EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01)
Eden Prairie, Hennepin County, MNDeveloper: EdgeConneXCensus GEOID 27053
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
EdgeConneX operates the EDCMSP01 edge colocation data center at 6875 Shady Oak Road in Eden Prairie, Hennepin County, Minnesota. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 26 other published records in Minnesota
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Power it would draw
- 5 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- [1] edgeconnex.com
- Who leads it
- EdgeConneX as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01), capacity: 5 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 5 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- EdgeConneX (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 5 MW | the developer's figure | [1] edgeconnex.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | EdgeConneX | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 1 building | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | [1] edgeconnex.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Hennepin County and Eden Prairie about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis | The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city | yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Minneapolis | Minneapolis Planning Commission will meet October 13 to consider new zoning ordinances for possible future data centers | yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Minneapolis | The Minneapolis City Council passed a six month ban on data centers larger than 350,000 square feet. | mprnews.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Minneapolis | The six month freeze in Minneapolis does not apply to downtown data centers that occupy less than 350,000 square feet. | yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Minneapolis | Minneapolis City Council passed a temporary freeze on new data center development in June 2026. | yahoo.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Minneapolis | North Loop residents held community meeting over data center | cbsnews.com (opens in a new tab) |
1 earlier decision on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis | Minneapolis City Council halts new data center developments until November | mndaily.com (opens in a new tab) |
June 15, 2026 Minneapolis, MN Meta to build data center on former University of Minnesota land
In Minneapolis, Hennepin County (MN), Minneapolis City Council and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session.
- Minneapolis City Council Officials and Speakers Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
"CITY SUBURB, META, FACEBOOK'S COMPANY, IS COMING TO ROSEMOUNT PLANNING TO BUILD A DATA CENTER ALONG COUNTY ROAD 42 THAT IS JUST EAST OF DAKOTA COUNTY TECHNICAL COLLEGE. WCCO'S KRISTEN MITCHELL WAS AT THE ANNOUNCEMENT THIS MORNING AND HAS MORE . HI, KIRSTEN. >> Reporter: OFFICIALS ARE CALLING THIS $800 MILLION INVESTMENT A SIGNIFICANT WIN FOR ROSEMOUNT AND THE BROADER COMMUNITY. THIS PLOT OF LAND"
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
"GROW BUSINESSES. THIS PROJECT HAS BEEN UNDER WRAPS FOR YEARS, EVEN HAD A CODING CALLED PROJECT BIGFOOT HAD SOME COMMUNITY MEMBERS EXPRESS CONCERNS ABOUT THE SECRECY OF THIS PROJECT AS WELL AS THE DATA CENTER'S IMPACT ON NOISE, ENVIRONMENT, AND ELECTRICAL USAGE. EXPERTS SAY THEY LOOKED AT OTHER DATA CENTERS AND ARE WORKING WITH EXCEL TO MAKE SURE"
Using this data in a report? Support the record.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
-
Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Verified facility status from Minnesota state agency permits, utility dockets, municipal planning filings, or operator campus specifications.
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 6875 Shady Oak Road, Eden Prairie, MN 55344, Eden Prairie, Hennepin County, Minnesota [1] edgeconnex.com (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- US Signal and OneNeck Eden Prairie Data Center (VISI), 0.2 mi
- DataBank Twin Cities Edina Data Center (MSP1), 3.8 mi
- Centersquare Minneapolis Shakopee Data Center (MSP1), 7.5 mi
- Flexential Minneapolis Chaska Data Center (MSP01), 9.2 mi
- T5 Data Centers Minneapolis (T5@Minneapolis), 9.2 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 5 MW (the developer's figure, edgeconnex.com (opens in a new tab)) and 1 building (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, edgeconnex.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01)?
-
EdgeConneX is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01) say it needs?
-
Power: 5 MW (the developer's figure, edgeconnex.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01) stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Eden Prairie or Hennepin County decided about it?
-
Minneapolis (rated restrictive): The city council approved a temporary moratorium on data centers in most of the city (reported September 15, 2026, yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)); and Minneapolis: Minneapolis Planning Commission will meet October 13 to consider new zoning ordinances for possible future data centers (reported September 15, 2026, yahoo.com (opens in a new tab)). 7 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01) Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), EdgeConneX, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "EdgeConneX Minneapolis Data Center (EDCMSP01)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/edgeconnex-inc-edgeconnex-minneapolis-edcmsp01-eden-prairie-mn. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 44.878844, -93.404156
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.edgeconnex.com/locations/americas/minneapolis-mn/
- Coordinate source
- EdgeConneX EDCMSP01 specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 5 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Restrictive
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection