Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center

Ypsilanti Township residents and officials pushed back on a University of Michigan and Los Alamos National Laboratory data center proposed in the township. It is reported, as reported July 16, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 9 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Where its power comes from
closed-loop cooling and reclaimed wastewater
as stated by the source [4]
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory as stated by the source September 25, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from closed-loop cooling and reclaimed wastewater as stated by the source [4] thesuntimesnews.com September 25, 2026
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Washtenaw County and Ypsilanti Township about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Ypsilanti Ypsilanti City Council reviewed proposed data center regulations on Sept. 15 covering noise, water, energy use and oversight; small data center limited to 20,000 square feet, 5 megawatts power, 20,000 gallons cooling water per day; open loop cooling prohibited. thesuntimesnews.com
Ypsilanti Ypsilanti City Council preliminarily passed a 60 day emergency data center moratorium, pending final vote. inthesetimes.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    University of Michigan confirmed it will build its data center in Hydro Park near a local elementary school. [3]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Next town hall for U M computing center scheduled for October 1, 2026 [2]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Saline Township hired acoustic engineer Darren Brown to independently review noise study for Oracle and OpenAI data center [2]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Computing center is nearly 300,000 square feet with about 50,000 square feet reserved for U M's nonclassified research [2]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    University of Michigan and Los Alamos National Laboratory proposed computing center at 144 acre Ypsilanti Township site [2]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Nearly 50 residents spoke during Sept. 9 town hall opposing University of Michigan's proposed $1.2 billion research computing center [2]

  7. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    University of Michigan initially proposed 20 acre project before purchasing 124 additional acres [1]

  8. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    U M officials indicated they may make final decision between Textile Road site and former General Motors site near Willow Run in coming days [5]

The full Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center timeline, in order

8 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  2. · the summary of a record items row

    the record's rules: the sentence copied its source, was about its headline or carried a number the card's facts do not; written again from the card's facts, on the editor's word The old and new text.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  7. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  8. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Dingell said the project warrants additional scrutiny due to site's environmental history and asked for details on remaining contamination, monitoring, restrictions, permits and cleanup responsibility
Debbie Dingell, U.S. Representative · September 17, 2026 · paraphrased · www.quiverquant.com local outlet
Los Alamos Director Thom Mason said the center would not produce weapons or use or store nuclear materials and some computer modeling could help assess the safety and reliability of the nation's existing nuclear stockpile
Thom Mason, Los Alamos National Laboratory Director · September 16, 2026 · paraphrased · thesuntimesnews.com local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Michigan, by speaker

15 more statements on this page

U.S. Representative

Dingell called for state and federal rules governing large computing facilities including protections for utility customers, public reporting of water and electricity demand, environmental reviews and enforceable community benefit agreements

September 16, 2026, thesuntimesnews.com · thesuntimesnews.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

U.S. Representative

Dingell questioned promised $300 million contribution from Los Alamos and whether federal money has been appropriated or federally committed

September 16, 2026, thesuntimesnews.com · thesuntimesnews.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

U.S. Representative

Rep. Dingell opposes building the Los Alamos research computing center at the Textile Road site in Ypsilanti Township

September 16, 2026, thesuntimesnews.com · thesuntimesnews.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Also reported by 1 source: www.quiverquant.com local outlet

Hazleton protesters

Protesters rallied in Hazleton, Pennsylvania on August 12 calling on Rep. Rob Bresnahan to oppose data center expansion and reject Big Tech contributions.

September 14, 2026, In These Times · In These Times local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

New York City protesters

More than 300 people rallied in front of Palantir office in New York City on August 12 calling on Congress to oppose the company.

September 14, 2026, In These Times · In These Times local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Authors (reporting consensus)

Majority of Americans oppose data centers and Democratic and Republican candidates are being forced to take a stand.

September 14, 2026, In These Times · In These Times local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Stephanie Jordan and Mary Armas

More than 1,000 activists across the country participated in dozens of rallies and protests in August demanding elected officials dump Big Tech and data center developers.

September 14, 2026, In These Times · In These Times local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Young people protesters

Young people in Union County, New Jersey marched on August 13 to protest Rep. Tom Kean Jr. for accepting thousands of dollars from Big Tech AI firms.

