Data Center Record.

Not yet verified Built from one source

HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center

Vernon Hills, Lake County, ILCensus GEOID 17097

Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Buildings, Water

The EPA's facility registry lists HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center at 475 Corporate Woods Parkway, Vernon Hills, IL 60061 in Vernon Hills, Illinois, with a water permit. It is not yet verified: a public source shows this site exists and names no stage for it, such as a permit on file or an operator's list that calls it in consideration; its current status has not been confirmed from a record.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 1 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Not yet verified, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 38 other published records in Illinois
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who leads it, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind it A land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Lake County and Vernon Hills about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Lake County restrictive Lake County approved an eight month data center moratorium patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Moratorium will remain in effect through May 2027 patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Lake County Board approved an eight month moratorium on data center development in unincorporated areas patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive The moratorium puts any potential data center applications in unincorporated Lake County on hold until May 2027 cities929.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Lake County board approved an eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated areas cities929.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Lake County board approved eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated areas, effective through May 2027. thecentersquare.com (opens in a new tab)
9 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Grayslake The Grayslake Village Board was set to hold a one time extended public comment session on August 20 for the public to speak on the approved T5 @ Chicago IV data center campus lakemchenryscanner.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive A lawsuit was filed late last month by Lake County residents and a corporation seeking to block the development of the T5 @ Chicago IV data center campus lakemchenryscanner.com (opens in a new tab)
Grayslake The village announced on August 19 that it was regretfully postponing the extended public comment session due to safety concerns lakemchenryscanner.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Lake County Zoning Board of Appeals voted 6-0 to recommend a temporary eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated county areas on August 18, 2026 chronicleillinois.com (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Lake County has not received any proposals to develop a data center in unincorporated Lake County to date lakecountyil.gov (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Currently, data centers are not specifically defined or regulated under Lake County Code lakecountyil.gov (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Proposed eight month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated Lake County would put hold on data center applications until May 2027 lakecountyil.gov (opens in a new tab)
Lake County restrictive Lake County Board administrative hold placed on data center construction for 120 days on June 9, 2026 chronicleillinois.com (opens in a new tab)
Grayslake The zoning objection period was 90 days and that time period has long passed mundelein.org (opens in a new tab)

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA water permit.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
475 Corporate Woods Parkway, Vernon Hills, IL 60061, Vernon Hills, Lake County, Illinois [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

USGS NAIP aerial view of HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center
LAT 42.21724 / LON -87.95361 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center stand today?

It is not yet verified: a public source shows this site exists and names no stage for it, such as a permit on file or an operator's list that calls it in consideration; its current status has not been confirmed from a record. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Vernon Hills or Lake County decided about it?

Lake County (rated restrictive): Lake County approved an eight month data center moratorium (reported September 11, 2026, patch.com (opens in a new tab)); and Lake County: Moratorium will remain in effect through May 2027 (reported September 10, 2026, patch.com (opens in a new tab)). 15 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center (opens in a new tab), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/hsbc-vernon-hills-data-center-il, last verified October 20, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/hsbc-vernon-hills-data-center-il. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Not yet verified
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
42.21724, -87.95361
How the location is known
Location from an EPA facility record.
Location source
EPA ECHO facility record 110041201151: the registry placed its point by address matching house number, accurate to 30 m
Coordinate source
epa frs point
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 20, 2026
EPA registry id
110041201151
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
October 20, 2026
Last verified
October 20, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed

Researcher view · HSBC Vernon Hills Data Center · 1 source, 0 entries, 15 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 20, 2026

Download CSV JSON