TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP)
Durham, Durham County, NCDeveloper: TierPointCensus GEOID 37063
- Stage
- Running
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water
TierPoint operates the Research Triangle Park data center campus at 99 TW Alexander Drive in Durham, Durham County, North Carolina. It is running; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Running, ringed
- data center
- Smaller pins: 25 other published records in North Carolina
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Power it would draw
- 14 MW the developer's figure About 0 percent of New York City's summer peak demand in 2024.
- [1] tierpoint.com
- Who leads it
- TierPoint as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Water, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
The math behind the comparison
- TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP), capacity: 14 MW.
- New York City (NYISO Zone J) summer peak demand, actual, 2024: 10,245 MW (2024).
- 14 ÷ 10,245 = 0 (MW over MW).
Sources:
- TierPoint (opens in a new tab)
- NYISO, 2025 Load and Capacity Data Report (Gold Book) (opens in a new tab), Table I-4a, Baseline Summer Non-Coincident Peak Demand, Historical and Forecast, page 26, Zone J, 2024 row (2024)
A comparison is arithmetic on two published rows and is never a new fact (how comparisons are made).
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 14 MW | the developer's figure | [1] tierpoint.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | ||||
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | TierPoint | as stated by the source | October 27, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | 2 buildings | operator page, verified October 27, 2026 | [1] tierpoint.com (opens in a new tab) | October 27, 2026 |
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Durham County and Durham about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Durham County | Durham County, NC paused data center development | wunc.org (opens in a new tab) | |
| Durham County | Durham County voted for a pause on data centers | govtech.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Durham County | Durham County leaders weigh data center moratorium with exemptions for smaller ones | abc11.com (opens in a new tab) | |
| Durham County | Durham County adopted a 9 month pause on data centers | wral.com (opens in a new tab) |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
-
Read on October 27, 2026 (the day the page was read; it gives no date of its own)
Verified facility status from North Carolina DEQ permits, municipal zoning filings, or operator campus specifications.
The site
The pin is the site's address.
- Where
- 99 TW Alexander Drive, Durham, NC 27709, Durham, Durham County, North Carolina [1] tierpoint.com (opens in a new tab)
- How exactly it is located
- Exact, at the address
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Inflow Data Center, 1.7 mi
- CyrusOne Durham DUR1 and DUR2, 2.7 mi
- Flexential Raleigh (RAL01, RAL02, and RAL03), 4.3 mi
- American Tower Raleigh Data Center (RA1), 11 mi
- TierPoint Raleigh, 16 mi
Keep going
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP)?
-
The record has 2 measures of its size: 14 MW (the developer's figure, tierpoint.com (opens in a new tab)) and 2 buildings (operator page, verified October 27, 2026, tierpoint.com (opens in a new tab)). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP)?
-
TierPoint is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP) say it needs?
-
Power: 14 MW (the developer's figure, tierpoint.com (opens in a new tab)). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP) stand today?
-
It is running; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Durham or Durham County decided about it?
-
Durham County: Durham County, NC paused data center development (reported August 26, 2026, wunc.org (opens in a new tab)); and Durham County: Durham County voted for a pause on data centers (reported August 25, 2026, govtech.com (opens in a new tab)). 4 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP) Official Disclosure (opens in a new tab), TierPoint, query feed
1 source on file.
About this data
Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP)
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "TierPoint Research Triangle Park (RTP)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/tierpoint-llc-tierpoint-research-triangle-park-rtp-durham-nc. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Running
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- Coordinates
- 35.896667, -78.878838
- How the location is known
- Location from the site's street address.
- Location source
- https://www.tierpoint.com/data-centers/
- Coordinate source
- TierPoint Research Triangle Park specification
- How capacity was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 14 MW, the developer's figure
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 27, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Rating of the county's rows