Data Center Record.

Data centers in Rhode Island

Rhode Island has 1 data center site, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 1 proposed. It is in Providence County. The largest proposal is Data Center in Woods of Smithfield in Providence County; it is reported.

No statewide rule on the record. 2 cities have a pause or a ban on new data centers.

1 site the EPA's registry shows and no record has verified is on the map apart from the count. What not yet verified means.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Projects and campuses on the record

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
Data Center in Woods of Smithfield Smithfield, Providence CountyProposed

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 1 Rhode Island project.

Every Rhode Island record 1 record, and 1 site not yet verified listed apart · sort by any column · blank cell: not disclosed

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
Citizens Bank Data CenterEast Providence, ProvidenceNot yet verifiedEPA registry22026-10-20
Data Center in Woods of SmithfieldSmithfield, ProvidenceProposedcentroid42026-09-17

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every Rhode Island county (5)

1 of 5 counties has a record. A county without one is listed, not linked, until its first published record. No county in Rhode Island has a rule, a statement by an official or a rating on the record yet.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjects
Providence County440071
Bristol County440010
Kent County440030
Newport County440050
Washington County440090

A county without a record is listed, not linked.

The rules in Rhode Island 3 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
Rhode Islandstatenot ratedRhode Island bills set a mandatory 50 megawatt threshold for data center cost recovery, stricter than the federal 100 MW standard. upriseri.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Reported Sep 233 acts on this row
Every act on the Rhode Island row
  1. event

    Rhode Island bills set a mandatory 50 megawatt threshold for data center cost recovery, stricter than the federal 100 MW standard

    upriseri.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. event

    Rhode Island legislature failed to pass operational guardrails for data centers

    route-fifty.com (opens in a new tab) national outlet

  3. event

    Senate bill S2776, introduced on March 4, contained similar electric cost provisions for facilities meeting the 50 megawatt threshold.

    upriseri.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

32026-09-23
SmithfieldcityclosedSmithfield passed a data center ban ordinance on May 5. thewesterlysun.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet May 5, 20261 act on this row
Every act on the Smithfield row
  1. moratorium adopted

    Smithfield passed a data center ban ordinance on May 5

    thewesterlysun.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

12026-09-23
Hopkintoncityrestrictive until November 3, 20262026-11-03Hopkinton Council adopted a 60 day data center moratorium. upriseri.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet Sep 4, 20262 acts on this row
Every act on the Hopkinton row
  1. moratorium adopted

    Hopkinton Council adopted a 60 day data center moratorium

    upriseri.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. moratorium

    Hopkinton Town Council voted on July 6 to direct planning board to study and recommend a data center ban ordinance

    thewesterlysun.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Last verified September 23, 2026.

22026-09-23

Reported: the source's date; the item names no day of its own. A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

Rhode Island laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in Rhode Island

none signed into law yet, 6 bills tracked

6 bills tracked in the Rhode Island legislature, none signed into law yet, grouped by where each stands. A row opens its own page; the Rhode Island laws page has what each law requires.

In committee 6, 5 shown here

1 more in committee on the Rhode Island laws page.

6 bills tracked, 0 signed · LegiScan, CC BY 4.0

NumberSessionStatusDateTitle
S. 2776 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-03-04 Requires that certain data centers requiring large amounts of electricity be required to fund the cost of necessary infrastructure improvements to supply such electricity.
H. 7695 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-02-11 Establishes property, tangible, sales and use tax exemptions as incentives for the location of qualified data centers in Rhode Island.
S. 2346 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-01-30 Establishes property, tangible, sales and use tax exemptions as incentives for the location of qualified data centers in Rhode Island.
H. 7331 2026 Regular Session In committee 2026-01-28 Requires that certain data centers requiring large amounts of electricity be required to fund the cost of necessary infrastructure improvements to supply such electricity.
S. 921 2025 Regular Session In committee 2025-03-28 Creates qualified data centers and tax exemptions.
H. 6097 2025 Regular Session In committee 2025-03-14 Creates qualified data centers and tax exemptions.

