Beacon Falls Data Center
Beacon Falls is considering a data center project it views as an economic opportunity, holding a public meeting on the possibility. It is reported, as reported August 17, 2026.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- 44 acres
- third party estimate [2]
- Power it would draw
- 32 MW
- not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- O&G Industries
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 32 MW | not disclosed | September 25, 2026 | |
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | O&G Industries | as stated by the source | September 25, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | 44 acres | third party estimate | [2] tiktok.com | September 25, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Prior public process in 2022 involved a 32 MW facility proposal; current 2026 commercial marketing is for 100 MW AI capable, grid connected facility with up to 30 years of 100% sales and use tax abatements [3]
The full Beacon Falls Data Center timeline, in order
10 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
What was said
Josh James, candidate for CT State Rep., opposes proposed 100 MW AI capable data center at 1 Lopus Road in Beacon Falls and supports a moratorium
Every statement about data centers in Connecticut, by speaker
The site
Where in New Haven County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 2 other published records in Connecticut
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Beacon Falls, New Haven County, Connecticut
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Beacon Falls Data Center?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 32 MW (not disclosed) and 44 acres (third party estimate, source). Each figure names who gave it and links to the source.
Who is building Beacon Falls Data Center?
-
O&G Industries is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Beacon Falls Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: 32 MW (not disclosed). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Beacon Falls Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported August 17, 2026. The newest entry, reported August 17, 2026: Prior public process in 2022 involved a 32 MW facility proposal; current 2026 commercial marketing is for 100 MW AI capable, grid connected facility with up to 30 years of 100% sales and use tax abatements [3].
What has Beacon Falls or New Haven County decided about it?
-
No decision by Beacon Falls or New Haven County about data centers is on the record. The New Haven County page and the Connecticut scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- Construction firm gains approval for 32MW data center in Beacon Falls, Connecticut - datacenterdynamics.com, datacenterdynamics.com, May 5, 2022, query feed
- Big tax breaks vs. significant environmental and noise concerns... Connecticut residents are facing a crucial decision regarding a proposed 44 acre AI data center in Beacon Falls. As locals push for transparency and advocate for a formal moratorium, the lack o, www.tiktok.com, September 10, 2026, local outlet
- Over the past several days, I've continued reviewing the public record surrounding the advertised data center at 1 Lopus Road in Beacon Falls, CT. I stand by the choice to be vocal in my opposition to the project, my support for a moratorium, and I again respec, www.facebook.com, August 17, 2026, local outlet
- Beacon Falls holds meeting on data center possibility - WTNH.com, WTNH.com, August 24, 2026, local outlet
- Amid growing bans, tiny Beacon Falls sees data center as way to put it 'on the map' - CT Insider, CT Insider, August 6, 2026, local outlet
- Editorial: Beacon Falls takes correct approach to data centers - Yahoo, Yahoo, August 19, 2026, local outlet
- Proposed AI data center in Beacon Falls draws concerns - The Charger Bulletin, The Charger Bulletin, September 8, 2026, local outlet
7 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Beacon Falls Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/beacon-falls-data-center-ct, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Beacon Falls Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/beacon-falls-data-center-ct. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- beacon-falls-data-center-ct
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ct/new-haven-county/beacon-falls
- Coordinates
- 41.30833, -72.925
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (New Haven), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- third_party_estimate
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 32 MW, not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25