Data Center Record.

Proposed Built from one source

Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus

Pittsburg, Contra Costa County, CADeveloper: Avaio Digital PartnersCensus GEOID 06013

Stage
Proposed
Power
96 MW
the developer's figure
Buildings
2 buildings
zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water

Avaio Digital Partners received City of Pittsburg entitlements for a 2 building, 96 MW hyperscale data center campus on the former USS Posco steel mill site in Pittsburg, Contra Costa County, California. It is approved, since June 17, 2026.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

1 hearing on the record, 2026

Last verified · 1 source, 0 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 68 other published records in California
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
2 buildings zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026
Power it would draw
96 MW the developer's figure About 1 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
Who leads it
Avaio Digital Partners as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
  1. Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus, capacity: 96 MW.
  2. New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
  3. 96 ÷ 10,245 = 0.01 (MW over MW).

Sources:

A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).

Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 96 MW the developer's figure pittsburgca.gov (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Avaio Digital Partners as stated by the source October 27, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 2 buildings zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026 pittsburgca.gov (opens in a new tab) October 27, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Contra Costa County and Pittsburg about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Richmond restrictive Richmond recently adopted a temporary moratorium while officials develop local rules kalw.org (opens in a new tab)
Oakley Oakley approved industrial development project that ditched data center inclusion kalw.org (opens in a new tab)
April 14, 2026 Oakley, CA Oakley City Council Temporary Data Center Ban Hearing Oakley City Council 3clips

Following months of resident pushback against a proposed hyperscale data center near the Sacramento San Joaquin River Delta, the Oakley City Council met on April 14, 2026 to consider an interim moratorium banning new data center approvals.

  1. Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
    "COUNCIL WILL CONSIDER A TEMPORARY BAN ON DATA CENTERS. IT COMES AFTER MONTHS OF DEBATE OVER A MASSIVE DEVELOPMENT NEAR THE DELTA. BRAD HAMILTON SPOKE WITH COMMUNITY MEMBERS ON BOTH SIDES OF THE DEBATE. >> Reporter: JUST STEPS AWAY FROM HIS HOME JASPER WILLOWBROOK WALKED US ALONG THE EDGE OF WHAT COULD LOOK VERY DIFFERENT. >> THIS IS A DIFFERENT CONTRIBUTION COMPANY."
  2. Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
    "CONTRIBUTION COMPANY. >> Reporter: IN MARCH OAKLEY'S CITY COUNCIL APPROVED A CONTROVERSIAL PLAN TO REZONE 164 ACRES OF PLANNED NEAR BIG BREAK REGIONAL PARK, CLEARING THE WAY FOR A POSSIBLE SALE. RIGHT NOW IT'S AGING VINEYARDS. WHAT COULD COME NEXT, AN INDUSTRIAL SPACE THAT INITIALLY INCLUDED THE IDEA OF A DATA CENTER. >> THIS IS TOO CLOSE TO OUR HOMES. THERE'S TOO MUCH POLLUTION ASSOCIATED WITH JUST WAREHOUSING LIGHT INJURED."
  3. Oakley City Council Member Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
    ">> Reporter: AFTER SEVERAL WEEKS OF COMMUNITY PUSHBACK, LED BY JASPER AND OTHERS, CITY COUNCIL MOVED TO REMOVE DATA CENTERS FROM THE PROJECT. NOW THEY'RE CONSIDERING GOING A STEP FURTHER. A VOTE TONIGHT FOR A TEMPORARY CITYWIDE MORATORIUM PROHIBITING DATA CENTERS. >> WE'RE HAPPY FOR A MORATORIUM ON ON CENTERS EVEN IF IT'S TEMPORARY. WE WOULD LIKE TO SEE A PERMANENT ONE. BUT WE ARE STILL UPSET"

What happened

  1. · Status: approved (content date)

    Avaio Digital's data center, approved by Pittsburg in 2024, is planned on the former Delta View Golf Course site as a three story facility generating 96 MW with 37 diesel fueled backup generators, and faces community opposition seeking a ban.

    [1] abc7news.com

The full Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus timeline, in order

The site

The pin is the site's address.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
695 Loveridge Road, Pittsburg, CA 94565, Pittsburg, Contra Costa County, California [source] (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, at the address
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus
LAT 38.02850 / LON -121.85420 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 96 MW (the developer's figure, pittsburgca.gov (opens in a new tab)) and 2 buildings (zoning filing, verified October 27, 2026, pittsburgca.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus?

Avaio Digital Partners is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus say it needs?

Power: 96 MW (the developer's figure, pittsburgca.gov (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

What has Pittsburg or Contra Costa County decided about it?

Richmond (rated restrictive): Richmond recently adopted a temporary moratorium while officials develop local rules (reported September 22, 2026, kalw.org (opens in a new tab)); and Oakley: Oakley approved industrial development project that ditched data center inclusion (reported September 16, 2026, kalw.org (opens in a new tab)). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Massive data center projects spark backlash and protest from Pittsburg and Gilroy communities - ABC7 Bay Area (opens in a new tab), ABC7 Bay Area, June 17, 2026, query feed

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/avaio-digital-pittsburg-data-center-ca, last verified October 27, 2026. CSV · JSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/avaio-digital-pittsburg-data-center-ca. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
38.0285, -121.8542
How the location is known
Location from the site's street address.
Location source
https://www.pittsburgca.gov/
Coordinate source
City of Pittsburg Planning Commission / Former USS Posco Redevelopment Docket
How capacity was disclosed
the developer's figure
Capacity, if disclosed
96 MW, the developer's figure
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
September 27, 2026
Last verified
October 27, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection

Researcher view · Avaio Digital Pittsburg Bay Area Data Center Campus · 1 source, 1 entry, 2 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 27, 2026

Download CSV JSON