Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Rancho Sahuarita data center

Rancho Sahuarita confirmed it is in talks regarding a data center development. It is reported, as reported December 10, 2025.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 3 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Reported by others: 286 MW (AZPM News). Their figure, not the record's.
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

How much power it needs, also reported: 286 MW, 2025 (AZPM News: By 2028, TEP will be providing as much power to the project as it would take to cool 57,000 homes, about 286 megawatts) .

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Pima County and Sahuarita about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Pima County County staff will work with stakeholders and health department, make recommendations to Planning and Zoning Commission in October, and propose new zoning regulations by end of 120 day moratorium period. azluminaria.org
Pima County Supervisor Matt Heinz asked the board to direct the health department to keep collecting data on public health impacts of data centers and create a risk assessment matrix; approved 3-2. azluminaria.org
Pima County Moratorium applies to any data center development where permits have not yet been submitted; does not affect Project Blue; could impact possible projects in Sahuarita. azluminaria.org
Pima County Pima County Supervisors approved a 120 day data center moratorium with a 3-2 vote on Tuesday (September 23, 2026), with Supervisors Steve Christy and Rex Scott opposing. azluminaria.org
Pima County The resolution passed 3-2 with 120 day validity and possibility of extension kjzz.org
Pima County Pima County Board of Supervisors voted Tuesday to approve a temporary moratorium on data center development in unincorporated parts of the county for 120 days kjzz.org
18 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Pima County The Planning and Zoning Commission is scheduled to review proposed zoning changes on October 28, 2026. kvoa.com
Pima County Pima County proposed zoning code changes (Title 18) to define data centers, establish formal development review process, and set design and development standards including noise studies, mitigation plans, and Conservation Lands System compliance. kvoa.com
Pima County The Pima County Board of Supervisors scheduled a vote on a temporary moratorium on data center development to allow staff time to finalize regulations. kvoa.com
Sahuarita Residents opposed planned data center during Sahuarita council meeting on August 10 tucsonsentinel.com
Pima County Board approved both policy adjustments 4-1, with Supervisor Steve Christy voting no tucson.com
Pima County Pima County expanded environmental review policy to include large water and electricity users, defining large water users as those estimating use of 10,000 centum cubic feet or above tucson.com
Pima County Pima County set the initial term length for NDAs at six months with Board approval required for extensions tucson.com
Pima County Pima County shortened the maximum length of an NDA from five years to two years tucson.com
Pima County Pima County Board of Supervisors passed updates to policies on non disclosure agreements and environmental review standards for large scale economic development projects tucson.com
Pima County Potential 120 day moratorium on all data center development activity while county hammers out code amendment changes. tucson.com
Pima County Second policy revamps when an environmental review is triggered, such as when an NDA is signed or a developer expresses interest. tucson.com
Pima County First policy added new guidelines to the county's use of non disclosure agreements, including shortening duration and limiting who can sign. tucson.com
Pima County Pima County Board of Supervisors passed two policies governing future economic development projects following Project Blue data center. tucson.com
Pima County Amazon sought to restrict what officials in Pima County, Arizona could publicly discuss regarding a proposed $3.6 billion data center project newsweek.com
Pima County Pima County released a 20 page review on the potential human health effects of large data centers with Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health thecooldown.com
Pima County On Aug. 26, Pima County Board of Health passed unanimous motion advising supervisors to adopt the 120 day moratorium to prevent irrevocable public harm. tucson.com
Pima County On August 12, the Pima County Board of Supervisors voted 3-2 to begin drafting a temporary, three month halt on data center development thecooldown.com
Pima County At Aug. 11 meeting, supervisors voted 3-2 to draft the moratorium language, with Supervisors Rex Scott and Steve Christy voting no. tucson.com

What happened

  1. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Town has not received applications for a data center project as of Wednesday prior to September 11, 2026 [2]

  2. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Developer sent letter to town planning and zoning director asking if data centers could be permitted [2]

  3. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    A 168 acre area of property south of Rancho Resort would be affected by the development [2]

  4. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Proposed data center covers 221 acres of desert designated Region 8 [2]

  5. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The contract was filed with Arizona's utility regulators in August [3]

  6. (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    The 10 year long agreement includes monthly billing requirements at the same standard rate as other large customers [3]

  7. · Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)

    Agreement will allow TEP to provide electricity to the planned data center in Pima County, starting in 2027 [3]

The full Rancho Sahuarita data center timeline, in order

1 correction to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Rachel Walden was the lone nay vote
Rachel Walden, Arizona Corporation Commission · December 10, 2025 · paraphrased · AZPM News local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Arizona, by speaker

The site

Where in Pima County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 27 other published records in Arizona
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Sahuarita, Pima County, Arizona
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Comparisons

1 metric with more than one figure

Every figure on the record for the same thing, the record's own or the document's first, each with who gave it, its date and its basis.

Capacity at full buildout

1 figure, 1 source
Show each source's words
  • 286 MW, AZPM News: By 2028, TEP will be providing as much power to the project as it would take to cool 57,000 homes, about 286 megawatts

Questions about this project

7 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Rancho Sahuarita data center?

Not disclosed. No source on file gives its capacity, its acreage or a count of buildings. What the record holds instead is under Disclosed.

Who is building Rancho Sahuarita data center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

Who will use Rancho Sahuarita data center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names a tenant, says whether the site is single or multi tenant, or states what it is for. The record keeps the use as not disclosed until one does; see Who it serves.

How much power and water does Rancho Sahuarita data center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Rancho Sahuarita data center stand today?

It is reported, as reported December 10, 2025. The newest entry, reported September 11, 2026: Town has not received applications for a data center project as of Wednesday prior to September 11, 2026 [2].

What has Sahuarita or Pima County decided about it?

Pima County: County staff will work with stakeholders and health department, make recommendations to Planning and Zoning Commission in October, and propose new zoning regulations by end of 120 day moratorium period. (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Pima County: Supervisor Matt Heinz asked the board to direct the health department to keep collecting data on public health impacts of data centers and create a risk assessment matrix; approved 3-2. (reported September 23, 2026, source). 24 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

What is still unknown about Rancho Sahuarita data center?

Not disclosed by any source on file: how much power it needs, how much water it would use, how loud it would be, jobs once it runs, tax it would pay each year, who is building it, who is constructing it, how much land, where its power comes from, grid connection, how it is cooled. No missing primary document is listed for this record yet; What the record lacks is where one appears when a person names it.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. Rancho Sahuarita confirms data center talks - gvnews.com, gvnews.com, August 20, 2026, local outlet
  2. Potential data center in Sahuarita faces opposition - Tucson Sentinel, Tucson Sentinel, September 11, 2026, local outlet
  3. Arizona regulators approve TEP deal to power controversial Pima County data center, AZPM News, December 10, 2025, local outlet

3 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Rancho Sahuarita data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/rancho-sahuarita-data-center-az, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Rancho Sahuarita data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/rancho-sahuarita-data-center-az. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
rancho-sahuarita-data-center-az
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/az/pima-county/sahuarita
Coordinates
32.22167, -110.92639
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Tucson), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-04
Last verified
2026-09-17