One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus
ONE Nuclear Energy executed a binding letter of intent to develop a 2.88 GW gas fired plant and large battery energy storage system to power a co located data center campus in Louisiana near SpaceX's Starbase project. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- 2.88 GW
- not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- ONE Nuclear Energy
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 2.88 GW | not disclosed | September 17, 2026 | |
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | ONE Nuclear Energy | as stated by the source | September 17, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
6 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Vermilion County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 8 other published records in Louisiana
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Vermilion County, Louisiana
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 2.88 GW (not disclosed). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus?
-
ONE Nuclear Energy is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus say it needs?
-
Power: 2.88 GW (not disclosed). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Vermilion County decided about it?
-
No decision by Vermilion County about data centers is on the record. The Vermilion County page and the Louisiana scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- One Nuclear inks binding LOI to develop 2.88GW gas plant and BESS to power data center in Louisiana - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, September 1, 2026, trade press
- One Nuclear inks binding LOI to develop 2.88GW gas plant and BESS to power data center in Louisiana, Data Center Dynamics, September 1, 2026, trade press
- ONE Nuclear Executes Binding LOI for Project Cayman, a 2.88 GW Louisiana Energy Project with Co-Located Data Center Campus - Business Wire, Business Wire, August 31, 2026, local outlet
- ONE Nuclear Energy secures Louisiana site for power, data center project - Daily Energy Insider, Daily Energy Insider, September 2, 2026, local outlet
- One Nuclear Signs Deal for 2.88-GW Gas-Fired Plant, Large BESS for Louisiana Data Center Campus - POWER Magazine, POWER Magazine, September 2, 2026, local outlet
- One Nuclear plans gas-fired data center near Musk’s Starbase - thecentersquare.com, thecentersquare.com, September 1, 2026, local outlet
- West Palm Beach energy developer plans data center campus near Louisiana SpaceX project - The Business Journals, The Business Journals, August 31, 2026, local outlet
7 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/one-nuclear-project-cayman-data-center-campus-vermilion-la, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "One Nuclear / Project Cayman Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/one-nuclear-project-cayman-data-center-campus-vermilion-la. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- one-nuclear-project-cayman-data-center-campus-vermilion-la
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/la/vermilion-county
- Coordinates
- 29.9725, -92.12917
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Abbeville), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 2.88 GW, not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17