Equinix Chicago
Equinix lists 3 data centers at Chicago, Illinois among the sites it operates. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Equinix
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Equinix | as stated by the source | October 4, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Cook County and Chicago about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago | Chicago Mayor Brandon Johnson announces a city wide temporary moratorium on data center development and expansion for 12 months while the city develops a comprehensive regulatory framework | talkingpointsmemo.com | |
| Chicago | Mayor Johnson's executive order last month called for a moratorium while the city develops a regulatory framework for data centers | yahoo.com | |
| Chicago | Chicago Mayor Brandon Johnson and aldermen Maria Hadden, Leni Manaa Hoppenworth and Lamont Robinson introduced an ordinance to pause data center development and material expansion for one year | yahoo.com | |
| Chicago | Chicago executive order provided for enhanced evaluation of air pollution control permits, data center specific noise rules, and cross departmental review process for planned developments including data centers | thecentersquare.com | |
| Chicago | Mayor Brandon Johnson issued an executive order last month to regulate data centers and called on the city council to pass a moratorium on new data centers | thecentersquare.com | |
| Cicero | Chicagoland suburbs suing data center companies; Cicero mobilizing legal challenge to Digital Realty Hawthorne development | therealdeal.com |
15 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago | Mayor Johnson called for a temporary moratorium on new data centers | springfieldnewssun.com | |
| Chicago | Mayor Brandon Johnson signed an executive order creating stricter data center regulations and oversight | springfieldnewssun.com | |
| Cook County | More than a dozen data centers near O'Hare airport received local property tax breaks in 2026. | abc7chicago.com | |
| Cicero | Cicero trustees passed a resolution opposing data center development at Hawthorne in neighboring Stickney | chicago.suntimes.com | |
| Stickney | Stickney board of trustees voted unanimously to block any data center proposals with a moratorium on zoning changes and approvals for data centers | chicago.suntimes.com | |
| Cook County | Mayor Brandon Johnson was pressured by anti data center activists at a rally | chicagotribune.com | |
| Chicago | The working group report recommended the city create a new program for issuing noise and air pollution permits and enhancing environmental review | news.wttw.com | |
| Chicago | A city working group on sustainable data centers spent over a year and a half developing recommendations, with report released in July 2026 | news.wttw.com | |
| Chicago | Mayor Brandon Johnson issued an executive order calling on Chicago City Council to pause new data center construction | news.wttw.com | |
| Chicago | Chicago City Council voted near unanimously on an ordinance incentivizing data center development | news.wttw.com | |
| Cook County | Mayor Brandon Johnson pushed new rules and moratorium on new data centers | axios.com | |
| Chicago | Mayor Brandon Johnson called for a temporary moratorium on data centers | cbsnews.com | |
| Chicago | Chicago Mayor Brandon Johnson signed an executive order for stricter data center regulations | cbsnews.com | |
| Hoffman Estates | Karis Critical withdrew rezoning request for data center in Hoffman Estates | datacenterdynamics.com | |
| Hoffman Estates | Developer withdrew rezoning request for data center in Hoffman Estates | capitolnewsillinois.com |
What happened
-
· Status: running (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Equinix lists Equinix CH1, Equinix CH2, Equinix CH4 at Chicago, Illinois on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]
The site
The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA air permit.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 26 other published records in Illinois
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- 350 E Cermak RD, Chicago, IL 60616, Chicago, Cook County, Illinois [source]
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Centersquare Chicago data center, under 0.1 mi
- QTS Chicago, 2.5 mi
- Aligned Data Centers Northlake, 16 mi
- Equinix CH7, 18 mi
- Equinix Elk Grove Village, 20 mi
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Equinix Chicago?
-
Equinix is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Equinix Chicago say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Equinix Chicago stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. The newest entry, read on September 14, 2026: Equinix lists Equinix CH1, Equinix CH2, Equinix CH4 at Chicago, Illinois on its own page of data center locations, read September 14, 2026. [2]
What has Chicago or Cook County decided about it?
-
Chicago: Chicago Mayor Brandon Johnson announces a city wide temporary moratorium on data center development and expansion for 12 months while the city develops a comprehensive regulatory framework (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Chicago: Mayor Johnson's executive order last month called for a moratorium while the city develops a regulatory framework for data centers (reported September 23, 2026, source). 21 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Primary documents
- Equinix: United States and Canada colocation data centers, Equinix, September 14, 2026
- Equinix: Equinix CH1, Equinix, September 14, 2026
- Equinix: Equinix CH2, Equinix, September 14, 2026
- Equinix: Equinix CH4, Equinix, September 14, 2026
- EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Equinix, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
5 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Equinix Chicago", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/equinix-chicago-il, last verified October 4, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Equinix Chicago", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/equinix-chicago-il. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- equinix-chicago-il
- Status value
- operational
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/il/cook-county/chicago
- Coordinates
- 41.853604, -87.618265
- Location precision
- permit_point
- Location source
- https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110013680640
- Coordinate source
- https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=110013680640
- Location source number
- [5]
- Location last verified
- October 4, 2026
- EPA registry id
- 110013680640
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-14
- Last verified
- 2026-10-04