Prosper data center ($500M)
A $500 million data center project in Prosper had its rezoning request unanimously denied by the Planning and Zoning Commission, though the project may not be dead. It is cancelled, as reported September 9, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- 37.3 acres
- third party estimate [4]
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 37.3 acres | third party estimate | [4] constructionreviewonline.com | September 25, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
Jobs once it runs, also reported: 20 to 50 jobs, 2026 (constructionreviewonline.com: Developer estimated 20 to 50 permanent jobs for the region.) .
Tax it would pay each year, also reported: 2,500,000 USD, 2026 (constructionreviewonline.com: Developers estimated $2.5 million in annual sales and franchise tax revenue for Prosper.) .
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
-
· Status: stalled or cancelled (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
White Rose Partners withdrew $580 million Prosper data center proposal due to intense community opposition and zoning rejection [3]
The full Prosper data center ($500M) timeline, in order
7 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
David Bristol, Prosper Mayor, spoke against Project Tomahawk as a private resident, calling for denial because there were no local or state guidelines for data centers.
The site
Where in Collin County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Stalled or cancelled, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 53 other published records in Texas
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Prosper, Collin County, Texas
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Comparisons
2 metrics with more than one figure
Permanent jobs
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 20 to 50 jobs, constructionreviewonline.com: Developer estimated 20 to 50 permanent jobs for the region.
Tax each year
1 figure, 1 sourceShow each source's words
- 2,500,000 USD, constructionreviewonline.com: Developers estimated $2.5 million in annual sales and franchise tax revenue for Prosper.
Questions about this project
7 questions answered from the record
How big is Prosper data center ($500M)?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 37.3 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.
Who is building Prosper data center ($500M)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
Who will use Prosper data center ($500M)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.
How much power and water does Prosper data center ($500M) say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Prosper data center ($500M) stand today?
-
It is cancelled, as reported September 9, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 9, 2026: White Rose Partners withdrew $580 million Prosper data center proposal due to intense community opposition and zoning rejection [3].
What has Prosper or Collin County decided about it?
-
No decision by Prosper or Collin County about data centers is on the record. The Collin County page and the Texas scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
What is still unknown about Prosper data center ($500M)?
-
Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.
Sources
Reporting
- Developer scrapes data center plan for Prosper, Texas, YouTube, September 8, 2026, query feed
- White Rose spikes $500M Prosper data center proposal after elected official pushback - The Real Deal, The Real Deal, September 9, 2026, query feed
- Developer withdraws proposed $580M data center plan in Prosper - Audacy, Audacy, September 9, 2026, local outlet
- Prosper Commission Recommends Denial for $580M Project Tomahawk Data Center in Texas, constructionreviewonline.com, September 1, 2026, local outlet
- Prosper P&Z votes against $500 million data center but project may not be dead - The Business Journals, The Business Journals, September 4, 2026, local outlet
- Prosper Planning and Zoning Commission unanimously denies controversial data center rezoning request - wfaa.com, wfaa.com, September 2, 2026, local outlet
- Developer behind proposed "Project Tomahawk" data center in North Texas town withdraws - CBS News, CBS News, September 8, 2026, local outlet
7 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Prosper data center ($500M)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/prosper-data-center-500m-tx, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Prosper data center ($500M)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/prosper-data-center-500m-tx. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- prosper-data-center-500m-tx
- Status value
- cancelled
- Stage
- Stalled or cancelled
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/tx/collin-county/prosper
- Coordinates
- 33.2, -96.63333
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (McKinney), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- third_party_estimate
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-04
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25