September 14, 2026, In These Times · In These Times local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Michigan Economic Development Corporation will not disclose which companies apply for data center tax incentives, citing confidentiality

September 11, 2026, The Sun Times News · The Sun Times News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

University of Michigan stated the computing center remains in the design phase and water needs and noise levels have not been determined

September 11, 2026, The Sun Times News · The Sun Times News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos officials said no weapons, plutonium or hazardous materials would be produced or stored at the facility

September 11, 2026, The Sun Times News · The Sun Times News local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

2026 Democratic U.S. Senate candidate for Michigan

El Sayed calls for state and local moratorium on data centers until conditions are met

September 10, 2026, The Eastern Echo · The Eastern Echo local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

2026 Democratic U.S. Senate candidate for Michigan

Abdul El Sayed states his conditions for University of Michigan data center: all union labor, no utility rate increases, no water use, revenue investment in reliability, and community benefits agreement

September 10, 2026, The Eastern Echo · The Eastern Echo local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Ypsilanti Township Supervisor Brenda Stumbo says residents and officials will continue to fight the project and are optimistic about stopping it given that other communities have stopped data centers

July 16, 2026, www.wemu.org · www.wemu.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Ypsilanti Township Attorney Doug Winters says township will not negotiate with U M and Los Alamos over the project and their only goal is for them to leave

July 16, 2026, www.wemu.org · www.wemu.org local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Washtenaw County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 10 other published records in Michigan
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Ypsilanti Township, Washtenaw County, Michigan
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center?

University of Michigan / Los Alamos National Laboratory is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported July 16, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 14, 2026: University of Michigan confirmed it will build its data center in Hydro Park near a local elementary school. [3]

What has Ypsilanti Township or Washtenaw County decided about it?

Ypsilanti: Ypsilanti City Council reviewed proposed data center regulations on Sept. 15 covering noise, water, energy use and oversight; small data center limited to 20,000 square feet, 5 megawatts power, 20,000 gallons cooling water per day; open loop cooling prohibited. (September 15, 2026, source); and Ypsilanti: Ypsilanti City Council preliminarily passed a 60 day emergency data center moratorium, pending final vote. (reported September 14, 2026, source). 2 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. University of Michigan's Ypsilanti Township computing center plans meet with anger at town hall: 'Enormous distrust' - Planet Detroit, Planet Detroit, September 10, 2026, local outlet
  2. Weekly Data Center Watch: Ypsilanti Township Residents Challenge U M - The Sun Times News, The Sun Times News, September 11, 2026, local outlet
  3. Elected Officials Are Facing a Reckoning Over Their Collusion with Big AI - In These Times, In These Times, September 14, 2026, local outlet
  4. Dingell Opposes Textile Road Site for Los Alamos Computing Center, thesuntimesnews.com, September 16, 2026, local outlet
  5. Ypsilanti Township officials vow to fight to stop U M/Los Alamos center to the end, www.wemu.org, July 16, 2026, local outlet
  6. ‘We don’t matter to them’: Ypsilanti Township pushed back on University of Michigan, Los Alamos data center - ClickOnDetroit | WDIV Local 4, ClickOnDetroit | WDIV Local 4, August 12, 2026, local outlet
  7. Ypsilanti Township fight over U M computing center intensifies with moratorium - WDET 101.9 FM, WDET 101.9 FM, September 11, 2026, local outlet
  8. Michigan township combats nuclear weapons data center by passing ban on new electrical infrastructure — 220,000-square-foot hyperscale project is backed by University of Michigan and the Los Alamos National Laboratory - Tom's Hardware, Tom's Hardware, August 20, 2026, local outlet
  9. Michigan township combats nuclear weapons data center by passing ban on new electrical infrastructure — 220,000-square-foot hyperscale project is backed by University of Michigan and the Los Alamos National Laboratory - Tom's Hardware, Tom's Hardware, August 20, 2026, local outlet

9 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/ypsilanti-township-university-of-michigan-and-los-alamos-data-center-mi, last verified September 25, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Ypsilanti Township / University of Michigan & Los Alamos Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/ypsilanti-township-university-of-michigan-and-los-alamos-data-center-mi. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
ypsilanti-township-university-of-michigan-and-los-alamos-data-center-mi
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/mi/washtenaw-county/ypsilanti-township
Coordinates
42.28139, -83.74833
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Ann Arbor), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-25