Data Center Record.

Proposed Waiting on permits Reviewed in depth

Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch)

Big Beaver, Beaver County, PADeveloper: Wampum I LLC (Switch)Census GEOID 42007

Stage
Proposed
Waiting on permits as of August 22, 2026 · source (opens in a new tab)
Land
384 acres
what a permit allows
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Buildings, Water

Wampum I LLC and Switch filed local land development plans and a Pennsylvania DEP Chapter 102 NPDES stormwater permit application for a 3 building data center campus on the 384 acre former Pittsburgh International Race Complex property at 201 Penndale Road in Big Beaver Borough, Beaver County, Pennsylvania. It is waiting on permits, since August 22, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 1 primary · Reviewed by a person, every entry sourced. · How to read this page

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 78 other published records in Pennsylvania
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
384 acres what a permit allows
[1] gis.dep.pa.gov
Who leads it
Wampum I LLC (Switch) as stated by the source
[1] gis.dep.pa.gov
State permit status
Permits under review the state's permit register, as of October 7, 2026, last verified October 23, 2026
[1] gis.dep.pa.gov
Undisclosed in public filings
Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Wampum I LLC (Switch) as stated by the source [1] gis.dep.pa.gov (opens in a new tab) October 23, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land 384 acres what a permit allows [1] gis.dep.pa.gov (opens in a new tab) October 23, 2026
Buildings post-gazette.com (opens in a new tab)
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled
State permit status Permits under review the state's permit register, as of October 7, 2026, last verified October 23, 2026 [1] gis.dep.pa.gov (opens in a new tab) October 23, 2026

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

  1. · Status: permitting (content date)

    Switch filed for local approval to build a three building data center campus on the 384 acre former Pittsburgh International Race Complex site in Big Beaver Borough, Beaver County.

    post-gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  2. · Status: proposed (content date)

    A developer submitted plans for a data center campus at a former Beaver County racetrack.

    post-gazette.com (opens in a new tab) local outlet

  3. · Status: permitting (content date)

    The Pennsylvania DEP received the project's first permit application on July 9, 2026; its tracker lists the project as permits under review (4 permits: 1 pending, 3 not yet submitted).

    [1] gis.dep.pa.gov

The full Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch) timeline, in order

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA facility record.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
201 Penndale Road, Wampum (Big Beaver Borough), PA 16157, Big Beaver, Beaver County, Pennsylvania [1] gis.dep.pa.gov (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center

USGS NAIP aerial view of Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch)
LAT 40.84916 / LON -80.34568 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch)?

The record has one measure of its size: 384 acres (what a permit allows, gis.dep.pa.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch)?

Wampum I LLC (Switch) is the developer, gis.dep.pa.gov (opens in a new tab). No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch) say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch) stand today?

It is waiting on permits, since August 22, 2026. The newest entry, August 22, 2026: Switch filed for local approval to build a three building data center campus on the 384 acre former Pittsburgh International Race Complex site in Big Beaver Borough, Beaver County.

What has Big Beaver or Beaver County decided about it?

No decision by Big Beaver or Beaver County about data centers is on the record. The Beaver County page and the Pennsylvania scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. Pennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker (opens in a new tab), Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection, October 7, 2026

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/pittsburgh-international-race-complex-data-center-big-beaver-pa, last verified October 23, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/pittsburgh-international-race-complex-data-center-big-beaver-pa. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Proposed
Tier
reviewed in depth
Tags
Reviewed in depth
Coordinates
40.849164, -80.345682
How the location is known
Location from an EPA facility record.
Location source
PA DEP Data Center Permit Tracker and Beaver County 384 acre parcel at 201 Penndale Road in Big Beaver Borough, PA 16157.
Coordinate source
PA DEP Data Center Permit Tracker point at 201 Penndale Road, Big Beaver
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 23, 2026
How acreage was disclosed
what a permit allows
Published
October 13, 2026
Last verified
October 23, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows

Researcher view · Pittsburgh International Race Complex Data Center (Switch) · 1 source, 3 entries, 0 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 23, 2026

Download CSV JSON