Data Center Record.

Running Reviewed in depth

Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1)

Manassas, Prince William County, VADeveloper: Iron Mountain Data CentersCensus GEOID 51153

Stage
Running
Buildings
1 building
air permit generator list
Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Water

Iron Mountain Data Centers operates the Manassas (VA-1) data center campus at 11680 Hayden Road in Manassas, Prince William County, Virginia, registered in the EPA Facility Registry Service (FRS ID 110070144508). It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 1 primary · Reviewed by a person, every entry sourced. · How to read this page

  • This record: Running, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 55 other published records in Virginia
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Buildings
1 building air permit generator list
[1] echo.epa.gov
Who leads it
Iron Mountain Data Centers as stated by the source
Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Power it would draw, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Iron Mountain Data Centers as stated by the source October 24, 2026
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings 1 building air permit generator list [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab) October 24, 2026
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Prince William County and Manassas about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County Board of Supervisors approved changes ending by right data center development and shrinking Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District from 9,698 acres to 3,641 acres commercialobserver.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Supervisors approved 90 day transition period for properties within overlay, rejecting motion to eliminate grace period entirely. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to reduce Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District from 9,700 acres to 3,650 acres, eliminating by right development outside the overlay and requiring special use permits. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Property owners have 90 days to file certain data center related applications to remain in the reduced district virginiabusiness.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District expected to shrink from about 9,700 acres to roughly 3,641 acres virginiabusiness.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to eliminate automatic approvals and data center opportunity overlay district, requiring special use permits and public hearings for all future data center projects nbcwashington.com (opens in a new tab)
20 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Prince William County restrictive Planning Commission set to consider 120 day grace period and 500 foot setback buffer proposal, with November public hearing targeted wtop.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Future data center projects will require special use permit instead of by right development wtop.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Amendment established 90 day grace period for data centers with approved site plans or already built or under construction wtop.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William Board of County Supervisors voted 8-0 to approve zoning text amendment ending by right data center development countywide wtop.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive The Planning Commission is aiming for a November 2026 public hearing on setback proposal, with a board hearing targeted for January 2027 rappnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive The amendment includes a 90 day grace period for qualifying projects already built or being built in the county, as well as those already with a site plan that has passed the quality control threshold rappnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive The overlay district allows data centers to be built by right within its parameters; the countywide amendment will drastically shrink the size and scope of the overlay from its originally adopted form which dates back over a decade to May 2016 rappnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Planning commission recommended a 120 day grace period for developers; supervisors were also considering eliminating the grace period entirely. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County Board of Supervisors is expected to vote on zoning changes to restrict by right data center development, shrinking the Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District. patch.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously Tuesday to shrink the Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District virginiabusiness.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William Board of County Supervisors voted 8-0 on September 22, 2026 to end by right data center development countywide, requiring special use permits for future projects rappnews.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Several high profile projects in Prince William County were recently halted due to sustained community opposition ground.news (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County will vote to repeal zoning rules for one area of the county where data centers can be built without approval nbcwashington.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Supervisors voted 8-0 to reject a comprehensive plan amendment for Dulles South Innovation Center, a proposed campus covering about 1,940 acres with 43 million square feet of data center space theminermag.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive A circuit judge invalidated rezonings for Prince William Digital Gateway in August 2025 and an appeals court upheld the result in March 2026 theminermag.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Planning Commission recommended a 500 foot separation from existing homes and schools for projects qualifying through the transition provision theminermag.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Planning Commission recommended extending the eligibility window from 90 to 120 days after adoption on September 9 theminermag.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County supervisors scheduled for September 22 to consider restrictions that would subject more data center projects to individual review theminermag.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William dissolved the resident Data Center Ordinance Advisory Group and adopted a different measurement approach with advisory standards virginiamercury.com (opens in a new tab)
Prince William County restrictive Prince William County's Data Center Ordinance Advisory Group raised noise standards by 6 decibels over consultant recommendations virginiamercury.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

  • Read on October 24, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)

    EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report (FRS ID 110070144508) lists Iron Mountain Manassas (VA-1) at 11680 Hayden Road as operational.

    [1] echo.epa.gov

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA facility record.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
11680 Hayden Road, Manassas, VA 20109, Manassas, Prince William County, Virginia [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

USGS NAIP aerial view of Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1)
LAT 38.77805 / LON -77.54707 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1)?

The record has one measure of its size: 1 building (air permit generator list, echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)). Its power capacity is not disclosed.

Who is building Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1)?

Iron Mountain Data Centers is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1) say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1) stand today?

It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Manassas or Prince William County decided about it?

Prince William County (rated restrictive): Prince William County Board of Supervisors approved changes ending by right data center development and shrinking Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District from 9,698 acres to 3,641 acres (reported September 23, 2026, commercialobserver.com (opens in a new tab)); and Prince William County: Supervisors approved 90 day transition period for properties within overlay, rejecting motion to eliminate grace period entirely (reported September 23, 2026, patch.com (opens in a new tab)). 26 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Iron Mountain Information Management LLC Manassas (opens in a new tab), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/iron-mountain-data-centers-iron-mountain-data-center-manassas-va1-manassas-va, last verified October 24, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/iron-mountain-data-centers-iron-mountain-data-center-manassas-va1-manassas-va. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Running
Tier
reviewed in depth
Tags
Reviewed in depth
Coordinates
38.778046, -77.547069
How the location is known
Location from an EPA facility record.
Location source
EPA ECHO Detailed Facility Report (FRS ID 110070144508) at 11680 Hayden Road, Manassas, VA 20109.
Coordinate source
EPA ECHO FRS ID 110070144508
Location last verified
October 24, 2026
Rating of the county's rows
Restrictive
Published
October 21, 2026
Last verified
October 24, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Location source number, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed

Researcher view · Iron Mountain Manassas Campus (VA-1) · 1 source, 1 entry, 26 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 24, 2026

Download CSV JSON