Data Center Record.

Data centers in District of Columbia

District of Columbia has 3 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed on the record: 3 running.

District of Columbia decides case by case. From the state's own rule: The Council of the District of Columbia and district agencies review commercial colocation siting, utility substation load, and zoning rules on a case by case basis, June 15, 2026.

State register coverage: District of Columbia's air permit, parcel, utility, water, and operator registers name 3 facilities; 3 are on the record (0 buildings where disclosed), and 0 sit not yet verified.

How to read this page. Every count comes from the records on this page and links to where it is counted. Nothing is published until a person reads its source, and a figure no source gives reads Not disclosed; nothing is estimated. A rating changes only when a person sets it.

Every District of Columbia record 3 records · blank cell: not disclosed · sort by any column

Facility and countyStageOperatorPower (MW)Latest entry
CoreSite Washington DC1 Data Center Washington, District of Columbia Running CoreSite
CoreSite Washington DC2 Data Center Washington, District of Columbia Running CoreSite
Zayo Washington DC Colocation Facility (2100 M Street NW) Washington, District of Columbia Running Zayo Group

A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file. Power is the developer's figure or a permit's, each linked on the record. All 3 District of Columbia projects.

RecordPlaceStageOperatorMWBasisLocatedTierVerified
CoreSite Washington DC1 Data Center Washington, District of Columbia Running CoreSite site 2 2026-10-28
CoreSite Washington DC2 Data Center Washington, District of Columbia Running CoreSite site 2 2026-10-28
Zayo Washington DC Colocation Facility (2100 M Street NW) Washington, District of Columbia Running Zayo Group site 3 2026-10-28

Tier 1: an official or company source. Tier 2: a news report resolving to the outlet's own page. Located: a site coordinate from a permit, a parcel or an address, or the county or town centroid. Verified: the last day a person read the source. A blank cell means not disclosed by any source on file.

Every District of Columbia county (1)

No county in District of Columbia has a record yet. A county gets its own page with the first published record.

CountyCensus GEOIDProjectsRules
District of Columbia1100101

A county without a record is listed, not linked.

The rules in District of Columbia 2 rows · rating rests only on a binding act in force

What the state and its counties and cities have decided. Each row is rated by what it has decided, open, case by case, restrictive or closed, never by whether that is good or bad.

BodyLevelRatingIn force untilLatest actActsVerified
District of Columbiastatecase by caseThe Council of the District of Columbia and district agencies review commercial colocation siting, utility substation load, and zoning rules on a case by case basis. dccouncil.gov (opens in a new tab) primary source Jun 15, 20262026-10-28
Washingtoncitycase by caseIn Washington, District of Columbia (DC), Washington City Council and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session. youtube.com (opens in a new tab) query feed Jun 15, 20261 act on this row
Every act on the Washington row
  1. ordinance

    In Washington, District of Columbia (DC), Washington City Council and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session.

    youtube.com (opens in a new tab) query feed

Last verified October 28, 2026.

12026-10-28

A rating rests only on a binding act in force; "not rated" means no person has set one. A blank cell means the record holds nothing for it.

June 15, 2026 Washington, DC Montgomery County passes 18 month pause on data center development | NBC4 Washington Washington City Council 3 clips

In Washington, District of Columbia (DC), Washington City Council and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session.

  1. Washington City Council Applicant and Economic Development Presentation Developer Representative auto captions, unchecked
    "And it passed unanimously. >> The Montgomery County Council banning new data center development for the next year and a half. >> Nothing will happen until we answer all the questions our community deserves. There are a lot of questions about what happens to the water in the Potomac River, what happens to our utility"
  2. Washington City Council Official Deliberation Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
    ">> The vote was a compromise after some council members pushed for a longer moratorium to give the county time to figure out a comprehensive way to deal with hyperscale data centers in the future. >> What we did was personally merge them. And uh we compromised, and we went from 6 months to 2 years, and the compromise was 18 months. >> No data center, no data data center."
  3. Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
    "is doing a comprehensive study on the impacts of data centers. That report is due sometime in September. >> There was a time when data centers received tax incentives to come. Now we're we want to make sure because of the energy usage uh that there's adequate public benefit in addition to protecting our community, and we need to work with the state uh and with this body to make sure that that happens."

All 1 District of Columbia public hearing on the record

District of Columbia laws and the full scorecard

Bills and laws in District of Columbia

none on the record yet

No statute, commission order, tariff, tax rule, moratorium or bill on data centers at the state level is on the record for District of Columbia yet. The District of Columbia laws page is where one appears when a person publishes it.

0 bills tracked in District of Columbia. No automated check of the legislature has run yet; the bill watch is switched off until its key is set, and every bill here was read by a person.

Bill data from LegiScan (opens in a new tab), licensed CC BY 4.0 (opens in a new tab). The record chooses the bills, writes each stage in its own words and cites the legislature's own page for every bill.

What was said

Experts say infrastructure is not keeping pace with data center expansion
Experts · September 2, 2026 · paraphrased · NBC4 Washington (opens in a new tab) local outlet

Every District of Columbia statement, by speaker (1)

On the November 3, 2026 ballot in District of Columbia: U.S. Senate (2), U.S. House, at large (5); 0 of 7 candidates with a statement on data centers on the record. Every candidate.

