Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center

PNK Group is proposing a data center at a historic paper mill site in Wisconsin Rapids, facing community opposition and holding public information sessions including an open house on September 13 and a final webinar addressing jobs and community benefits. It is reported, as reported September 4, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 19 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
210 acres
third party estimate [15]
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
PNK Group
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it PNK Group as stated by the source September 25, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land 210 acres third party estimate [15] yahoo.com September 25, 2026
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Wood County and Wisconsin Rapids about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Plan Commission unanimously recommended denying the conditional use permit for the proposed data center at the former paper mill site. wtmj.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission voted 7-0 to deny recommendation of conditional use permit by PNK Group to construct a data center waow.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission voted unanimously to deny PNK Group's conditional use permit reutersconnect.com
Wisconsin Rapids City of Wisconsin Rapids has scheduled a public hearing for a moratorium on data center development for October 5 wjfw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Planning commission vote was 7-0 to recommend denial wjfw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission voted to recommend denial of the conditional use permit application for PNK Group data center at former Rapids mill site wjfw.com
23 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Wisconsin Rapids Matter will be taken up for action at a future common council meeting, not yet scheduled wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids is currently drafting a data center moratorium after a vote last month wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Application had 33 shortcomings identified by the city wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission voted 7-0 to recommend denial of the permit application to redevelop old paper mill site into data center wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Both votes were unanimous to deny the conditional use permit and site plan application. yahoo.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids planning commission votes 7-0 to deny conditional use permit for data center waow.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids holding permit hearing for possible data center wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission voted September 16 to deny both the conditional use permit and site plan application for PNK Group data center campus on former paper mill property along Fourth Avenue North. yahoo.com
Wisconsin Rapids The Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission public hearing on the conditional use permit is scheduled for Wednesday, September 16, 2026, at 5:30 p.m. wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids DC Rapids LLC is seeking a Conditional Use Permit to construct a data center facility at 950 Fourth Ave. N., the former papermill site in Wisconsin Rapids. wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development held a data center education meeting on September 14, 2026 waow.com
Wisconsin Rapids A public meeting was held in Wisconsin Rapids regarding impacts of a possible data center. wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids A community group called South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development is holding a forum to oppose the data center. wsau.com
Wisconsin Rapids South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development held a public forum on hyperscale data centers at Lincoln High School Performing Arts Center on Monday at 6:30 PM wsau.com
Wisconsin Rapids South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development will host a free public informational meeting on data center impacts. wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development holding public forum on hyperscale data centers and community impacts on Sept. 14 at Lincoln High School Performing Arts Center at 6:30 p.m. waow.com
Wisconsin Rapids Legal notice for public hearing posted September 3, 2026. wisconsinrapidstribune.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission scheduled public hearing on October 5, 2026 at 6 p.m. at Performing Arts Center to discuss temporary data center development moratorium. wisconsinrapidstribune.com
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission will hold public hearing on September 16 at 5:30 p.m. at Lincoln High School Performing Arts Center to discuss project site plan and conditional use permit wsaw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Public hearing scheduled for September 16 at 5:30 p.m. on conditional use permit for data center at former Rapids mill site (950 Fourth Ave. North) wjfw.com
Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission will discuss and act on conditional use permit and site plan review. wrcitytimes.com
Wisconsin Rapids Public hearing on conditional use permit for data center at 950 Fourth Ave. N. wrcitytimes.com
Wisconsin Rapids Data center moratorium was first discussed at August 10, 2026 Planning Commission meeting. wisconsinrapidstribune.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Formal plans for the data center have not yet been submitted to the city. [14]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    A data center is proposed for the site of the abandoned Verso Paper Mill in Wisconsin Rapids. [14]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    A proposal to turn the old Verso paper mill into a data center has no formal plans yet presented to the city [13]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    PNK Group hosted series of four webinars and will host open house event on September 13, 2026. [17]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Planning Commission will hold public hearing on September 16, 2026 at 5:30 p.m. to discuss PNK Group conditional use permit and site plan review. [17]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    PNK Group submitted original conditional use permit application in April 2026 and updated application in July 2026. [17]

  7. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Four informational webinars hosted by PNK Group in August addressed local concerns regarding power and water consumption, noise mitigation plans, and projected job creation [12]

  8. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Plans call for multi building data center campus encompassing approximately 670,000 square feet with retrofitting of existing building and new construction [12]

3 earlier entries
  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Project involves acquiring nearly 209 acres of former paper mill property off Fourth Avenue North [12]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    PNK Group will host public open house on Sunday September 13 from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. at Hotel Mead Resorts & Convention Center [12]

  3. · reported (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Application from DC Rapids LLC for conditional use permit to construct data center [11]

The full PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center timeline, in order

5 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

GOP State Rep. Scott Krug, representing Wisconsin Rapids, spoke against the data center proposal
Scott Krug, Wisconsin State Representative · September 20, 2026 · paraphrased · WISN local outlet
Protest occurred at Wisconsin Rapids in response to PNK Group data center information meeting hosted by company and Eric Adams
protest organizers Emily Oetzman and Danielle McDonald, South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development · August 17, 2026 · paraphrased · www.wjfw.com local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Wisconsin, by speaker

11 more statements on this page

Wisconsin Rapids city staff

City staff recommendation cited delay and postponement from original submission in April, high public concern and missing standards and conditions, and multiple inconsistencies across submitted materials.

