Amazon Montgomery County data center
A data center campus Amazon announced for Montgomery County, Missouri, in June 2026. It is reported, as reported June 23, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Amazon
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Amazon | as stated by the source | September 25, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Montgomery County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Montgomery County | Preserve Montgomery County, LLC filed a case in February 2026 claiming the county violated Missouri's Sunshine Law in approving a data center. | abc17news.com | |
| Montgomery County | On September 15, 2026, Cole County judge dismissed the state of Missouri as a defendant but the case remains active against Montgomery County. | abc17news.com |
What happened
-
(source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Amazon data center in Montgomery County broke ground in June [3]
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Amazon held a question and answer session about a data center campus in Montgomery County [4]
The full Amazon Montgomery County data center timeline, in order
1 correction to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the site acres of a projects row
The site read 800,000 acres. The source's figure was 800,000 square feet, a floor area, and the approval wrote it as acres. Returned to not disclosed, as it was before. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
State Sen. Joe Nicola plans to file legislation for the upcoming session regulating AI and data centers
State Rep. Colin Wellenkamp announced plans to lead legislation regulating AI data centers and placing guardrails on companies
The site
Where in Montgomery County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 17 other published records in Missouri
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Montgomery County, Missouri
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Amazon Montgomery County data center?
-
Amazon is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Amazon Montgomery County data center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Amazon Montgomery County data center stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported June 23, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 17, 2026: Amazon data center in Montgomery County broke ground in June [3].
What has Montgomery County decided about it?
-
Montgomery County: Preserve Montgomery County, LLC filed a case in February 2026 claiming the county violated Missouri's Sunshine Law in approving a data center. (reported September 18, 2026, source); and Montgomery County: On September 15, 2026, Cole County judge dismissed the state of Missouri as a defendant but the case remains active against Montgomery County. (September 15, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Amazon Unveils Multibillion-Dollar Missouri Data Center Investment - Yahoo Finance, Yahoo Finance, June 16, 2026, query feed
- Amazon to Invest $10 Billion in Montgomery County Data Center Campus - The Missouri Times -, The Missouri Times -, June 16, 2026, query feed
- Hundreds of Missourians rally for pause of data center development, man arrested - ABC17NEWS, ABC17NEWS, September 17, 2026, local outlet
- Amazon holds Q&A in Montgomery County about incoming data center - KOMU 8, KOMU 8, June 23, 2026, local outlet
- Amazon Selects Missouri for $10 Billion Data Center Campus - PR Newswire, PR Newswire, June 15, 2026, local outlet
5 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Amazon Montgomery County data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-montgomery-county-data-center-mo, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Amazon Montgomery County data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-montgomery-county-data-center-mo. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- amazon-montgomery-county-data-center-mo
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/mo/montgomery-county
- Coordinates
- 38.9769, -91.505
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Montgomery City), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-08
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25