PathOne Hull Data Center
PathOne held a public meeting for Hull residents about a potential data center project, following a prior meeting in Ida County. It is reported, as reported August 20, 2026.
How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- Not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- PathOne
- as stated by the source
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | Not disclosed | |||
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | PathOne | as stated by the source | September 17, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Sioux County and Hull about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux County | If approved by supervisors, the moratorium on data centers would be lifted once the ordinance is formally adopted. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | The supervisors plan to hold three separate readings on the ordinance as recommended by the zoning director and county attorney. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County Board of Supervisors scheduled to vote on drafted data center ordinance at meeting on September 29, 2026. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Final two readings on the rules scheduled for October 13th and October 27th | radioiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Developers would fund first responder training and equipment, and negotiate contributions for community betterment and infrastructure | radioiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Independent studies required to examine water use, electricity demand, and noise before certificate of occupancy | radioiowa.com |
15 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux County | Rules would require closed loop cooling and prohibit well water for cooling | radioiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Board of Supervisors expected to hold first hearing on data center rules September 29th | radioiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County Planning and Zoning commission recommended approval of proposed data center rules | radioiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County has existing moratorium intended to allow time to develop data center regulations | siouxcountyradio.com | |
| Sioux County | Ordinance requires developer funded training and equipment for area first responders and community betterment fund | siouxcountyradio.com | |
| Sioux County | Ordinance requires independent studies for water use, electricity use, and noise compliance before certificate of occupancy | siouxcountyradio.com | |
| Sioux County | Proposed ordinance requires closed loop cooling system and prohibits well water for facility cooling | siouxcountyradio.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County Board of Supervisors scheduled September 29 public hearing and first reading of data center ordinance | siouxcountyradio.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County Planning and Zoning Commission recommended approval of data center zoning ordinance amendment | siouxcountyradio.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County ordinance will be presented to planning and zoning board Thursday night for discussion, then requires three public hearings before board of supervisors vote. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | County zoning director Shane Walter sent draft data center ordinance to county attorney Tom Kunstle and IT director Micah Van Maanen for review. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Planning and Zoning Board voted to recommend the draft ordinance to the supervisors on September 10, 2026. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County passed moratorium on data centers | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County Board of Supervisors passed a one year moratorium on the construction of data centers and industrial battery storage facilities on June 16, 2026. | nwestiowa.com | |
| Sioux County | Sioux County Board of Supervisors passed one year moratorium on construction of data centers and industrial battery storage facilities at June 16 meeting. | nwestiowa.com |
What happened
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
PathOne Data Centers held a webinar to address questions about data center proposal in Ida County [2]
The full PathOne Hull Data Center timeline, in order
1 correction to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Sioux County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 12 other published records in Iowa
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Hull, Sioux County, Iowa
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building PathOne Hull Data Center?
-
PathOne is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does PathOne Hull Data Center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does PathOne Hull Data Center stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported August 20, 2026. The newest entry, reported August 20, 2026: PathOne Data Centers held a webinar to address questions about data center proposal in Ida County [2].
What has Hull or Sioux County decided about it?
-
Sioux County: If approved by supervisors, the moratorium on data centers would be lifted once the ordinance is formally adopted. (reported September 23, 2026, source); and Sioux County: The supervisors plan to hold three separate readings on the ordinance as recommended by the zoning director and county attorney. (reported September 23, 2026, source). 21 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- After Ida County, PathOne holds data center meeting for Hull residents - KTIV, KTIV, August 26, 2026, local outlet
- PathOne Webinar Deepens Ida County Data Center Debate - Storm Lake Radio, Storm Lake Radio, August 20, 2026, local outlet
- Sioux County discusses proposed data center - The N'West Iowa REVIEW, The N'West Iowa REVIEW, August 14, 2026, local outlet
3 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "PathOne Hull Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/pathone-hull-data-center-ia, last verified September 17, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "PathOne Hull Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/pathone-hull-data-center-ia. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- pathone-hull-data-center-ia
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/ia/sioux-county/hull
- Coordinates
- 43.00556, -96.05889
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Orange City), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- Not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-09-17