Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01)
Vernon, Los Angeles County, CADeveloper: Goodman GroupCensus GEOID 06037
- Stage
- Being built
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
Goodman Group is constructing its 32 MW LAX01 hyperscale data center at 2727 East Vernon Avenue in Vernon, Los Angeles County, California, served by Vernon Public Utilities. It is being built, since March 20, 2025.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Being built, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 68 other published records in California
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Buildings
- 1 building operator page, verified October 27, 2026
- Power it would draw
- 32 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- Who leads it
- Goodman Group as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01), capacity: 32 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 32 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- Goodman Group (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 32 MW | the developer's figure | us.goodman.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Goodman Group | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 1 building | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | us.goodman.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Los Angeles County and Vernon about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles County | Los Angeles County planning director ordered temporary ban on large scale AI data center development in unincorporated areas | smartcitiesdive.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Irwindale | Irwindale City Council unanimously approved data center ban Ordinance No. 821 on September 9, 2026, effective 30 days after adoption | sgvtribune.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Vernon | Vernon approaching capacity for data center projects, expanding infrastructure | bisnow.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Monterey Park | Monterey Park voted in June 2026 to permanently ban data centers | bisnow.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Monterey Park | Monterey Park voters approved a data center ban in June 2026. | pressenterprise.com (opens in a new tab) |
September 9, 2026 Montebello, CA Montebello City Council Regular Meeting
During public comment at the September 9, 2026 Montebello City Council meeting, residents challenged the proposed Montebello data center over municipal water consumption and community impact.
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
"done with corruption? two. What is dumb Hilda Cis and the data center going to do for us when we have to pour water into these data centers that are going to destroy our communities and [clears throat] flock. your cameras. Who's going to monitor them? That's racist. Whatever"
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
">> Council member Alonzo >> here. >> Mayor Prom Romero >> present. >> Council member Peralta >> present. >> Council member Melendez >> here. >> Mayor Tamayo >> here. And with that if we could make the announcement of close sessions, please. Mr. City Attorney. >> Certainly. Madame Mayor, at this time the public may submit a speaker card to the city clerk staff for close session items prior to the beginning of the statement. Speakers will be called in"
- Montebello City Council Member Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
"person. State law prohibits the city council from taking action or entertaining extended discussion on a topic not listed on the agenda. Please show courtesy to others and direct all your comments to the mayor and city council. and tonight. So, are there any open speakers? >> No speakers. >> Okay. >> Okay. So, with that, we will uh go into close session. >> Right. And tonight we have the city council has one item on the close"
Using this data in a report? Support the record.
March 4, 2026 Monterey Park, CA Monterey Park City Council Regular Meeting
Monterey Park City Council held a public hearing and voted on Items 11B, 12A, and 12B to extend the city's temporary moratorium on data centers and call a special municipal election placing a citywide data center prohibition before voters.
- Monterey Park City Clerk Board & Planning Staff auto captions, unchecked
"consideration and possible action to call for a special election on June 2nd, 2026 and adding a proposition to the ballot prohibiting data center citywide. So, let me just tell you guys how many speaker cards I got so you guys can regulate the time and know that more speaker cards come in throughout the night. Uh, so 12 A I currently have 55"
- Resident public comment Resident Public Comment auto captions, unchecked
"or are you back home avoiding accountability and watching? Bluey, tonight, I'm asking the council to vote yes. Yes to extending the moratorum. Yes to a June 2nd special election for a city wide ban on data centers. Yes to a city ordinance that permanently bans data centers from being built in the city. And on that ballot, and we're also asking to close two loopholes, prevent"
- Monterey Park City Council Member Elected Official auto captions, unchecked
"we have multiple items um regarding the data center tonight, 12 A, 12B, and 11B. If you want to speak on each item, fill out a separate card for each item. Um, I will then call speakers by name indicated on the speaker card for each agenda item and you uh would come up to the podium, speak into the mic. Um, and"
Using this data in a report? Support the record.
What happened
-
· Status: being built (content date)
Goodman Group broke ground on LAX01, a 32 MW data center on a 5.6 acre site in Vernon, California, formerly home to the Farmer John meat packing plant, targeting a powered shell by mid-2026.
The full Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01) timeline, in order
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 2727 East Vernon Avenue, Vernon, CA 90058, Vernon, Los Angeles County, California [source] (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Prime Data Centers and DataBank Vernon Campus (LAX2), 0.5 mi
- CoreSite Los Angeles One Wilshire Data Center (LA1), 3.6 mi
- Equinix LA1 Los Angeles Carrier Hotel Data Center, 3.7 mi
- DataBank Los Angeles Carrier Hotel Data Center (LAX1), 3.7 mi
- Digital Realty Los Angeles Carrier Hotel (LAX10 / 600 West 7th Street), 3.7 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 32 MW (the developer's figure, us.goodman.com (opens in a new tab)) and 1 building (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, us.goodman.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01)?
-
Goodman Group is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01) say it needs?
-
Power: 32 MW (the developer's figure, us.goodman.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01) stand today?
-
It is being built, since March 20, 2025. The newest entry, March 20, 2025: Goodman Group broke ground on LAX01, a 32 MW data center on a 5.6 acre site in Vernon, California, formerly home to the Farmer John meat packing plant, targeting a powered shell by mid-2026. [1]
What has Vernon or Los Angeles County decided about it?
-
Los Angeles County: Los Angeles County planning director ordered temporary ban on large scale AI data center development in unincorporated areas (reported September 22, 2026, smartcitiesdive.com (opens in a new tab)); and Irwindale: Irwindale City Council unanimously approved data center ban Ordinance No. 821 on September 9, 2026, effective 30 days after adoption (reported September 16, 2026, sgvtribune.com (opens in a new tab)). 5 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Goodman Group breaks ground on Los Angeles facility - BeBeez International (opens in a new tab), BeBeez International, March 20, 2025, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Goodman Group Los Angeles Vernon Data Center (LAX01)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/goodman-lax01-vernon-ca. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Commercial use needs a license. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Being built
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 34.0042, -118.2215
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://us.goodman.com/
- Coordinate source
- Los Angeles County Assessor / Goodman LAX01 Vernon specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 32 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Closed
- Published
- October 2, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection