Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)

Meta operates a bootcamp in Indianapolis to train data center technicians, reflecting workforce development for its data center operations. It is reported, as reported June 9, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 2 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Meta
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Meta as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

Jobs once it runs, also reported: 1,500 acres, 2026 (www.wfyi.org: Meta Lebanon data center is 1500 acres and will lead to 4000 construction jobs); 1,200 jobs, 2026 (www.wfyi.org: Meta Jeffersonville data center anticipates about 1200 construction workers) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Marion County and Indianapolis about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Indianapolis MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center insideindianabusiness.com
Indianapolis Indianapolis approved construction of three data centers before agreeing to a moratorium through 2027 inputfortwayne.com

What happened

  1. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Meta broke ground on a 10 billion dollar data center in Lebanon in February [1]

The full Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce) timeline, in order

1 correction to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

The four to five week program will cover costs and requires no experience
Meta · June 9, 2026 · paraphrased · www.wfyi.org local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Indiana, by speaker

5 more statements on this page

Meta expects to recruit thousands of people for the program

June 9, 2026, www.wfyi.org · www.wfyi.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Meta will launch the academy with pilot programs in Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio and Texas

June 9, 2026, www.wfyi.org · www.wfyi.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Graduates are guaranteed a job at one of Meta's data center construction sites

June 9, 2026, www.wfyi.org · www.wfyi.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Meta invested 115 million dollars to create America's Workforce Academy

June 9, 2026, www.wfyi.org · www.wfyi.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Meta

Louisiana will host the first cohort

June 9, 2026, www.wfyi.org · www.wfyi.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Marion County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 10 other published records in Indiana
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

2 metrics with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Construction jobs

1 figure, 1 source
1,200 jobsReported

www.wfyi.org, Jun 9, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 1,200 jobs, www.wfyi.org: Meta Jeffersonville data center anticipates about 1200 construction workers

Permanent jobs

1 figure, 1 source
1,500 acresReported

www.wfyi.org, Jun 9, 2026

Show each source's words
  • 1,500 acres, www.wfyi.org: Meta Lebanon data center is 1500 acres and will lead to 4000 construction jobs

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)?

Meta is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

Who will use Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce) say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce) stand today?

It is reported, as reported June 9, 2026. The newest entry, reported June 9, 2026: Meta broke ground on a 10 billion dollar data center in Lebanon in February [1].

What has Indianapolis or Marion County decided about it?

Indianapolis: MDC passed 10 year property tax abatement and 15 year enhanced personal property tax abatement for Indianapolis data center (reported September 16, 2026, source); and Indianapolis: Indianapolis approved construction of three data centers before agreeing to a moratorium through 2027 (reported August 29, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Meta starts data center workforce development program in Indiana, www.wfyi.org, June 9, 2026, local outlet
  2. Inside Meta’s Indianapolis bootcamp for data center technicians - Indiana Capital Chronicle, Indiana Capital Chronicle, June 11, 2026, local outlet

2 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-indianapolis-data-center-workforce-in, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Meta Indianapolis data center (workforce)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/meta-indianapolis-data-center-workforce-in. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
meta-indianapolis-data-center-workforce-in
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/in/marion-county/indianapolis
Coordinates
39.76861, -86.15806
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Indianapolis), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-17