Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting)
Seven additional data center sites in Hillsboro are under construction or moving through the permitting phase, with 17 enterprise zone applications approved in March 2026 before a tax break moratorium cutoff. It is reported, as reported May 28, 2026.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- 36 MW
- the developer's figure [2]
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 36 MW | the developer's figure | [2] prnewswire.com | September 25, 2026 |
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What was decided
Acts of Washington County and Hillsboro about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro enacted a 120 day moratorium on new data center and battery storage applications in late July 2026 | kptv.com | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro City Council enacted a 120 day moratorium on new data center developments. | kptv.com | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro pushing back against data center expansion | katu.com | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro put 120 day moratorium on data center projects at end of July 2026 | datacenterdynamics.com | |
| Washington County | Washington County Commissioner Nafisa Fai announced her intention to bring forward a proposal that would temporarily pause new data center and AI computing facility development and permitting countywide | katu.com | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro's 120 day moratorium on data centers went into effect | katu.com |
5 earlier decisions on the county's rows
| Date | Who | Decision | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro City Council unanimously approved a 120 day moratorium on new data center and battery energy storage system proposals, effective July 27, 2026, through at least November 24, 2026. | hillsboronewstimes.com | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro City Council adopted a 120 day moratorium on accepting new data center applications | katu.com | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro City Council unanimously adopted 120 day moratorium on data center and battery energy storage land use applications on July 28 2026 | opb.org | |
| Hillsboro | Hillsboro, Oregon also approved its own pause at a last minute July 27 meeting | yahoo.com | |
| Hillsboro | A legal challenge has been filed to stop Hillsboro, Oregon data center deals | hillsboroherald.com |
What happened
-
· Status: rumored (source date; the content gives no date of its own)
Flexential announced plans for Hillsboro 6 after purchasing additional property [2]
The full Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting) timeline, in order
9 corrections to this record
Every correction, with its reason
-
· the status of a projects row
The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the kind of source of a history entry
The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
-
· the draft of a status history row
Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.
Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.
The site
Where in Washington County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
- Smaller pins: 13 other published records in Oregon
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Hillsboro, Washington County, Oregon
- How exactly it is located
- County level, the county seat
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting)?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 36 MW (the developer's figure, source). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting)?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
How much power and water does Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting) say it needs?
-
Power: 36 MW (the developer's figure, source). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting) stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported May 28, 2026. The newest entry, reported May 28, 2026: Flexential announced plans for Hillsboro 6 after purchasing additional property [2].
What has Hillsboro or Washington County decided about it?
-
Hillsboro (rated restrictive): Hillsboro enacted a 120 day moratorium on new data center and battery storage applications in late July 2026 (reported September 15, 2026, source); and Hillsboro: Hillsboro City Council enacted a 120 day moratorium on new data center developments. (reported September 14, 2026, source). 11 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.
Sources
Reporting
- Hillsboro approves data center moratorium - Oregon Public Broadcasting - OPB, OPB, July 27, 2026, local outlet
- Flexential Secures Strategic Real Estate Ownership in Hillsboro, Oregon, with Acquisition of Two Data Center Properties, PR Newswire, May 28, 2026, local outlet
- Next Wave: 7 Hillsboro Data Center Projects March Ahead As Humans Fight It Out - The Hillsboro Herald, The Hillsboro Herald, August 13, 2026, local outlet
- Paradise paved: In Oregon suburb, data center boom spurs protests, lawsuit - Courthouse News, Courthouse News, July 25, 2026, local outlet
- Hillsboro pauses new AI data centers. What's next over the next 120 days? - KATU, KATU, July 28, 2026, local outlet
- New data center in Hillsboro could be 200 feet away from high school - KATU, KATU, August 24, 2026, local outlet
6 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/hillsboro-data-center-projects-7-in-permitting-or, last verified September 25, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Hillsboro data center projects (7 in permitting)", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/hillsboro-data-center-projects-7-in-permitting-or. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- hillsboro-data-center-projects-7-in-permitting-or
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- us/or/washington-county/hillsboro
- Coordinates
- 45.52278, -122.98972
- Location precision
- county
- Location source
- County seat (Hillsboro), Wikidata, placed at county level
- Coordinate source
- wikidata county seat
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- September 16, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- developer_estimate
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 36 MW, the developer's figure
- Rating of the county's rows
- Restrictive
- Published
- 2026-09-04
- Last verified
- 2026-09-25