September 17, 2026, Daily Tribune Media · Daily Tribune Media national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Wisconsin State Assemblyman

State Assemblyman Scott Krug (R Rome) spoke against the data center as a bipartisan community issue

September 17, 2026, wjfw.com · wjfw.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

State Rep. Scott Krug said the PNK proposal does not meet the requirement to approve the conditional use permit and the application is incomplete.

September 17, 2026, Daily Tribune Media · Daily Tribune Media national outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

PNK Group stated commitment to resubmit application despite planning commission denial

September 17, 2026, wjfw.com · wjfw.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development

The meeting will address community concerns including energy demand, potential pollution, noise levels, and environmental effects.

September 11, 2026, WSAW · WSAW local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

South Wood County Neighbors for Responsible Development, organizers

Guest speakers will discuss environmental impacts, noise concerns, pollution and energy consumption related to hyperscale data centers

September 11, 2026, waow.com · waow.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Wisconsin Rapids city staff

Proposed moratorium would last up to 12 months to allow city to amend zoning ordinances related to data centers.

September 9, 2026, Daily Tribune Media · Daily Tribune Media local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

PNK Group representatives stated site will utilize closed loop cooling system to minimize environmental impacts

September 8, 2026, WSAW · WSAW local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Wisconsin Rapids community members and protest organizers

Community concerns included water usage, noise pollution and other environmental impacts of the proposed data center

August 17, 2026, www.wjfw.com · www.wjfw.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Wisconsin Rapids Mayor Matt Zacher stated data center development would have broken ground in May without community backlash

August 17, 2026, www.wjfw.com · www.wjfw.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Eric Adams and Anton Voronkin

Eric Adams, PNK Group Chief Development Officer Anton Voronkin stated the company listens to community concerns and would design accordingly

August 17, 2026, www.wjfw.com · www.wjfw.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Wood County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 6 other published records in Wisconsin
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Wisconsin Rapids, Wood County, Wisconsin
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center?

The record has one measure of its size: 210 acres (third party estimate, source). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center?

PNK Group is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center stand today?

It is reported, as reported September 4, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 14, 2026: Formal plans for the data center have not yet been submitted to the city. [14]

What has Wisconsin Rapids or Wood County decided about it?

Wisconsin Rapids: Wisconsin Rapids Plan Commission unanimously recommended denying the conditional use permit for the proposed data center at the former paper mill site. (reported September 21, 2026, source); and Wisconsin Rapids: Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission voted 7-0 to deny recommendation of conditional use permit by PNK Group to construct a data center (reported September 17, 2026, source). 29 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Wisconsin Rapids data center proposal sparks community tension - WSAW, WSAW, July 31, 2026, query feed
  2. PNK Group plans Sept. 13 open house about Wisconsin Rapids data center - Daily Tribune Media, Daily Tribune Media, September 4, 2026, query feed
  3. In Wisconsin Rapids, data center objections include developers’ Russian connections - Wisconsin Watch, Wisconsin Watch, August 28, 2026, query feed
  4. Final WI Rapids data center webinar addresses jobs, community benefits - Daily Tribune Media, Daily Tribune Media, August 31, 2026, query feed
  5. Wisconsin Rapids Becomes Flashpoint In State’s Data Center Backlash - Urban Milwaukee, Urban Milwaukee, August 7, 2026, query feed
  6. Wisconsin Rapids' historic paper mill site could become a data center. Residents aren't happy. - WPR, WPR, August 4, 2026, query feed
  7. PNK Group plans Sept. 13 open house about Wisconsin Rapids data center - Daily Tribune Media, Daily Tribune Media, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  8. Wisconsin Rapids' historic paper mill site could become a data center. Residents aren't happy. - WPR, WPR, August 4, 2026, local outlet
  9. Final WI Rapids data center webinar addresses jobs, community benefits - Daily Tribune Media, Daily Tribune Media, August 31, 2026, local outlet
  10. Wisconsin Rapids data center proposal sparks community tension - WSAW, WSAW, July 31, 2026, local outlet
  11. Wisconsin Rapids will hold public hearing Sept. 16 on data center conditional use permit - wjfw.com, wjfw.com, September 4, 2026, local outlet
  12. Developer to host open house ahead of Wisconsin Rapids data center vote - WSAW, WSAW, September 8, 2026, local outlet
7 more sources
  1. Residents organize community meeting on Wisconsin Rapids data center - WSAU, WSAU, September 13, 2026, local outlet
  2. CONLEY COMMENTARY , The data center - WSAU, WSAU, September 14, 2026, local outlet
  3. WI Rapids Planning Commission recommends denial of data center permits - Daily Tribune Media, Daily Tribune Media, September 17, 2026, local outlet
  4. City of Wisconsin Rapids to hold a public hearing on a data center conditional use permit - Wisconsin Rapids City Times, Wisconsin Rapids City Times, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  5. Wisconsin Rapids schedules public hearing for data center moratorium - Daily Tribune Media, Daily Tribune Media, September 9, 2026, local outlet
  6. Who is the developer of the proposed Wisconsin Rapids data center?, wausaupilotandreview.com, May 17, 2026, local outlet
  7. In Wisconsin Rapids, data center objections include developers’ Russian connections - Wisconsin Watch, Wisconsin Watch, August 28, 2026, local outlet

19 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/pnk-group-wisconsin-rapids-data-center-wi, last verified September 25, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "PNK Group Wisconsin Rapids Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/pnk-group-wisconsin-rapids-data-center-wi. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
pnk-group-wisconsin-rapids-data-center-wi
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/wi/wood-county/wisconsin-rapids
Coordinates
44.39444, -89.83278
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Wisconsin Rapids), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
third_party_estimate
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-25