Already running in District of Columbia

3 sites are serving load, 3 of them in District of Columbia.

See the 3 running sites
  1. CoreSite Washington DC1 Data Center Washington, District of Columbia Running · Operational since 2007 (19 years)
  2. CoreSite Washington DC2 Data Center Washington, District of Columbia Running · Operational since 2016 (10 years)
  3. Zayo Washington DC Colocation Facility (2100 M Street NW) Washington, District of Columbia Running · Operational since 2014 (12 years)

Questions about District of Columbia data centers

How many data center projects are on the record in District of Columbia?

3 projects are on the record in District of Columbia: 3 running. Each is listed under Projects with its status history and sources. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Where in District of Columbia are they?

The county is not disclosed for the 3 records on file. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much power is disclosed for data centers in District of Columbia?

Not disclosed. None of the 3 records on file for District of Columbia states a power figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

How much water do data centers in District of Columbia say they will use?

Not disclosed. None of the 3 records on file for District of Columbia states a water figure. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Who is building data centers in District of Columbia?

2 developers are named on the record: CoreSite (2 records) and Zayo Group. Each name opens the record, where the developer's source is listed. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Which counties and cities in District of Columbia have rules about data centers?

1 county or city row is on the record: Washington is rated case by case: In Washington, District of Columbia (DC), Washington City Council and local residents debated municipal data center siting, utility infrastructure load, water consumption, and zoning rules during the June 15, 2026 session, source (opens in a new tab). The state's own row is rated case by case, with 0 dated acts listed under the scorecard. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What is proposed or being built near me in District of Columbia, by county?

Nothing on the record in District of Columbia is proposed, waiting on permits, approved or being built; every record is running or cancelled. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

What has the state of District of Columbia itself decided?

No statute, commission order, tariff, tax rule, moratorium or bill on data centers at the state level is on the record for District of Columbia yet; the laws page is where one appears when a person publishes it. The state's own scorecard row carries no dated act yet. Resources: the questions people ask about data centers

answered from the rows above

Disclosed figures

nothing disclosed by 3 records

summed only where a record disclosed the figure

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power03
Water, stated per day03
Water, stated per year03
Permanent jobs03
Tax each year03

A blank cell means no record in District of Columbia disclosed the figure. Third party figures on the same metrics are listed apart below; a figure a project disclosed about itself is never mixed with them.

FigureDisclosed totalDisclosedWithout a figureBasis
Power03
Water, stated per day03
Water, stated per year03
Permanent jobs03
Tax each year03

A blank total means no record disclosed the figure; the count without one says how many.

Summed only where a record disclosed the figure; a record with no figure adds nothing and is counted as not disclosed. Water is summed per day and per year separately, as the sources stated it, and never converted. A tax claim given as a range is summed at both ends.

The disclosed totals are in the table above.

No source on file states what any of the 3 tracked facilities in District of Columbia are for.

What each use disclosed

UseRecordsPowerWaterJobsTax each year
No stated use3

A blank cell means no record with that use disclosed the figure.

A record that lists several uses counts once under each. Each cell is the sum over the records with that use, disclosed rows only.

No source on file states how any of the 3 tracked facilities in District of Columbia are cooled.

Sources read for District of Columbia

1 source

1 source is read for District of Columbia:

Search feeds
1 news search
Every feed, with its kind and tier

What the monitor reads for District of Columbia: feeds every four hours, pages daily.

Regional power markets covering District of Columbia

  • RFC East (RFCE): 5.1 percent (+$1.81 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. Projected 2028: 13.3 percent (+$4.61 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.
  • PJM Interconnection (PJM): 7.6 percent (+$2.66 per MWh, 2024 to 2025), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate. Projected 2028: 17.5 percent (+$6.02 per MWh, 2028 projected), modeled wholesale price effect, Dallas Fed WP 2606r1, third party estimate.

Sources and data

Sources on this page

Every number on this page comes from a named source. Click any source to open the document in a new tab.

What researchers have found

These studies measure different things. Some model wholesale market prices. Some measure what households actually paid. Some model what would happen under a policy change. The record shows each one as the authors stated it and does not rank them.

Cite this page

Every record on this page carries its sources and the date it was last verified. When you cite it in a story, a study or a public filing, link to this page and give the date you accessed it.

Get this data

Every row on this page is available to download with its source, its basis and the date it was last verified.

Use this data in your work

Free to use and republish with attribution for reporting, research, teaching and public filings under CC BY-NC 4.0. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Only what a source states, with its basis. Nothing is estimated, and a figure no source gives reads not disclosed.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Data centers in District of Columbia", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/dc, updated October 28, 2026. CSV · JSON · GeoJSON
Using this data in a report? Support the record. Commercial use needs a license.
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Data center records in District of Columbia", https://datacenterrecord.org/states/dc. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
State code
DC
Rating of the state's own row
Case by case
Count by status
running 3
Located records
3 located, 0 at a centroid, 0 without coordinates

Researcher view · District of Columbia · 3 data center sites, 0 buildings where disclosed, 2 rule rows, 0 bills · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 28, 2026

Download CSV JSON GeoJSON