Data Center Record.

Reported In courtBuilt from one source

T5 Grayslake data center

T5 and the village of Grayslake are moving forward with a data center development that has received its first permit in what is described as an $18 billion development, while a resident lawsuit is ongoing. It is reported, as reported August 30, 2026. Residents filed lawsuit against T5 with hearing scheduled for November 2026 (reported September 18, 2026).

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 7 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
472 acres
not disclosed [3]
Power it would draw
1.2 GW
not disclosed [3]
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
T5
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 1.2 GW not disclosed [3] thebrockovichreport.com October 6, 2026
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it T5 as stated by the source October 6, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land 472 acres not disclosed [3] thebrockovichreport.com October 6, 2026
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Lake County and Grayslake about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Lake County restrictive Lake County approved an eight month data center moratorium patch.com
Lake County restrictive Moratorium will remain in effect through May 2027 patch.com
Lake County restrictive Lake County Board approved an eight month moratorium on data center development in unincorporated areas patch.com
Lake County restrictive The moratorium puts any potential data center applications in unincorporated Lake County on hold until May 2027 cities929.com
Lake County restrictive Lake County board approved an eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated areas cities929.com
Lake County restrictive Lake County board approved eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated areas, effective through May 2027. thecentersquare.com
9 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Grayslake The Grayslake Village Board was set to hold a one time extended public comment session on August 20 for the public to speak on the approved T5 @ Chicago IV data center campus lakemchenryscanner.com
Lake County restrictive A lawsuit was filed late last month by Lake County residents and a corporation seeking to block the development of the T5 @ Chicago IV data center campus lakemchenryscanner.com
Grayslake The village announced on August 19 that it was regretfully postponing the extended public comment session due to safety concerns lakemchenryscanner.com
Lake County restrictive Lake County Zoning Board of Appeals voted 6-0 to recommend a temporary eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated county areas on August 18, 2026 chronicleillinois.com
Lake County restrictive Lake County has not received any proposals to develop a data center in unincorporated Lake County to date lakecountyil.gov
Lake County restrictive Currently, data centers are not specifically defined or regulated under Lake County Code lakecountyil.gov
Lake County restrictive Proposed eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated Lake County would put hold on data center applications until May 2027 lakecountyil.gov
Lake County restrictive Lake County Board administrative hold placed on data center construction for 120 days on June 9, 2026 chronicleillinois.com
Grayslake The zoning objection period was 90 days and that time period has long passed mundelein.org

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Residents filed lawsuit against T5 with hearing scheduled for November 2026 [3]

  2. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    T5 @ Chicago IV data center campus was given approvals in 2024 and 2025 by the Grayslake Village Board [1]

The full T5 Grayslake data center timeline, in order

7 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is patch.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Illinois, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is patch.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Illinois, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  7. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

T5 stated it has a separate rate agreement with ComEd and will pay for all power consumed.
Peter Marin, T5 CEO · September 28, 2026 · paraphrased · NBC 5 Chicago local outlet
Daniel Didech said he is going to push for passage of the POWER Act when the General Assembly returns to Springfield for the fall veto session
Daniel Didech, Illinois State Representative · August 30, 2026 · paraphrased · lakemchenryscanner.com local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Illinois, by speaker

3 more statements on this page

T5 CEO Peter Marin stated the company followed all procedural requirements and conducted 18 public meetings with advance notice.

September 28, 2026, NBC 5 Chicago · NBC 5 Chicago local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; content date; reported from elsewhere)

Robin D. Meier, Mayor of Mundelein

The Village of Mundelein found out about this project after it was approved, permits issued, and construction started

June 2, 2026, www.mundelein.org · www.mundelein.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Robin D. Meier, Mayor of Mundelein

Mundelein does not get any money or revenue from the Grayslake T5 Data Center project

June 2, 2026, www.mundelein.org · www.mundelein.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Lake County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 26 other published records in Illinois
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Grayslake, Lake County, Illinois
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is T5 Grayslake data center?

The record has 2 measures of its size: 1.2 GW (not disclosed, source) and 472 acres (not disclosed, source). Each figure names who gave it and links to the source.

Who is building T5 Grayslake data center?

T5 is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does T5 Grayslake data center say it needs?

Power: 1.2 GW (not disclosed, source). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does T5 Grayslake data center stand today?

It is reported, as reported August 30, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 18, 2026: Residents filed lawsuit against T5 with hearing scheduled for November 2026 [3].

What has Grayslake or Lake County decided about it?

Lake County (rated restrictive): Lake County approved an eight month data center moratorium (reported September 11, 2026, source); and Lake County: Moratorium will remain in effect through May 2027 (reported September 10, 2026, source). 15 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Lawmaker says Grayslake mega data center 'should not proceed' without answers on power, water and noise - lakemchenryscanner.com, lakemchenryscanner.com, August 30, 2026, local outlet
  2. Information related to the Grayslake T5 data center., www.mundelein.org, June 2, 2026, local outlet
  3. Don’t Underestimate a 55+ Community Fighting a 1.2 GW AI Hyperscale Data Center - The Brockovich Report, The Brockovich Report, September 18, 2026, local outlet
  4. T5 Data Centers plans to build a 480 MW capacity data center campus in Illinois - EdgeIR, EdgeIR, May 8, 2024, local outlet
  5. Grayslake, T5 moving forward with data center development in the midst of resident lawsuit - The Real Deal, The Real Deal, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  6. Grayslake Data Center Gets First Permit In $18B Development - Patch, Patch, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  7. Lake County Approves 8 Month Data Center Moratorium - Patch, Patch, September 10, 2026, local outlet

7 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "T5 Grayslake data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/t5-grayslake-data-center-il, last verified October 6, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "T5 Grayslake data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/t5-grayslake-data-center-il. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
t5-grayslake-data-center-il
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
court, skeleton
Place id
us/il/lake-county/grayslake
Coordinates
42.36363, -87.84479
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Waukegan), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
not_disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
1.2 GW, not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-10-06