Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers

Amazon Web Services announced a third data center campus in Shreveport, raising its total Louisiana investment to $18 billion across three Northwest Louisiana campuses. It is reported, as reported September 16, 2026.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 14 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Amazon Web Services
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Amazon Web Services as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Caddo Parish and Shreveport about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Caddo Parish case by case Data center would require variance from Calcasieu Parish Planning and Zoning Board to allow industrial development on Agricultural zoned land americanpress.com
Caddo Parish case by case Resolution 53 would have asked the Planning and Zoning Commission to consider recommending a moratorium on data center construction in commercially and industrially zoned portions of unincorporated Caddo Parish thecentersquare.com
Caddo Parish case by case Caddo commissioners voted 6-4 against sending a proposed moratorium to the Planning and Zoning Commission on September 1, 2026 thecentersquare.com
Caddo Parish case by case Commissioner Ken Epperson asked for a resolution requiring environmental study on current data center projects in Caddo Parish ksla.com
Caddo Parish case by case John Paul Young asked for a resolution to put a two year moratorium on tax benefits for data center projects ksla.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    AWS UAE region opened in 2022 [4]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    AWS Bahrain region opened in 2019 [4]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    AWS unable to restore data in mec1 az2 Availability Zone after six months [4]

  4. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    AWS data centers in Bahrain and UAE were struck by Iranian drones in March 2026 [4]

The full Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers timeline, in order

29 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the status of a projects row

    The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  7. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  8. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  9. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  10. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  11. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  12. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  13. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  14. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is datacenterdynamics.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Louisiana, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 3 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  15. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is datacenterdynamics.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Louisiana, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 3 on 1 row of monitoring_sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  16. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is shreveporttimes.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Louisiana, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  17. · the kind of source of a history entry

    Tier after resolution (2026-09-21). The source on file is shreveporttimes.com, the publisher's own page. The item reached the record through Google News: "data center" Louisiana, which the record carries at tier 1, and the approve copied the feed's tier onto this row. The tier now comes from the outlet, which the record already carries at tier 4 on 2 rows of sources. DECISIONS section 7. The speaker, the claim, the date and the url are unchanged. The day's label corrections.

  18. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  19. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  20. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  21. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  22. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  23. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  24. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  25. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  26. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  27. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  28. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  29. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

The increases would take effect December 1, 2026.
Tom Arceneaux, Shreveport Mayor · September 9, 2026 · paraphrased · thecentersquare.com local outlet
Shreveport Police Officers Association welcomed the 6% base pay raise but criticized the use of bonuses and retention incentives.
Michael E. Carter, Shreveport Police Officers Association President · September 9, 2026 · paraphrased · thecentersquare.com local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Louisiana, by speaker

5 more statements on this page

Shreveport Mayor Tom Arceneaux proposes a 6% pay increase for police and firefighters as part of an estimated 6.9 million dollar annual investment in public safety.

September 9, 2026, thecentersquare.com · thecentersquare.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Tom Arceneaux, Shreveport Mayor

Stack Infrastructure and Amazon Web Services have announced they are proceeding with a data center in west Shreveport.

September 9, 2026, thecentersquare.com · thecentersquare.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Tom Arceneaux, Shreveport Mayor

Recurring revenue would come from property tax revenue from the West Shreveport data center and electric franchise payments once it is complete and operational.

September 9, 2026, thecentersquare.com · thecentersquare.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Tom Arceneaux, Shreveport Mayor

The city anticipates building permit fees, payments in lieu of sales taxes during construction and potentially increased sales tax collections from data center projects.

September 9, 2026, thecentersquare.com · thecentersquare.com local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

Alliance for Affordable Energy

A May 2026 report examined five hyperscale data center projects in Louisiana

August 24, 2026, Environment+Energy Leader · Environment+Energy Leader local outlet · the record (Paraphrased; said in the source itself)

The site

Where in Caddo Parish is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 8 other published records in Louisiana
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Shreveport, Caddo Parish, Louisiana
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers?

Amazon Web Services is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers stand today?

It is reported, as reported September 16, 2026. The newest entry, reported September 16, 2026: AWS UAE region opened in 2022 [4].

What has Shreveport or Caddo Parish decided about it?

Caddo Parish (rated case by case): Data center would require variance from Calcasieu Parish Planning and Zoning Board to allow industrial development on Agricultural zoned land (reported September 11, 2026, source); and Caddo Parish: Resolution 53 would have asked the Planning and Zoning Commission to consider recommending a moratorium on data center construction in commercially and industrially zoned portions of unincorporated Caddo Parish (reported September 1, 2026, source). 5 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. AWS pledges $6bn investment in data center campus in Shreveport, Louisiana - Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Dynamics, August 19, 2026, trade press
  2. Amazon raises Louisiana data-center investment to $18 billion, adds third Shreveport campus - BIC Magazine, BIC Magazine, August 19, 2026, local outlet
  3. Amazon Web Services announces third data center in NW Louisiana, sets community meeting date - The Shreveport-Bossier City Advocate, The Shreveport-Bossier City Advocate, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  4. AWS ‘Unable To Restore’ Data Centers Hit By Iran Strikes; Partner Hopes Amazon’s $220B Spending Plan Continues, www.crn.com, September 16, 2026, local outlet
  5. Shreveport Emerges as a Key Hub for SLB’s Data Center Infrastructure Business - SLB, SLB, August 27, 2026, local outlet
  6. Trump calls data center opponents backward as Louisiana projects roll on - Shreveport Times, Shreveport Times, September 1, 2026, local outlet
  7. Amazon Web Services to build third data center in Louisiana - audacy.com, audacy.com, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  8. Amazon plans 3rd data center in NW Louisiana, bringing investment to $18B - WWLTV.com, WWLTV.com, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  9. Amazon Web Services announces a third data center campus is coming to Shreveport - KSLA, KSLA, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  10. Amazon’s data center network in Northwest Louisiana is going to get bigger - Louisiana Illuminator, Louisiana Illuminator, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  11. Amazon is upping its data center commitment in northwest Louisiana by $6B - Baton Rouge Business Report, Baton Rouge Business Report, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  12. Amazon raises Louisiana data center investment to $18 billion, adds third Shreveport campus - BIC Magazine, BIC Magazine, August 19, 2026, local outlet
2 more sources
  1. Amazon Web Services announces a third data center campus is coming to Shreveport - KSLA, KSLA, August 18, 2026, local outlet
  2. Third Amazon data center campus part of Amazon's $18 billion Louisiana investment - WBRZ, WBRZ, August 19, 2026, local outlet

14 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-web-services-louisiana-data-centers-shreveport-la, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Amazon Web Services Louisiana data centers", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-web-services-louisiana-data-centers-shreveport-la. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
amazon-web-services-louisiana-data-centers-shreveport-la
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/la/caddo-parish/shreveport
Coordinates
32.50806, -93.76278
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Shreveport), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Case by case
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17