Data Center Record.

Not yet verified Built from one source

Cryptowatt Mining Data Center

Butte, Silver Bow County, MTCensus GEOID 30093

Undisclosed in public filings
Power, Land, Buildings, Water

The EPA's facility registry lists Cryptowatt Mining Data Center at 200 Technology Way, Butte, MT 59701 in Butte, Montana, with a water permit. It is not yet verified: a public source shows this site exists and names no stage for it, such as a permit on file or an operator's list that calls it in consideration; its current status has not been confirmed from a record.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 1 source, 1 primary · Built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

  • This record: Not yet verified, ringed
  • data center
  • Smaller pins: 7 other published records in Montana
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Undisclosed in public filings
Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Water, Who leads it, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs
How much water it would use
How loud it would be
Jobs once it runs
Tax it would pay each year

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it
Who is constructing it
How much land
Buildings
Where its power comes from
Grid connection
How it is cooled

A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water use A state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind it A land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Silver Bow County and Butte about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Butte-Silver Bow Montana Supreme Court granted an injunction pending appeal to require a ballot question for voter approval of future data centers in Butte to appear on November ballots. bozemandailychronicle.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Montana Supreme Court ordered Thursday that a question about whether to effectively ban data centers in Butte won't appear on general election ballot billingsgazette.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow The Supreme Court noted ballots had already been printed and mailed before issuing their injunction nbcmontana.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Montana Supreme Court vacated its injunction on a Butte Silver Bow data center ballot initiative nbcmontana.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow The initiative would require two thirds approval from registered Butte Silver Bow voters before data centers can be built or expanded mtstandard.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Montana Supreme Court granted an injunction allowing a data center ballot initiative to appear on November ballots in Butte Silver Bow mtstandard.com (opens in a new tab)
10 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Butte-Silver Bow The ballot initiative prohibits any construction or expansion of data centers within Butte Silver Bow city county without voter approval dailymontanan.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Local Initiative 00-02 would define data center and bar the city county from approving construction or expansion without a special election and support from two thirds of all registered voters fairfieldsuntimes.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Montana Supreme Court ordered Butte Silver Bow to certify Local Initiative 00-02 for the November 3, 2026 ballot despite deadline dispute fairfieldsuntimes.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow A Butte judge ruled against 406 People First in its lawsuit over a data center ballot initiative signature dispute. facebook.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Judge Joseph ordered both sides to file briefings by 5 p.m. on Monday before making a final decision on whether equitable estoppel applies nbcmontana.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow The initiative would require approval from two thirds of registered voters for the building or expansion of data centers in Butte-Silver Bow nbcmontana.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Election Administrator Cindy Sherman initially gave residents a deadline of August 14 to collect signatures for the data center initiative, then changed it retroactively to July 13 nbcmontana.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow District Court Judge Frank Joseph heard arguments on whether a ballot initiative to limit data center building on the November ballot in Butte-Silver Bow nbcmontana.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow District Court Judge Frank Joseph issued a temporary restraining order on August 12, 2026, while matter wound through courts but on August 28 sided with Butte Silver Bow dailymontanan.com (opens in a new tab)
Butte-Silver Bow Local Initiative 00-02 was proposed on April 29, 2026, requiring 3,652 valid signatures by August 14, 2026 to qualify for the ballot fairfieldsuntimes.com (opens in a new tab)

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

The site

The pin is the site, as the EPA's facility record places it. Location from an EPA water permit.

The site map is at the top of the page.

Where
200 Technology Way, Butte, MT 59701, Butte, Silver Bow County, Montana [1] echo.epa.gov (opens in a new tab)
How exactly it is located
Exact, the point of the EPA's facility record
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
By the straight line between two exact points.

USGS NAIP aerial view of Cryptowatt Mining Data Center
LAT 45.92972 / LON -112.51841 Imagery: U.S. Geological Survey / USDA NAIP (Public Domain)

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Cryptowatt Mining Data Center?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does Cryptowatt Mining Data Center say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Cryptowatt Mining Data Center stand today?

It is not yet verified: a public source shows this site exists and names no stage for it, such as a permit on file or an operator's list that calls it in consideration; its current status has not been confirmed from a record. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Butte or Silver Bow County decided about it?

Butte-Silver Bow: Montana Supreme Court granted an injunction pending appeal to require a ballot question for voter approval of future data centers in Butte to appear on November ballots (September 28, 2026, bozemandailychronicle.com (opens in a new tab)); and Butte-Silver Bow: Montana Supreme Court ordered Thursday that a question about whether to effectively ban data centers in Butte won't appear on general election ballot (reported September 24, 2026, billingsgazette.com (opens in a new tab)). 16 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Primary documents

  1. EPA ECHO detailed facility report: Cryptowatt Mining Data Center (opens in a new tab), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

1 source on file.

About this data

Last verified
Next check Feeds every four hours, pages daily.
Figures Each figure as its source gave it, with its basis; another source's figure never stands in for the record's own, and nothing is estimated.
License Data CC BY-NC 4.0 (opens in a new tab); free for personal, academic, civic and newsroom reporting with attribution. Commercial, enterprise, financial or AI training use needs a commercial license. Prose stays under copyright.
Cite this page Data Center Record, "Cryptowatt Mining Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/cryptowatt-mining-data-center-butte-mt, last verified October 20, 2026. CSV · JSON
Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Cryptowatt Mining Data Center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/cryptowatt-mining-data-center-butte-mt. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Stage
Not yet verified
Tier
built from one source
Tags
Built from one source
Coordinates
45.92972, -112.51841
How the location is known
Location from an EPA facility record.
Location source
EPA ECHO facility record 110070235199: the registry placed its point by address matching house number, accurate to 30 m
Coordinate source
epa frs point
Location source number
[1]
Location last verified
October 20, 2026
EPA registry id
110070235199
Published
October 20, 2026
Last verified
October 20, 2026
Undisclosed in public filings
Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How water was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows

Researcher view · Cryptowatt Mining Data Center · 1 source, 0 entries, 16 decisions nearby · basis and source tier on every row · verified October 20, 2026

Download CSV JSON