires in December 2027 (reported October 1, 2026, wypr.org (opens in a new tab)); and Baltimore County: Baltimore County Council voted to extend data center moratorium through December 2027 (September 23, 2026, patch.com (opens in a new tab)). 20 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), Expedient, query feed

1 source on file.

Regional grid context

This site is in the RFC East (RFCE) regional power market. 2024 to 2025 wholesale price effect: 5.1 percent (+$1.81 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. 2028 projected wholesale price effect: 13.3 percent (+$4.61 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.

Sources and data

Sources on this page

Every number on this page comes from a named source. Click any source to open the document in a new tab.

What researchers have found

These studies measure different things. Some model wholesale market prices. Some measure what households actually paid. Some model what would happen under a policy change. The record shows each one as the authors stated it and does not rank them.

Cite this page

Every record on this page carries its sources and the date it was last verified. When you cite it in a story, a study or a public filing, link to this page and give the date you accessed it.

Get this data

Every row on this page is available to download with its source, its basis and the date it was last verified.

Use this data in your work

Free to use and republish with attribution for reporting, research, teaching and public filings under CC BY-NC 4.0. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/expedient-expedient-baltimore-owings-mills-baltimore-md, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/expedient-expedient-baltimore-owings-mills-baltimore-md. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Running
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
39.4245, -76.8012
How the location is known
Location from the site's street address.
Location source
https://www.expedient.com/data-centers/
Coordinate source
Maryland SDAT / Expedient Owings Mills specification
How capacity was disclosed
the developer's figure
Capacity, if disclosed
6 MW, the developer's figure
Rating of the county's rows
Closed
Published
October 21, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · Expedient Baltimore Owings Mills Data Center · 1 source, 1 entry, 20 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON