SpaceXAI Southaven Data Center (Fifth Location)
Southaven approved a new SpaceXAI data center, described as the fifth location in the area, and separately the operator shut off 11 temporary turbines that had been powering the Southaven facility. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- SpaceXAI
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | SpaceXAI | as stated by the source | September 17, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of DeSoto County and Southaven about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southaven | Department of Justice separately sought to intervene and have the case thrown out, arguing that the matter touches on national security and Mississippi's legal permitting process | thecooldown.com | |
| Southaven | In June, SpaceXAI asked that the lawsuit be dismissed | thecooldown.com | |
| Southaven | In April, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and other organizations sued xAI and its subsidiary, MZX Tech, alleging that the plant emits significant amounts of harmful pollutants | thecooldown.com | |
| Olive Branch | Hyperscale data centers categorized as Tier 3, requiring mandatory 2,000 foot setback from public schools, residential areas, parks, and roads | yahoo.com | |
| Olive Branch | Hyperscale data centers must not exceed 45 decibels between 9 p.m. to 6 a.m. and 65 decibels at any time at facility boundaries | yahoo.com | |
| Olive Branch | Generator power restricted between 2 and 5 p.m. with highest emission standards required | yahoo.com |
2 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olive Branch | New ordinance requires data centers to operate closed loop cooling systems | yahoo.com | |
| Olive Branch | Olive Branch Board of Mayor and Aldermen approved new zoning ordinance changes restricting data center development | yahoo.com |
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
8 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in DeSoto County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 6 other published records in Mississippi
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Southaven, DeSoto County, Mississippi
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building SpaceXAI Southaven Data Center (Fifth Location)?
-
SpaceXAI is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does SpaceXAI Southaven Data Center (Fifth Location) say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does SpaceXAI Southaven Data Center (Fifth Location) stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Southaven or DeSoto County decided about it?
-
Southaven: Department of Justice separately sought to intervene and have the case thrown out, arguing that the matter touches on national security and Mississippi's legal permitting process (reported August 26, 2026, source); and Southaven: In June, SpaceXAI asked that the lawsuit be dismissed (reported August 26, 2026, source). 8 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Southaven approves new SpaceXAI data center, fifth location in area - Action News 5, Action News 5, September 2, 2026, local outlet
- SpaceXAI shuts off 11 temporary turbines powering Southaven data center - SuperTalk Mississippi Media, SuperTalk Mississippi Media, August 31, 2026, local outlet
- Southaven approves new SpaceXAI data center, fifth location in area, www.wlox.com, September 3, 2026, local outlet
- Southaven approves new SpaceXAI data center, fifth location in area - Action News 5, Action News 5, September 2, 2026, local outlet
4 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "SpaceXAI Southaven Data Center (Fifth Location)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/spacexai-southaven-data-center-fifth-location-ms, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "SpaceXAI Southaven Data Center (Fifth Location)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/spacexai-southaven-data-center-fifth-location-ms. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- spacexai-southaven-data-center-fifth-location-ms
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ms/desoto-county/southaven
- Coordinates
- 34.8308, -89.9936
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Hernando), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17