6 bills tracked in Rhode Island; 2026 Regular Session, legislature adjourned; last checked October 26, 2026. The last check found no bill not already tracked; the 6 tracked bills stand. Search terms: data center, data centre, large load, hyperscale, computing facility, server farm, high load factor (indirect), energy intensive facility (indirect), large electric load (indirect), digital asset mining (indirect), cryptocurrency mining (indirect), qualified technology facility (indirect), colocation (indirect), moratorium (with another term), sales tax exemption (with another term). The search on LegiScan. (opens in a new tab)

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

How this state's members voted

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. House of Representatives, roll call 312, September 16, 2026. On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass, as Amended. Passed, 417 to 3. Rhode Island's members: 2 yea, 0 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
AmoDYea
MagazinerDYea

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

H.R. 9340, Ratepayer Protection Act: U.S. Senate, roll call 254, September 30, 2026. On Cloture on the Motion to Proceed H.R. 9340. Cloture on the Motion to Proceed Rejected, 57 to 43. Rhode Island's members: 0 yea, 2 nay. How each member voted

MemberPartyPosition
Reed (D-RI)DNay
Whitehouse (D-RI)DNay

A blank party cell means the clerk's roll gives none.

Positions as the clerk records them. How bills and votes are recorded.

What was said

White House Ratepayer Protection Pledge signed by Amazon, Google, Meta, Microsoft, OpenAI, Oracle and xAI on March 4, 2026
White House · September 23, 2026 · paraphrased · Uprise RI (opens in a new tab) local outlet
Lou DiPalma, Rhode Island state senator, said he and others submitted both successful and unsuccessful data center tech proposals in 2026
Lou DiPalma, Rhode Island State Senator · July 15, 2026 · paraphrased · Route Fifty (opens in a new tab) national outlet

Every Rhode Island statement, by speaker (3)

1 more on this page, one per speaker and claim; 3 statements in all

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in Rhode Island: Governor (5), U.S. Senate (3), U.S. House, District 1 (3), U.S. House, District 2 (2); 0 of 13 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Questions about Rhode Island data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in Rhode Island?

1 project is on the record in Rhode Island: 1 reported and 1 not yet verified. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in Rhode Island are they?

Records are in 1 county: Providence County (1). The county table lists every county with its count, zero included. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in Rhode Island?

Not disclosed. None of the 1 record on file for Rhode Island states a power figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in Rhode Island say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 1 record on file for Rhode Island states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in Rhode Island?

Not disclosed. None of the 1 record on file for Rhode Island states a developer. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in Rhode Island have rules about data centers?

2 county and city rows are on the record: Smithfield is rated closed: Smithfield passed a data center ban ordinance on May 5, source (opens in a new tab) and Hopkinton is rated restrictive: Hopkinton Council adopted a 60 day data center moratorium, September 4, 2026, source (opens in a new tab). Every row and its dated events are on the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in Rhode Island, by county?

1 record is not yet running. Providence County: Data Center in Woods of Smithfield (reported). A county name opens its page with the map and every record there. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of Rhode Island itself decided?

No bill on data centers has been signed into law in Rhode Island yet. 6 bills are tracked under Laws: 6 in committee. The state's own scorecard row carries 3 dated acts, the newest reported September 23, 2026. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 1 record

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power01
Water, stated per day01
Water, stated per year01
Permanent jobs01
Tax each year01

A blank cell means no record in Rhode Island disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power01
Water, stated per day01
Water, stated per year01
Permanent jobs01
Tax each year01

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 1 tracked facility in Rhode Island is for. 1 site not yet verified is named apart and is not in that number.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use1

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 1 tracked facility in Rhode Island is cooled. 1 site not yet verified is named apart and is not in that number.

Sources read for Rhode Island

6 sources

6 sources are read for Rhode Island:

Newspapers
The Call
Public broadcaster
The Publics Radio
Utility commission dockets
Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission
Economic development
Rhode Island Executive Office of Commerce
Search feeds
2 news searches
Every feed, with its kind and tier

What the monitor reads for Rhode Island: feeds every four hours, pages daily.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in Rhode Island", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/ri, updated October 3, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in Rhode Island", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/ri. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
RI
Rating of the state's own row
None, no statewide rule
Count by status
reported 1, not yet verified 1
Located records
0 located, 1 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · Rhode Island · 1 data center site, 0 buildings where disclosed, 3 rule rows, 6 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 3, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON